We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the year of 'Le Grand Depart' from Yorkshire: 'chapeau!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Blean B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Blean B&B
Ranked #6 of 8 Askrigg B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“In the year of 'Le Grand Depart' from Yorkshire: 'chapeau!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

High Blean is just perfect, its stunning location matched by the warmth of welcome and relaxed hospitality provided by David and Suzanne.

We booked two rooms for two nights, both were extremely comfortable, with a selection of teas, coffee, bottled water, complemented with lovely biccies. The breakfast was delicious, with an extensive choice of cereals, etc. (the home made granola is not to be missed), followed by a beautifully cooked "full English". Good fuel for a day of mountain biking (two of our party) or walking/shopping (the remainder of the party) in the Dales.

David's good advice on where to eat locally in the evening (The Crown Inn, Askrigg) and local events of interest (Leyburn's food festival) was much appreciated, and gladly acted upon.

In summary - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the feed back you provided while you were here. It is most helpful and much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have you as guests and gratifying to read you enjoyed your stay at High Blean, the area and some of what is on offer around and about and some good weather to boot.

We were glad to read you enjoyed your visit to the Crown and that the Leyburn food festival proved to be an enjoyable experience for some, while others were engaged in more strenuous pursuits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A beautiful converted barn run with great care and attention in the middle of rural Yorkshire. We took two rooms, each one was impeccable and well stocked, and slept perfectly after a long day of trekking. The breakfast was superb, with the best local and home-made produce and set in a fire-heated room. There is a very pretty living room to relax in. Everything is done up with great taste. If you are going to the Dales, you should try this B&B. The owners are very knowledgable and will make sure you have a great stay. Hope I can come back soon. PS: The Blue Lion is a bit of a drive away but well worth booking for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at High Blean.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our home and we were pleased to read you had found your visit enjoyable. It is helpful to read and understand what information guests find useful while visiting and your kind observations and comments are very much appreciated. .

Your experiences at the Blue Lion [East Witton] is mirrored by other guests and worth the visit, If you make it to these parts again a visit to the Wensleydale Heifer can be recommended.

If you ever get an answer to the questions of geometric average please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is basically everything you could want in a country B&B.

Stayed with a group of friends in two rooms in April 2014. Our room was extremely comfortable and attractive--up to date without feeling overdone, and with none of those chintzy B&B touches one dreads.

Breakfast was, in a word, fantastic. Delicious granola, eggs, toast and all the rest, served with a smile by the amiable proprietors.

The location is remote--there is no cell service at all, though WiFi--but a good base for exploring the Dales. My only regret was that my visit was too brief!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mattcampbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review of your stay at High Blean.

While your stay was only brief we are pleased to read that nonetheless it was pleasurable and hope that one day you might make it back.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our home and we thank you for your gracious comments and thoughts, which are very much appreciated..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in March and wish we could have stayed longer! If you are looking for a secluded, quiet, rural get away, this is the place. Beautiful b&b with lots of charm in an idyllic location. The owners could not have been more welcoming and they provide so many nice little touches such as coffee and scones when we arrived and an amazing breakfast next to a roaring fire! Will definitely be going back. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ladycarrcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review, your kind comments are much appreciated.

After being closed over the winter it was nice to welcome guests back to High Blean and we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in High Blean over a month ago and have been raving about it to family and friends since but I have only just got around to writing up a Tripadvisor review. Everything about our stay was just perfect, from the warm Yorkshire welcome complete with cream tea by the fire, to the beautiful comfortable room and tranquil surroundings, to David and Suzanne's lovely hosting. The breakfast was divine, all locally sourced meat and eggs, home made preserves, granola and bread, all served in front of an open fire - what a treat at breakfast time! Almost too good - we did not want to leave! It was so lovely to be right in the countryside...we drove out to get dinner in a nearby town and on arrival back at High Blean the night was still and quiet and the stars were just incredible, we even spotted a couple of shooting stars too.
Don't hesitate - treat yourself and go! Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and photographs, which it is most kind of you to share.

It was pleasing to read that you had enjoyed visiting the area and your stay at High Blean, your recommendation is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay earlier in the year so much we decided to stay again. Our experience was just as good. We even booked an extra night. David and Suzanne are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome. They were very knowledgeable about the area and printed maps off for us. They provided tea and scones when we arrived. Breakfasts were in front of a roaring fire. There was plenty of choice with cereal, homemade granola, yogurt , fruit, toast and a variety of cooked breakfasts too. The cottage is in a lovely and quiet location and is beautifully decorated. Our room was are the back of the cottage and was very comfortable with a view of Semer Water and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy8255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
It was a real pleasure to welcome you back to High Blean again, particularly as you told us that you don't tend to go back to places you have visited before.

We are glad to read you found the provision of maps and local information useful and hope that if you get back to Raydale some time, you will take the walk up to Bardale Head but it might be worth bringing a compass for this walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was all you could possibly hope for from a B and B - friendly and welcoming, beautiful bedroom in a beautiful house, peaceful, secluded surroundings, wonderful views, superb breakfasts - and cake! Thank you, David and Suzanne, for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High-Blean, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at High Blean.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated.

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guests and we were pleased to learn you had enjoyed reacquainting yourselves with Raydale, after a few years absence and that the area lived up to your expectations.

If you make the journey back to Raydale Preserves, to purchase the elusive Winter Chutney, we hope you will call in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
3.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 8 in Askrigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.5 mi away
Thornton Lodge
Thornton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thornton Rust
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Blean B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Blean B&B

Property: High Blean B&B
Address: High Blean Raydaleside | Semer Water, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Blean is an old house, built in 1674, which retains many of the original features while offering two good sized, comfortable letting rooms. We are situated in Raydale overlooking Semer Water, in the Yorkshire Dales National Park, which is quite remote, being 2 mile out of Bainbridge, 4 mile from Askrigg and 5 mile from Hawes but surrounded by stunning landscapes. Room One is the larger of our two letting rooms and has the benefit of a bath with shower over in the en-suite. This room can be made up as a twin if necessary. Room Two is smaller and has a shower in the en-suite. The room has a king sized bed and a good view of the lake. Both rooms have a flat screen TV, hair-dryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The rooms are available for occupation any-time from 15:00 to 19:00 but we are unable to check in guests arriving after 19:00. Check out time is no later than 10:30am Raydale is a hidden gem and much quieter than Wensleydale or Swaledale, which is ideal for those seeking peace and quiet and makes it ideal for cycling and walking, or just to sit, listen and take in the rugged beauty of the area. Semer Water, the subject of much myth and legend, fills the valley floor and is a haven for birds, as well as being open for sailing, canoeing, windsurfing, and fishing, it is also a venue for wild swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Blean B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Blean B&B Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing