We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, service with a smile would have helped”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, service with a smile would have helped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The room was lovely. The service from the manager was exceptional. The service from the staff was not, particularly at breakfast when service was snarly and unpleasant. Based on our experience I would not recommend eating here.
We really liked the open fires but could not understand why a large flat screen TV had been placed above one of them which seemed to only be on for the entertainment of the staff. The other fire had limited seating around it and this was always full.
This place has great potential.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    208
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
414
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December having a few days away before Christmas. The whole experience was a real treat. Everyone was welcoming, friendly and efficient we truly felt we were guests and not paying customers. We had the Abingdon Suite which is up a narrow flight of stairs and very private and quiet. Lots of space, lounge, bedroom and bathroom with ample storage, good quality furnishings, warm and very cosy. Breakfast buffet was a little restricted but more than made up for by the cooked to order breakfast. Evening meals could be eaten either off the garden menu or the a la carte menu. We swapped between the two sampling a good variety of dishes. Lots to do in the area and part of the deal was tickets for the Oxford Experience which we really enjoyed.The village itself is lovely and there are walks down to the river. Check out was the easiest ever with the bill already prepared and correct. Super staff and a real find we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 8th Wedding Anniversary. We had a four poster room which was very comfortable and clean. Our booking included 3 course dinner and full english breakfast. Everything we ordered was really nice, good portions and great tasting. Breakfast the next morning was well deserved after a 4 mile trek to Wanborough. (Mid summer murders). There are some great walks in the local area. Including the bridge where the International Poo Sticks competition takes place. Ally and her team were really helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We recently stayed at the White Hart with our two small dogs. The room was spacious, well furnished, very clean and warm. Nice bathroom and a comfortable bed.

Our dogs stayed in the car while we ate breakfast but I suspect the could have gone into the bar in the evening. No extra charge for the dogs too. Most dog owners are pathetically grateful to find anywhere to stay with their canine chums that they are uber careful- so this was a real bonus.

Only very minor downside was that the seal round the bath needed replacing - otherwise perfect!

We would recommend room 5. Staff are also welcoming and helpful.

A visit to the splendid abbey is also a must as is a wander round Dorchester. The town is full of lovely old houses and networked with footpaths. A stroll along the Thames is also lovely but in summer - not today it's flooded!

Room Tip: We like room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here after a busy day shopping in Bicester Village.
Great location, easy to find.
We had a 3 course dinner and breakfast which were all lovely.
Would recommend this this place and already know someone who will be visiting off of our advice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Four of us stayed in this attractive period Hotel for two nights and another seven members of the family joined us for an extended Christmas lunch. The friendly help and service from the Hotel Manager and his staff was superb despite this being a very busy time for them. The food for the lunch and other times was excellent and had that Home Cooking touch about it. We had all gathered from different parts of the country and this was a good central meeting place. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bedrooms in a cottage attached to the hotel. It was quieter and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONBEE6123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My partner treated me to a stay here for my birthday on a travel zoo offer. It was excellent value.
We stayed in a standard room but it was far from standard, spacious and well decorated with a roomy if somewhat cold bathroom.
Staff very friendly and food was delicious, well cooked to a high standard. Even had my own birthday dessert with candle!
Only gripe was the breakfast, inattentive waitress (despite the fact that there were only two tables she had to wait on) but great food, following day was reversed, waitress was better but no croissant, no pain au chocolat, fresh fruit or prunes also one teabag between two was a bit mean!
Despite the gripe we would definately recommend this hotel and hope to return in the spring/summer.
ps Take your own pillows - they were soooo hard!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing