We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chare Close Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked on line, no problems. On arrival Annette gave my 16yr old son & I a very warm welcome after a tiring days walk of Hadrian's Wall. She provided a comprehensive run down on all options and use of facilities. This made us feel at home straight away, with my son enjoying the 'hospitality' biscuits. Our room, with fantastic en-suite was very well maintained and to a high standard. We both had the continental option breakfast, which was excellent. I was feeling a little deflated from our gruelling walk the previous day, Annette & Nick provided fresh motivation, advice & assistance for our continued walk. We would stay there again.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exocet04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Nick and Annette were very helpful as far bak as when I was booking with them with information ect. They were very welcoming and I felt at home straight away. Liked the kitchen guests could use along with the lounge and dining room. My room was quiet and spacious; most importantly, scrupulously clean. They are located very handily for Hadrians Wall, Hexham, Carlisle ect so was able to visit all these places easily. Didnt opt for the english breakfast but the continental option was a good alternative. I would stay there again if I revisit that area.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter but as the town is bypassed, there didnt appear to be too much tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just had a wonderful overnight at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast in Haltwhistle,the Centre of Britain.
Nick and Nette made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived and their info.on local area and eating places, esp. Milecastle Inn ,500 metres from Hadrian's Wall, was invaluable.Our ensuite room was scrupulously clean with comfortable beds and lovely bed linen ,tea tray TV and plenty storage space.The guest lounge and dining room were so inviting and the delicious breakfast consisted of fruit platters ,yoghurts,juices,croissants and toast.Cooked breakfasts were available on request. We very much enjoyed our stay with such caring hosts and we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayGee095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in Haltwhistle as we are moving to the area and needed to explore. Chare Close was everything we wanted. The en-suite room was big and comfy. Plenty of tea/coffee with extras available if necessary. The owners were really friendly and gave us a warm welcome plus lots of well-needed info on the local area. Breakfast was included and there was plenty to choose from - we were also encouraged to take some away with us for our day of exploring! Chare Close is on a quiet street within walking distance of everything - would strongly recommend. Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I ended up here as the other accommodation had messed up the booking. We were on a charity bike ride following Hadrians wall, and so a nice hot shower and a comfy bed were superb. The owners let us use all the rooms instead of sharing, there was a tiny fee for what was the best cooked breakfast of the trip but the room price is still really decent. Continental breakfast is included. We were given lots of advice of where to try and eat/drink and in the morning we were fed earlier than usual as we needed to leave prompt for the next cycling stage. We were packed off with a big smile and some fruit. I can highly recommend if you visit or need a place to stay book here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlit0Brigante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

There are two very pleasant rooms for guests' use downstairs: lounge and dining room, and a kitchen to use(milk in fridge, cake available etc). Really sensible arrangement, meaning hot drinks and relaxation in the evening not confined to bedroom. Guests were allowed to bring in takeway meals if they liked, altho' we didn't, there being some lovely pubs in town(Black Bull was excellent). Fresh fruit(melon platter), cereals, juice, yoghurt, croissant, rolls toast etc included in the price for breakfast, and, sensibly, those who wanted cooked meals could preorder the night before and pay a little extra.
The hostess made us cups of tea and gave us cake on arrival at 5pmish and we then freshened up and went out for a walk around Haltwhistle, some interesting town bastles, etc but little /no mention of its mining history. Evening meal in the medieval(? )Black Bull - lovely food and ales.
Chare Cottage accommodation was excellent -roomy, clean, bedroom; large comfy bed;well equipped bathroom; no noise from road; chickens at the back; country views; parking at the rear; near bus stops and the station. Guests use the back door, away from the road.
Would certainly recommend, but not for wall walkers as it is a bit too far away(unless you can fix transport up).

Room Tip: All upstairs, no lift as it is a private house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights after walking the wall with our 2 younger sons. Treated us like family and very concerned about all our needs. Comfortable beds - clean. Great food! Nick and Neatty were fantastic. Recommend 100 percent. USA family

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUTH22MICHIGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haltwhistle hotels
0.4 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#3 of 11 in Haltwhistle
62 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#6 of 14 in Haltwhistle
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#4 of 14 in Haltwhistle
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#14 of 14 in Haltwhistle
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#8 of 14 in Haltwhistle
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chare Close Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chare Close Bed & Breakfast

Address: Chare Close Castle Hill, Haltwhistle NE49 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chare Close Bed & Breakfast Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing