We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but tired”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dorchester-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
1 review
“Charming but tired”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having booked 2 rooms back in May we arrived last weekend only to find there was no record of our booking, just as well I had printed off the emails to and fro from back in May. To be fair once the evidence was shown to the staff they found us one room at the George and one at another (more expensive but offered at the same rate as the George) hotel down the road. We were also offered a free lunch by way of apology for which we were grateful.
Our room was best described as tired with a burnt lampshade on one of the wall lights where it had rested against the light bulb (which had been removed), evidence of running repairs to the heated towel rail and quite a few cobwebs. The bed was reasonably comfortable although the pillows were somewhat hard.
There was the usual choice for breakfast, with good quality food. However,if you stay on a weekend please avoid peak times (say 9am) as the dining room cannot cater for all the residents at one sitting. We found other guests wondering into the dining room, which was already full, and then having to leave with a view to returning later. The staff, although pleasant and hard working seemed somewhat disorganised with vacated tables lying un-cleared. We had to ask for tea and toast and having been served just the tea had to ask again for the toast.
The car parking was excellent with plenty of room and an area for hotel guests only.
I have now stayed in a few similar establishments in the Costwolds and I find they are all rather expensive for what they are and are no doubt trading on the 'Cotswold' factor. The George has lots of charm but needs some TLC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    86
    58
    29
    28
See reviews for
35
123
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went to this hotel for a meal with a local voucher. The food was wonderful, fairly limited menu but all of it looked great and the meals we had were fantastic and good value. As a result we have been back, taking friends with us, again we were not disappointed, the menu had changed but still very good quality food, service good and (for the quality) very good value. This is likely to become a regular choice for us, just a shame it is 15 miles away.
We cannot comment on the rooms as we have not stayed within the hotel though it looks very quaint and interesting

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dreamchasers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liaan v, Manager at George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Looks very picturesque and lives upto that, very pleasant village and old fashioned charm. Our room was small but serviceable, big bed which was nice but left little space for anything else. We were in the courtyard, more like a motel but suited us. Service polite but distant, food surprisingly good, both dinner and breakfast but odd system left people queuing in the morning. Overall enjoyable stay, pub around the corner lively and excellent service but can't remember its name!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Atmosphere was exactly what anyone would want in such a historic coaching inn. The food was great, and the staff were friendly and more than happy to go the extra mile. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: we asked for a room with a four poster and got it, so we would definitely suggest you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the George recently for three nights. Everything about the place could be described as no better than average: my room, which was across the yard from the main building, was acceptable but rather shabby- clean towels were provided every day but the carpet was dirty; it was noisy outside, something which a double- glazed window would probably resolve; a kettle with coffee etc was provided but one morning there was no power! Breakfast was quite good but a "full English" on one day was different to the next! Service varied- on the two mornings the young lady waitress was on duty it was far more efficient and welcoming than the day she was not working. On the one evening when I had dinner the food was quite good- freshly cooked and tasty but the service was poor and very slow. Similarly, in the bar, the one girl on duty struggled to cope when it was busy. As others have said, this is not a modern, featureless hotel but a bit of attention and a couple more staff on duty in the public areas would make the George a far more attractive place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Young-once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the George, overall it’s not bad. It’s not a 5 star but it its clean and comfortable. The rooms are dated and could do with an update and some have been. The staff is excellent and very friendly; the food is above average; a visit to the pub is a must; good selection of beverages and what better way to meet the locals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Returned visit, staying a couple of nights for ascot .
Shown to room 1 which had been slightly refurbished since our last visit .
This room is fairly basic and is another room we have stayed in this hotel which is very noisy, due to customers sitting outside .
Breakfast nice both mornings.
Staff not very friendly .
This is a comfortable , mid priced hotel with character that could be taken , I feel to a higher level fairly easily with just a few little tweeks.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.0 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Stadhampton
7.6 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Property: George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
Address: High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
George Dorchester On Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing