We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, welcoming, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Yes, the facilities are limited, but you are in a beautiful location. Staff are very hospitable and this is mirrored by the village. Room was clean and spacious for this type of hotel, the bathroom was excellent. Breakfast was good and parking was plentiful. You walk straight out onto a number of walking paths, cycle routes and busses into Oxford. The restaurant has good food and there are several others to choose from in the village. I plan to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the kitchen but the kitchen fan does turn off before long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeWhiteWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

good food, beers, menu.food excellent, staff friendly and efficient. stayed one night, and the room was very traditional, spacious and clean, in the main building

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My sister and I stayed four nights here recently. The building is stunning - it dates from the 1400's and our room was off the medieval gallery. With a building this old - probably Listed - you can't expect something which looks as though it was finished last year, but our twin room was quite spacious and the bathroom fitted with an excellent modern shower. There was a bright breakfast room with a lovely garden outlook, a more formal dining room and a cosy bar. Staff were friendly and professional, and the food was really excellent - much better than we had expected in a small village hotel of this kind. The prices are very reasonable, which makes the hotel good value for money. There are a few niggles - our wardrobe was very small, and many of the hangers in it were broken; there was also a rather noisy kitchen extractor fan outside our room, though this was only on when meals were being served - but for us these were more than outweighed by the atmosphere and service. Dorchester is a pretty village, very quiet and with many interesting old buildings. Altogether a great place for a short break - we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights from 22nd to 25th June. Having arrived from Jersey and driven all the way from Gatwick, it would have helped if the reception had been a bit more welcoming. The staff was busy attending to the bar. A smile would never go amiss.
We had to ask for a change of room as we were close to the road. After an initial hesitation, we were given a good room. Nothing exciting - very small tv, average bathroom but clean all the same.

The first morning the breakfast was very good, but the hot breakfast was brought even as we had just started with our cereal. There were not many people and it would have been easy to wait till we were ready. Also, the glass jugs having the orange juice and the milk were very large and very heavy, two litres each. There were some older residents who were finding it difficult to lift these heavy jugs to use.
That night we had a lovely dinner and were well taken care off.

The next morning we were taken by surprise, rather unpleasantly. The breakfast was buffet now, with no staff around at all. There were only two around and they were busy. The food in the serving containers were cold and very unattractive. The scrambled eggs had gone dark and dry and no one was around asking us if we needed anything. When I did manage to stop the lady staff, asking her for coffee cups, as there were none on our table, she simply pointed to the coffee machine and moved away. I had to repeat to her that we did not have cups to go and bring our coffee.

Overall, we realised that the gentleman there, Lian, was working very hard and we will go here again. Hopefully, they will take my comments as constructive.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is just a pub with some run-down rooms behind it. The furniture looked like it had come from a house-clearance sale and the whole impression was just cheap and grubby. Except, of course, the price.

This is one to avoid.

Even the name of this village is misleading - you might be forgiven for thinking Dorchester-on-Thames is actually on the Thames. It is a pleasant village in a pleasant settting. But its not on the river. That is, of course, nothing to do with the accomodation, but it does echo the feeling of being taken for a ride.

This won't be on my list of ones to return to when I am near Oxford.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This charming hotel is set in the heart of the village. The food was excellent and the service was polite, unobtrusive,friendly and efficient. I had a twin room off the open galleried landing. This gallery is a beautiful reminder that you're in a 15C coaching inn! The whole hotel is clean and comfortable. Being directly opposite the entrance to the stunning Dorchester Abbey was another bonus. I will definintely be back, but for a weekend break rather than one night on business! Well done all - fab stay.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of the rooms off the gallery!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

lovely warm welcoming hotel in a tranquil part of oxfordshire.beautiful part of england perfect location for a 20 minute drive to henley on thames and to oxford city using the park and ride at redbridge.Plenty of parking at the rear had a meal in the bar which was really good ,the service was excellent with poppy making you feel very welcome.the hotel has a lot of character which is what we were looking for.thanks again for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
719 reviews
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fleur De Lys Inn
Fleur De Lys Inn
#1 of 1 in Dorchester-on-Thames
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Address: High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Dorchester On Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing