We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old world inn with character, three and a half stars”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dorchester-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
Utila, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“old world inn with character, three and a half stars”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

a pretty five hundred year old coaching inn with all the quirks you'd expect of such an old establishment. twenty or so rooms, a restaurant and a pub, all presided over by a pleasant (and very hard working) innkeeper and a very small staff.
the rooms are pleasant, nothing fancy but decent, the pub is lovely (a good place to meet the locals) and the food (especially lunch) was nice.
we were in the area for a wedding and we wished we had stayed more than two nights. the little town is beautiful and the area is picture postcard english countryside at its best, well worth exploring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    90
    59
    30
    30
See reviews for
38
126
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just back from stopping in this Hotel, it was excellent....The staff were so friendly.and could'nt do enough for us....Thanks you's all very much....Real old fashioned place in a lovely town,slept really well...and breakfast was brill at no extra cost....

Room Tip: My Grandson is on crutches at the moment,and they changed our room to a down stair's one,so he d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bren758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had stayed 2 nights at another hotel locally and fancied a coffee after a walk by the river. We were directed to seats that were so filthy I decided to look inside for a table despite it being a beautiful day. The entrance to the hotel from the garden passes the kitchen and the carpet was black with grease - I turned round and went to the White Hart.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dorchester-on-Thames hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked into The George as an alternative to the plush Crazy Bear 5 miles away in Stadhampton that was fully booked (we were having an anniversary dinner there). It wasn't our first choice, but came up as one of the closest to our first choice, when googling hotels in the area.
The hotel was fine, room a decent size and good sized bathroom. The hotel room décor was a little tired and dated and could have done with a lick of paint. The windowsill was covered in cobwebs and spiders. The included breakfast provided a good selection of full English and continental options.
The town is very very quite, so unless you're happy to drink at The George or one of the only 2 other pubs in the area, you'll need to drive elsewhere.
Bells from the opposite Abbey rang out every 15 minutes overnight, so if you're a light sleeper, you need earplugs!
Not sure I'd stay again, purely location wise but it was perfectly fine for us and served it's purpose in the best way it could.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We only stayed one night in this fabulous Quirky hotel, our room was room number 10 situated up a small staicase on the outside of this wonderful building. The room was not enormous but adequate, the ensuite showeroom housed a walk in size shower, maybe could have reduced the size of the shower cubicle to allow for more room for other things. Thge breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent a buffet style with sometning for everyone you can even order fresh eggs served as you like by such friendly, happy staff.
Located in what I can only describe as a village lost in the time vortex. Such a lovely quintessential English village, the fabulous oversized abbey used as the local parish church dominates the high street. There are walks signposted to the Thames and other routes.

Room Tip: We requested twin beds rather than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

A very romantic place. A perfect large room with a flawlessly clean shower which looked as if it was absolutely new.
Although we visited the place on very cold days, the room was warm and we felt very comfortable. We enjoyed a very English style of the hotel and the pub.
The breakfast was well served and there was a pleasant variety of food choices. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive at the same time.
The hotel offers a good combination of authentic Englishness and very comfortable conditions at the same time. No wonder, they've got plenty of "Thank you" cards from their visitors at the reception desk.
We enjoyed the stay very much! Moreover, we hope to return here next year.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I organised a party of five for a lunch at the George. the food was OK without being special.

What was staggering was the poverty of the service. The meal - without many customers around - came after an hour. Everything came without joy or a smile. The blond who doubled reception with waitressing had probably lacked any serious training. It is simply staggering that such a place should present itself so badly.

Room Tip: Probably don't expect a meal soon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxontim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
704 reviews
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.0 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Stadhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Property: George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
Address: High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
George Dorchester On Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing