We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue in quiet location”
Review of Grey Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grey Bull Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great venue in quiet location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent accommodation, comfortable, well equipped room, good food and warm welcome. Great stuff. Oh, and the shower was fantastic! The hotel is on the edge of town handy for the A69 (Newcastle - Carlisle) and visiting the Roman Wall

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
59
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

In short excellent host in Kristen, very helpful in accommodating our group, very clean and tidy, a great nights sleep and a very fulfilling breakfast to set us up for completing the C2C bike ride. What with storage for our bikes as well we Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazFM107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for one night while doing Hadrians cycle ride. The welcome was excellent, second to none. We were escorted personally to the room on the top floor and then brought coffee and tea by the landlady. The room was excellent with good beds and bedding and decor. As we were on cycles our bikes came into the main house into a totally safe room so the fear of losing our expensive bikes overnight was allayed. Would recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirinneVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Grey Bull B&B for 2 nights, June 11-13, 2014. The host, Kristen, is a very special person who can not do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. She prepares an excellent English breakfast and is very helpful with suggestions as to where to hike, where to eat and which bus you need to catch to see the Hadrian's Wall sights. She even delivered us to the train station the morning we left. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Grey Bull to anyone staying in the Hadrian's wall area. Haltwhistle has good train and bus connections to anywhere in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanBinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Grey Bull is a jewel of a place, centrally located and the perfect hotel to stay for your visit to Hadrian's Wall. Kristen Hind runs the family business and gives out the kind of service and kindness money cannot buy. First, she stunned us by picking us up at the train station and whisked us off to her charming B&B.This is a clean, comfortable, storybook place with history,comfort and style. The fresh, homemade English breakfasts are fantastic, the rooms nice and cozy and she has a wonderful staff. We got all Kristen's great tips for eating in town, and exploring The Wall and beautiful countryside. We were treated as family really, not just customers. We would never think of staying anywhere else! Thank you Kristen for a truly magical couple of days!
Samantha and Rick Pierce

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrumbateman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Haltwhistle is well located to explore Hadrian's Wall and the Grey Bull is the perfect place to stay to round off the experience. The Grey Bull is a short walk from the railway station, with ample parking next door for those that drive. Kristen runs a very efficient operation whilst making everyone feel at home, resulting in a very breakfast atmosphere. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable, with windows that could be opened - always high on my list.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs the rooms on the top floor have pleasant views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a really great place to stay in Haltwhistle. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfy too. The full English breakfast was a good and not too greasy. Kristen was friendly and very helpful. We were initially booked to stay one night and we planned to walk along Hadrian’s Wall the following day. Kristen tried to find out if there were any local bus services to Housesteads Roman Fort, but there was very little running. We thought we would get a taxi but she offered to take us there (for a small fee) which was perfectly fair. We asked if we could extend our stay after the walk as we had not planned where we would be for the following night. We needed to move rooms as the room we had stayed in had been booked for a more elderly person who would struggle to make it to the second floor. This was no problem for us and we were happy to oblige. Should we find ourselves in Haltwhistle again we would happily book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
11.9 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#4 of 14 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#4 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
3.6 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 14 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Bull Hotel

Property: Grey Bull Hotel
Address: Main Street, Haltwhistle NE49 0DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grey Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Bull Hotel Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing