We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dorchester-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The George Hotel is Lovey
Recent comments do not do justice to this place.
The place is being updated but this did not create any issues or inconvenience to our stay.
All eleven of us were more than happy with the George Hotel
Our rooms were clean, warm & quirkey.
Service very good, food very good, hospitality very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BFT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had previously dined at the hotel and returned this time with a party of six. Excellent weekend, good food, good wine and beer. Very good value on a weekend deal (£100 PP 2 nights DBB). Try the cheese course and port very good. We were in a newly painted room so nice and clean but shower was a bit slow.

Room Tip: Try the cheese course and port very good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

On arrival the small bar area was full of tables with people eating the lunch deal meals, no sign of a log fire in the empty grates. Willing but poorly trained staff, they were not aware of the inclusive booking ( dinner and b&b ) that we had made. This led to some confusion as we had to order from a specific menue.
The lighting was out in the corridor leading to the rooms, although an electrician sorted it soon afterwards. Room large but very tired, bathroom clean but radiator had been removed and the pipes capped off. No where to put anything in the bathroom, shelves etc. The best thing was that the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was OK but one young man had to take the orders, serve and cook the meal therefore not exactly fast food!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Good parking and location on main High street through Dorchester and opposite Abbey. Poor welcome from surly bar staff, more interested in taking payment than any welcome or greeting.

Basic rooms filled with old tired and ill fitting furniture, don’t be fooled by the phrase ‘fine antiques’ in sales blurb. What appeared to be an attractive king size bed was in fact two singles badly pushed together. Limited ‘coloured’ hot water from loose tap in bathroom sink.

Gentle chimes from Abbey of no concern after noisy closing time, even more disruptive drinkers leaving after ‘stay-back’ with further drunk guests trying to enter room with key well after 1am.

Not a good experience, redeemed only by highly acceptable cooked breakfast served in dimly lit restaurant, no staff in evidence upon checkout, or any management throughout.

This is essentially a noisy pub with basic rooms and I do not recognise this establishment from the suggested favourable reviews posted by other customers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed as we have friends nearby and we were to many to accommodated all at her house. We were in room 19 and it was big with small tv and free wifi. I have to say that it was rather tired and you had to run around in the shower to get wet and the bathroom needed updtaing to. The toilet was not secured firmly to floor. The bed was not comfortable and again wooden headboard chipped etc. Having said that it was ok for just one night. I agree with Sarah Jo 90 though about checking the price. It was £11 more expensive to book direct with the hotel but to give them their due. they honoured the online price to us. The breakfast was plentiful my only complaint that everything was self service and the tea is just hot water in thermojug and a tea bag. Not good at all. You need boiling water to make a nice cuppa so that was disappointing. I think the moral of our stay was that you can't rest on your laurels just because you are situated in a beautiful Village opposite the Abbey near Oxford; so attention to details please.

Room Tip: Don't choose 19 til it has been revamped.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a night here as we had to attend an event nearby. We were just looking for something local that wasn't too expensive, but the George Inn is so much more. The rooms have so much charm and character, and are a world away from the standard hotel chains. The room was clean, very large and with a massive TV. We could see out over the rooftops from our room, which had oak beams and a king size and very comfortable bed. The staff were lovely and breakfast was so delicious, we decided to stay for lunch in the bar.

I have no criticisms, but I do offer a couple of observations which some may find helpful. Our room had a bath with a showerhead, but no stand-up shower. We were only staying one night, so this wasn't a huge problem. The floor is a bit uneven, which I just though added to the quirkiness of the place, but it does make the bed tilt a little. I woke up at about half 5 (I don't sleep well, no matter how comfy the bed) and noticed a noise which I assume was the central heating, which went on for about an hour. It was enough to keep me awake for a bit, but nothing that earplugs wouldn't solve.

The village is full of beautiful cottages and the abbey is definately worth a look. Parking at the hotel is ample. If you are just passing, pop in to the George Inn for a drink or a bite to eat; you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower. Noise is really not an issue in such a quiet area.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrainSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found it great. The bathroom could do with an update but that was the only thing we could gripe over. Breakfast was fantastic.cereal,juices.pastries and a choice of what you wanted from a vast cooked breakfast menu. All very nice too. Clean room with large tv. The staff were all lovely and the manager helped us out after a misunderstanding with our booking ( the fault of third party booking site not the hotel ). Village is fantastic and as well as a lovely bar in the hotel there are two other very nice pubs too. Nice shower in each room and its perfect !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobanmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
713 reviews
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
6.9 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Address: High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
George Dorchester On Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing