We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Skeldale House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeldale House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Skeldale House is a beautifully maintained B&B located in the lovely Yorkshire Dales village of Askrigg. Keith and Lisa, the friendly owners, work hard to insure that their guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay. The King's Arms pub, conveniently located just across the street, offers both good food and drink. Breakfast in the B&B's spacious breakfast room was varied and delicious. This is a place we would most definitely return on future holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandDenise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights at this superb B&B and have to say it is most definately the best one we have used and Lisa and Keith the owners are lovely so friendly and hospitable nothing was too much trouble. They have renovated the house with wonderful style and yet kept its character perfectly al the rooms are different and beautifully furnished with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. It is in a great location and the village has 3 pubs which all offer something different and the food was good in them all particually the White Rose if you want something different.

Room Tip: For a better deal please contact them directrather than using th web sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A wonderful night at Skeldale House. Immaculate, spacious room with stunning views. Very friendly informative welcome. Great meal at the King's Arms (both opted for the pie and was without doubt one of the best we've ever had!) but would recommend sitting in the bar not the front dining room. It is pleasant enough but lacks atmosphere.
Had the best nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in followed by a good hearty breakfast, all cooked fresh and to perfection.
Will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Farnon room on 2nd floor has amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ickleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

5 of us came to Askrigg for a wedding and stayed for two nights at Skedale hotel. It was stunning. Newly renovated with beautiful style. The rooms were light and spacious with seperate dressing rooms . The owners were extremely kind friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were superb. The hotel was opposite the Kings Arms pub which also had amazing food for cheap prices.
We will definitely be returning Kate and Olly

Room Tip: All the rooms very beautiful but if you can get a top floor you'll get better view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati32olly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Skeldale House is nestled in a gorgeous village in the middle of the Dales and is well worth a visit. We spent 3 nights here over Easter and loved it. Our room was large, clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast is delicious - lots of choice and freshly prepared with quality ingredients. The poached eggs in particular were perfect and my wife enjoyed the delicious American pancakes. The hosts are lovely people and full of recommendations for dinner, walks and a good pint.

All in all, it was a very restful and enjoyable stay and at 80 quid per night very reasonably priced too. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJones81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I don't think that I can adequately put into words how wonderful this establishment is, from the first welcome to the last goodbye the hosts are friendly, helpful and clearly enthusiastic about this gorgeous part of the world that they are lucky enough to live in.
We stayed in the Darrowby room for two nights and it was beautiful, wonderfully decorated and so spacious. The whole house looks lovely and the dining room is light and fresh with superb breakfasts on offer.
The Kings Arms over the road offers amazing food, we ate there both nights and can recommend it to everyone.
We chose to stay at Skeldale House as we are huge James Herriot fans and this had been on our "bucket list" and so we couldn't fail to be delighted, however you don't have to be crazy fans like us to be enthralled by Skeldale and it's lovely owners, if you're looking for accommodation in the Askrigg area please consider this beautiful house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinklekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is my first review ever and I've been inspired to write it not only because Skeldale House is an utterly charming and luxurious place to stay, nor because Lisa and Keth are such warm and welcoming hosts, nor because it's situation is wonderful, next to the tea shop and overlooking the market square, nor because it has the comfiest beds and best breakfast of our holiday- all of these would be reason enough, but the reason I wanted to put pen to paper was Lisa's real kindness when I made the booking. She only had a twin left and when I explained that a friend who may be widowed by then so we may need 3 beds, she didn't hesitate in offering to put in an extra bed on the busiest of weekends if we didn't mind the squash. In the event, we didn't need it, but it was offered with real warmth and concern and we could include our friend in our plans.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldineoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
4.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
4.8 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Milton House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sykes House B&B
Sykes House B&B
#3 of 7 in Askrigg
62 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
280 reviews
19.5 mi away
Moor View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeldale House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeldale House B&B

Address: Skeldale House Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range: £86 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skeldale House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious B&B in the heart of the beautiful village of Askrigg, nestled itself in the outstanding scenery of Wensleydale. The building is also very famous as it was used in the very popular BBC series All Creatures Great & Small as the vets practice of James Herriot. It has recently undergone a total refurbishment to offer high end accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Skeldale House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeldale House B&B Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing