We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Saw this advertised through Travelzoo. So glad we booked it. If you like character then you wont be disappointed because it absolutely oozes it. Our room was at the front of the hotel and there was very little traffic noise but if you are a very light sleeper then ask for a room at the back. All the staff are SO friendly and extremely helpful- nothing is too much trouble. Food was good both at breakfast and dinner and very well presented. The village itself is charming with an abundance of quaint little cottages and lovely flowers everywhere. If we are in the area again we would definitely book this Hotel- we couldn`t fault it.

Room Tip: Our room(2) was at the front of the hotel and involved a couple of fire doors and stairs to reach it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    203
    50
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
408
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The white hart is a very old pub. Getting to your room requires many stairs, corridors, twists and turns, and what they call "fire doors". To me, these are little more than a damn nuisance when you are lugging heavy bags to your room, as they are made of wood and glass and would BURN in a fire anyway.

Having got that off my chest, we found the entire staff friendly and obliging, the food quite nice and our room very good. There was enough room for our stuff, and our room (5) was clean, had a view of the carpark and was not affected by noise of any kind. I needed to ask for a fan, as it was quite hot and humid at the time. One was produced graciously and almost instantly. Everything worked, and the place is an interesting example of what was originally 1600s architecture. It is in a good location for exploring.

Room Tip: We were in room 5. Overlooking the car park, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

A well decorated and preserved building in the centre of a beautiful village.
The accommodation includes some lovely original rooms within the hotel main building but some very well appointed rooms in adjacent buildings including thre such rooms in a cottage.
The food is pub grub of a high standard and the breakfast is as substantial as you want it to be!
There is a good selection of beers on tap and the bar certainly had a 'buzz' to it in the evening.
The staff are friendly and helpful but do get quite stretched at the busy times which can impact on the dining room service both at dinner and at breakfast.
Overall it is a good quintessential English country hotel and, being located sufficiently far away from the bedlam of Henley during Regatta Week, offers a quiet refuge!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Resource_inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

In the center of a quiet village with two other pubs near by. A very nice place to spend an evening, a lovelywalk to the river takes an hour from the front door. Breakfast was good too. Pub a little on the dear side but a good atmosphere, a million times better than my previous hotel in this area.

Room Tip: The hotel has leaflets to guide visitors around the area, take one from the bar / reception area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, nice area. Many many times better than the last hotel we stayed at near Oxford. A little pricey perhaps but the experience and ability to walk to some other lovely pubs near by made it worth it.

Room Tip: The car park is at the back of the hotel, and is very badly sign posted on arrival. I drove up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

First let me say I loved my four poster bed!
The inn was a delight as it was on our first visit and we intend to return again.

It's like putting on a comfortable old slipper.

We are made to feel at home.
Everyone will stop to chat and make sure you are comfortable.
Breakfast was included and exceptional.
It was also filling and sustained us through our long walks.
Then back to the fireside to read or watch the world cup with fellow guests.
I am seriously in love with this inn and this village.
In another life I must have been the innkeeper.
Whie Hart, thank you for our pleasant stay in room 7. We will be back and want the same room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed three nights with family as a base to visit Oxford. The hotel is ideally situated for this, being 8 miles to the SE and with a substantial park and ride on the way to Oxford. It is also well sited for the best of rural mid England and would have particular appeal for for our "colonial" cousins as both it and the surrounding area are steeped in history.

The hotel itself is old but beautifully presented with much evidence of its history on view which gives it a unique charm. The staff are welcoming, nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast is substantial, or light if one prefers and cooked to order and thus fresh. The evening meal menu has something for everyone and is of high quality. There is ample parking.

We would happily stay here again and I can recommend the hotel as being of very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJayTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
8.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
5.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.9 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
24.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing