We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend break! surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break! surpassed expectations”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I booked this hotel through an offer for a weekend break for my husbands birthday. This included breakfast, our evening meal and tickets for oxfords bus tour. Like most hotels you don't really know what to expect before you arrive but i must say we really impressed with this hotel. Its an old coaching inn, so has lots of nice features, you almost feel the place is slightly leaning, which adds to its charm. Our room was brilliant- we had a suite (which i was unaware of before we arrived) which included a lounge area, good sized bathroom and large bedroom, all well decorated and very clean.

The breakfast was enormous with juices, fruit, yogurts, pastries and cereal to help yourself to on top of a cooked breakfast to order. The dinner was even better, a 3 course meal from the market menu was included or you could choose something from the main menu to equal value. But the market menu was very nice and we preferred it to the main menu!

All in all we had a lovely weekend break, and this place was great hotel and being such great value for money makes it even better. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amy_58london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    208
    51
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
413
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Four of us stayed for a Saturday night and found it to be an excellent place to stay. The food was top class (we were full board), rooms wonderful and all the staff were helpful (especially the restaurant manager who was delightful!). The shower was one of the best with lovely large towels!! I would thoroughly recommend this super hotel in a most exquisite English village - thank you for your care.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my wife and friends.Our rooms were situted in the lodge rooms at the rear of the main hotel. I found the rooms very spacious, comfortable and welcoming. I found all the staff to be very courteous and helpful, both in the bar and when taking dinner and breakfast in the dining area.There was plenty to choose from from an extensive menu and you were allowed to mix and match from an al a carte and set price menu, this was a nice touch which extended the range of choice.
All in all I have to say that the requisites of a good stay are definately in place and would certainly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Terencejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the White Hart after selecting it for its location and old world charm What a mistake.
We arrived late afternoon and were shown to our room, (Room 3). The room was freezing cold, as were the radiators. We asked for a heater and were later provided with an electric heater, which barely took the chill off. We then noticed how noisy the room was - the secondary double glazing had been removed, as a result of this we could hear, not only the constant stream of traffic, but also the staff, who congregated beneath our bedroom window for cigarette breaks and a gossip about the 'management'.
We had already decided that we would not eat in the restaurant that evening so at about 7.00 pm we asked the receptionist to organise us a taxi to a nearby restaurant. At 7.30 pm she returned saying that she had been unable to get a taxi, so we drove, having made up our mind even more that this was not the place to eat. Later, about 1130 pm we returned, and had a quick drink in the bar. The topic of conversation was the local dining haunts and the host of well known chefs nearby, and the fact that the chef at the White Hart had trained several Michelin chefs, (remember this!).
We had a rather sleepless night because of the cold and the noise, and also because the room above ours had squeaky floorboards, which seemed to creak all night long. Morning arrived and we decided to take our breakfast at the hotel, (included in the price). We arrived in the breakfast lounge and selected our table, our order was then taken, with an explanation that we would not be able to have smoked haddock and poached eggs because the water takes to long to heat for the poached eggs, (???). We therefore decided on the traditional English breakfast.
It arrived.....
It comprised of delicious fatty bacon swimming in fat, baked beans that had been baked so long they were dried up, a sausage that was well done on one side and rare on the other side, a grilled tomato, (which did actually look edible), We did actually start to eat the breakfast but after eating a couple of pieces of sausage I discovered it was still raw in the middle. The waitress was nowhere to be seen, so we left. On the way past reception we explained to the receptionist that we had left most of the breakfast because the sausages were still in fact raw in the middle.
"I'll talk to the chef", she explained.
We went to our room, packed and returned to reception to check out.
"Did you speak to the chef?", I asked the receptionist.
"Yes, but he didn't say anything, so I gave him a good beating!". she replied.
No apology, nothing.
We left, disgusted with our stay, with the lack of concern, and with the overall quality of the hotel. Clearly the hotel are suffering and cutting corners to keep costs down. And to think this chef has trained Michelin chefs locally yet cant cook a sausage.

My advice: Don't stay here, unless you want to see the training ground for Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
In this case no apologies. You arrived late afternoon - the hotel had full occupancy. We had no other complaints re room temperature but happily provided you with a heater. When returning from your evening out at 11.30pm you enjoyed a nightcap at the bar - the chap talking about Michelin training does not work for the hotel. The hotel is very old and has a few creaks- but again I have checked and we had no other complaints. Despite arriving for breakfast after the advertised serving times we happily provided a hot breakfast which was not to your liking.
Our receptionist refused your request for a complimentary stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A fantastic break, excellent value for money. The rooms were lovely, linen pristine, comfortable bed, best towels ever! Hot water, good showers, great TV's in the rooms. Wi fi available in our room (17). We had dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was excellent, service first class. We were made very welcome by the manager, receptionist, restaurant manager.... In fact everyone was lovely, really friendly. Ample parking in car park at rear of hotel. SKY TV in the bar was very appreciated for the football on Saturday.... Thanks to Ali for organising that for us. This is a great pub/hotel in a fabulous English chocolate box village. We will definitely be keeping an eye out for the deals and will be back.

Room Tip: The Shillingford suite is great for disabled with wet room shower. Room 17 can access the hotel wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soller125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The room was lovely. The service from the manager was exceptional. The service from the staff was not, particularly at breakfast when service was snarly and unpleasant. Based on our experience I would not recommend eating here.
We really liked the open fires but could not understand why a large flat screen TV had been placed above one of them which seemed to only be on for the entertainment of the staff. The other fire had limited seating around it and this was always full.
This place has great potential.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December having a few days away before Christmas. The whole experience was a real treat. Everyone was welcoming, friendly and efficient we truly felt we were guests and not paying customers. We had the Abingdon Suite which is up a narrow flight of stairs and very private and quiet. Lots of space, lounge, bedroom and bathroom with ample storage, good quality furnishings, warm and very cosy. Breakfast buffet was a little restricted but more than made up for by the cooked to order breakfast. Evening meals could be eaten either off the garden menu or the a la carte menu. We swapped between the two sampling a good variety of dishes. Lots to do in the area and part of the deal was tickets for the Oxford Experience which we really enjoyed.The village itself is lovely and there are walks down to the river. Check out was the easiest ever with the bill already prepared and correct. Super staff and a real find we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
574 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing