We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel has a lot of character. Lovely rooms and a great bar downstairs for relaxing in. Staff were friendly and attentive. food was good value.

The village is stunning. simply stunning. Have a look on Google streetwise and you just won't believe it. Beautiful.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ec9wrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    208
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
414
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
medway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived at this quaint hotel and were disappointed to find the bedroom was cold as the radiator was not on.Asked at reception for this to be resolved which it promptly was.However,soon realised why it was off.The heat emanating from the radiator and bathroom towel rail was red hot and did not respond to any attempt to turn the heat down.So spent 3 nights with window wide open which is a terrible waste of heat and felt like a dehydrated gasping fish out of water by morning.
The room was small but clean and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water.Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and a good standard.Staff friendly and helpful.Did not eat in dining room as it looked rather lacking in charm.Good location to enjoy country walks and close to Oxford,take the park and ride opportunity.
If booking ask for room on first floor.Number 3 is good size,but until heating issues sorted avoid number 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedwayCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were looking for a place to stay after a day's travel and came upon the White Hart. What a great hotel! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The meals were delicious. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meggles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

not quite sure how we managed it but we ended up in the "Dorchester Suite" and very pleasant it was too,,,, if not a little odd - on two levels - bedroom and living space on the first floor and the "ablutions" on the ground floor.... very special non the less. It is over the restaurant and too be honest we couldn't hear the later diners so don't worry about that if you are booked into this suite.
All the staff were friendly - especially the head bar lady/waitress who kept her restaurant team in order. The evening meal was ok - but not special - maybe a bit pricey for what it was and didn't have us saying "wow". The breakfast was lovely though.
I would be happy to go back to this hotel and a gloriously typical English village it is situated in - - it is the centre of "midsummer murder country" and we hadn't realised before booking so a nice little extra when we got there!!
We booked this via "booking.com" and i reckon we had a really good deal - admittedly we booked a couple of months in advance but still half price for the room on the thursday before the august bank holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinksorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I always had the feeling there wasn't anyone in particular in charge. Either in the restaurant at breakfast or for the evening meal. For the evening meal the tables were laid out the same as Breakfast. It did not give the ambience of an evening meal feeling. No tablecloths on the tables. No specials board. it just did not seem to fit in with the character of the Hotel. Breakfast average.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilCalvert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Recently spent a pleasant 2night weekend break at the White Hart, we had an all inclusive deal which included dinner, B &B which was good value for money. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms, the Dorchester Suite and Room 20, both rooms are well appointed, however as the Dorchester Suite is directly above the restaurant and seems to have very little in the way of insulation it can be quite noisy during meal times and you need to be an early riser as noise from guests having breakfast can easily wake you, we would visit again but not in the same room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilicles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We were put in room 22, on the ground floor of a delapidated kind of converted garage at the corner of the parking lot. The first things you notice are:
- the old carpet that is so dirty you cannot even imagine walking bare foot on it
- the mouldy smell
- the bathroom with mould on most of the joints
- the TV remote control which had some unidentified sticky substance on it. My wife reacted by throwing it away with a facial expression that made me wonder if i had been right to marry her (;-)).

Frankly, paying GBP105 per night for that is just a joke. Don't take me wrong, i am not stingy and have no issue spending GBP200-300 per night for a very nice bedroom, but this mouldy bedroom should cost GBP60 maximum, or not even be rented frankly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumePharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Room 22 is one of four in a purpose built cottage next to the old hotel – it is very popular with our regular guests as they can park close by and it’s great for late night access – as you found out.

I personally checked you into the room on Saturday, 19th October and had a conversation re connection to WiFi. As your review is written on the same day it appears this worked very well. At this point you seemed happy with the room and you did not convey any dissatisfaction at check out.

Before writing this response I re-checked the room – it is spotlessly clean, warm and has no unwanted odours. The TV remote is missing – we will be invoicing you for a new one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing