We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - Great Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chare Close Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while sightseeing and walking along Hadrian's wall. This is an ideal base very close to the main attractions and visitor centres in the area and the best bits of the wall to walk along - with most dramatic scenery.

We were made very welcome by Nick and Annette, there was plenty of helpful advice on everything from pubs, places to eat, local attractions and events andthe walks we could do.

The room was very clean and had evrything we could possibly need - good TV, tea and coffee etc (including nice biscuits!). The bed was huge and very comfortable in the room we had.

Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day - portions very generous and plenty of choice and variety. We didn't need lunch either day following their breakfast! Would strongly reccomend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg!

We chose to eat locally at the pubs up near Hadrian's wall - the Milecastle Inn and the Twiced Brwed Inn - bothe excellent, both with an great range of real ales and a good atmosphere, though I think the Twice Brewed Inn edged it on the food!

Thoroughly reccomend this B&B - we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Externally, this B&B does not look special in any way and the uninformed traveller may easily miss the opportunity to experience a very special expereince.

From the moment we arrived, our hosts could not have been more friendly, welcoming and keen to assist. Arriving late in the evening, we needed to eat and were directed to the Black Bull in the town centre. Landlord Nick even phoned ahead to book a table for us.

The interior of the Chare Close is tidy, clean and full of interesting items that evoke memories of past times and far-away places. The bedroom was a combination of simplicity, elegance and comfort. Everything was immaculately clean and thoughfully arranged with radio, TV, DVD, tea/coffee etc. Similarly, the en-suite was perfect. It would have been hard to improve on this pleasing room.

The bed was exceedingly comfortable an the room quiet.

Brreakfast in the morning was generous, delicious and wholesome.

I would struggle to find fault with the Chare Close but if I did have to find fault, it would have to be with the poor wireless broadband signal in the bedroom. But this is so trivial I am almost embarassed to mention it!

All-in-all, top marks on every count.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

From the reviews on tripadvisor we expected Chare Close to be outstanding for our two night stay and we were not disappointed. It's 3 old cottages that have been converted into one and beautifully decorated throughout, with lots of interesting prints and photos on the walls and antique furniture and accessories in the dining room and guest lounge. Nick and Annette were very welcoming with suggestions for walks, eating places, and freshly baked banana cake on our arrival and scones after an exhausting day out battling the wind on Hadrian's Wall. The breakfasts were huge, with the Continental option offered with a doggy bag to take a couple of uneaten rolls and cheese with us for lunch. Our room (with a walk in wardrobe) and en suite bathroom were both large, and unusually for a B&B, with a powerful shower (much appreciated). Every little detail has been thought of. Highly recommended, we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
351 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed here while seeing Hadrian's Wall and couldn't have asked for a better location or hosts. We were warmly greeted and offered afternoon cake. The room was a good size with a large ensuite bathroom. Vegetarians are catered for at breakfast, which was generous and tasty. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Can't fault this little gem. We were made very welcome. The owners provide all you could ask for, toiletries and snacks in the rooms, tea and coffee, wine glasses, corkscrew and so on, even home made cakes.
A welcome treat after a long day sightseeing!
They even offer plates and cutlery for you to bring in fish and chips etc!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Excellent bed and breakfast run by very friendly and hospitable owners. Nothing too much trouble. Handy for village and Hadrian's Wall. Bedroom a good size with everything from hairdryer to tissues but most importantly, really comfortable beds. Wonderful breakfast which kept us going till the evening. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was our fourth visit to Chare Close and we used it this time as a base to walk the length of Hadrian's Wall. This is an extremely comfortable B&B and it is always a pleasure to stay there. Annette and Nick are friendly and so welcoming - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are great with a wide choice and very generous portions and they were happy to provide packed lunches. On a couple of evenings they cooked us an excellent evening meal which made a very nice change from the local pub grub. I would thoroughly recommend Chare Close.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Hectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 16 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#4 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#4 of 16 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chare Close Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chare Close Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chare Close Bed & Breakfast
Address: Chare Close Castle Hill, Haltwhistle NE49 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chare Close Bed & Breakfast Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing