We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centre of Britain Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel was booked as part of a walking holiday on Hadrian's Wall. We were very pleasantly surprised when we got there, - super room in a 15/16th century ancient building, really large & spacious. I think all the rooms were very nice. Meals - lovely food, and plentiful! The staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The hotel is only 10/15 mins from the railway station and you can also get busses going east & west along the wall.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Centre of Britain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for valentines weekend and had a wonderfull time.Christine the manageress was really friendly and could not do enough to make our stay memorable. Food in resteraunt was lovely. Room (no9) was cosy and warm, the sauna being exceptionally welcome as we walked on Hadrians wall on a snowy day. Hotel dog friendly and convienient for sightseeing in Northumberland. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank santonheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is our second visit and were even more impressed than our first visit, excellent room, superbly clean,warm and comfortable. The most comfortable bed ever, with underfloor heating in bathroom,amazing breakfast menu , my husband had the traditional english, massive but also great quality produce. Great atmosphere, unhurried approach to our party who were ages at breakfast. Highly recommended with great staff.

Room Tip: Main body rooms better but others still great.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Centre of Britain Hotel in Haltwhistle en route to Scotland on a very windy and rainy day in February. We received a very warm welcome from Christine and she and her staff made every effort to ensure had a pleasant stay. Our room was large with a lovely big en suite and even a Sauna. Despite a problem with the heating on a very cold night we were comfortable and enjoyed a good nights sleep. The food at dinner and breakfast was well cooked and plentiful and the service was first class. Recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are noisy at weekends
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The food, service and atmosphere of this hotel/ restaurant was great. I visited here with a group of people who were rather fussy and the staff catered to everyone's needs leaving us full and satisfied. The food was to excellent quality and the service was fast and friendly. I definitely recommend this to everyone, I have told all my friends and family and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toad96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I would like to thank Christine & her staff for an amazing stay, excellent service, excellent food & beautiful room also very good value. We have been on a lot of weekends away & I can truly say that this was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Thanks for everything. Brilliant. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We hired rooms 1 and 2, they were fantastic. Both of them were luxurious and spacious. They were also well equipped, warm and inviting.

The food in the hotel was very, very good and the portions were huge.

The service was great, Christine the manageress was polite, friendly and could not have made us more welcome if she tried.

Our service in the dinning room was brilliant, our waitress, Jodie, was very pleasant and made us feel very relaxed.

I have been to many hotels around the world and a lot of them. 5 star included, could learn a great deal from this one.

The parking was very good.

Well done Christine, you and your staff do a brilliant job.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a Jacuzzi bath, it is very relaxing.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
0.1 mi away
Ashcroft Guest House
Ashcroft Guest House
#1 of 14 in Haltwhistle
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 14 in Haltwhistle
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#5 of 14 in Haltwhistle
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belford House
Belford House
#8 of 14 in Haltwhistle
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#6 of 14 in Haltwhistle
137 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre of Britain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre of Britain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Haltwhistle NE49 0BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centre of Britain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Haltwhistle’s most historic building. The oldest part of the hotel was a Border Reivers' Pele Tower, dating from the 15th Century. Later it became a Manor House, Excise Office, Coaching Inn, Post Office, Temperance Hotel, Pub and Cafe. In 1997 we completely refurbished the building, finding many archaeological and architectural features - many of which have been included in the presentation of the reborn Hotel.The result – a combination of modern comfort & Tradition. We have a total of 12 bedrooms, all individually designed many with original architectural features. All have private bathrooms and are equipped with TV, radio, direct dial telephones, hospitality trays and hair dryers.We have a secure car park at the rear of the hotel with direct access to the rearSo, there is something for everyone, but most of all a warm welcome with a relaxed style and atmosphere to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Centre of Britain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre Of Britain Haltwhistle
Centre Of Britain Hotel Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing