We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent 2 night stay.”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have just returned from a Travelzoo deal at the White Hart . We have a lovely stay ,thanks to Sean and his team. We would recommend this stay to anyone and will definitely return to this lovely hotel in this beautiful area. Pity the doors are so noisy - I am sure that our bedroom door annoyed the next room occupants as much as theirs annoyed us - but being picky - didnt spoil anytihing. Loved the super king bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satisfiedcustomer251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

A lovely large room, tastefully furnished in a beautiful old building in a picture postcard location. Breakfast was absolutely perfect.
The doors are very loud and it would have been nice to have my own iron and ironing board, but otherwise brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here on a Travel Zoo deal and were extremely impressed with everything about the Hotel. We arrived to have lunch - soup and sandwich which we ate in the bar. Then booked in and were shown to our room which was across the car park in an annex. The room was really very nice and we had plenty of space and good facilities. Everything was clean. We had dinner in the Restaurant and the food was outstanding. The same again the following night. Breakfast was also very good (perhaps the bacon could have been cooked a little more). All the staff without exception were friendly and helpful. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and Restaurant and look forward to another visit ourselves perhaps later in the year. Thank you for a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Annexe and there was a little noise from the car park early in the morning (6am ish) e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carriefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. The staff in reception, the bar and restaurant couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast was a good quality and the evening food was also extremely good. We had the Market Menu included in our stay but chose off the A La Carte menu as there was a reasonable allowance to pick and choose. There was also a good choice of wines. We had the suite that backed onto, and above, the dining room but didn't experience any major issues. There was a smell of toast in the morning from below the bedroom but that just encouraged us to get up and enjoy the breakfast. The location is excellent as it is a lovely small town with beautiful architecture and lovely local walks. This is the 2nd time we have visited the White Hart and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. Many thanks to Sean and his team for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive030660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This suite adjoins the restaurant. On arrival our first impressions were good. Bathroom downstairs and upstairs a seating area with the bedroom next door. We immediately noticed loud music - this at 3 pm. Reception said they could not change our room as they were fully booked but the receptionist went into the dining room and turned down the level of music. During dinner no music was playing and it seemed to be there solely for the staff. The Bedroom overhangs the dining area and the music speakers are attached up high to the wall. i.e. right where the bed is! The first night there it was bearable but on the second night we could hear actual conversations, all the clinking of tables being set up for breakfast, but worst of all was the noise from the kitchen fan. Just like being on the runway at Heathrow airport. The staff did eventually turn everything off about 11.30pm.
When it came to settling the bill after the two night stay we told the management how bad it was and they admitted that they had received other complaints but could not do anything about it until September 2014, as they are fully booked. If you want a quiet night's sleep this is not for you - not yet anyway. They serve good pizzas.

Room Tip: Reading other reviews it seems the rooms in the main hotel which face onto the road are also noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

The Dorchester Suite is our cottage suite with first floor lounge and separate bedroom with ground floor bathroom. As can be seen from previous reviews this is a very popular suite. Apologies for mid afternoon music - the restaurant speakers should have been turned off.
We are considering further sound insulation and will hopefully receive conservation authority approval in the near future.

We would normally have re-located you to a room more suited to your needs but on this occasion the hotel was full and so this was not possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room was a cross between a broom cupboard and a shoe-box; there must be reasonable rooms at the hotel but Warborough isn't one of them. It is right on the main street with no double glazing, so every conversation outside can be overheard, and divided from the Lounge by a paper-thin wall. The Receptionist couldn't move us and offered to reduce the cost from £95 to £65 saying it probably wouldn't be noisy on the street much after 10.30pm! We declined the offer and checked out at a cost of £40. Fortunately we found accommodation at The George Hotel, over the road, at a cost of £70 for a room at least three times the size, featuring a four-poster bed and a large bathroom, where we enjoyed a peaceful night and an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: If offered Warborough go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricket5619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

The hotel has a range of quality rooms at different sizes, all with high occupancy and satisfaction rates. If a specific room type is required it is always best to call the hotel directly.
Third party booking sites remove the opportunity to relate with our guests in the first instance.
If you are visiting Dorchester in the future please give us a call to arrange one of our larger rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this quaint and very welcoming hotel courtesy of a travel zoo package. Our room was a good size, beautifully presented and very quiet. Yes the floor boards do creak but for us that was part of the charm although I can appreciate if you are under such a noise with people who wander round during the night it could be annoying but quite frankly hotels are public places and rarely annoyance free. We found all staff polite and very helpful. For the money paid food was plentiful and more than adequate, particularly breakfast which kept us going all day ! If I had to criticise anything it would be the fish pie which was very white and pretty much flavourless but I am a home economist with a passion for good seasoning and colour ( using so much cream instead of a well made sauce didn't help. Infact using cream as a quick sauce is probably the chefs main fault ). Starters and desserts were excellent. Overall we enjoyed our stay in such a historical building and village and will definitely return.

Room Tip: It is a main road so being on the back is probably quieter. We were in 5 which was nicely tucked awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollywolly59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thame...
#2 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
675 reviews
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
253 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range: £64 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing