We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, Olde-Worlde Inn in Delightful Village”
Review of the George Inn

the George Inn
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is an Inn with a restaurant.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Picturesque, Olde-Worlde Inn in Delightful Village”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We only went in for a drink in the afternoon. It is right opposite the Dorchester Abbey which is well worth a visit. The inside of the inn is (seemingly) genuine Middle Ages and has a pleasant atmosphere. It has a wall decorated with interesting old clocks, some quite large. For the ale enthusiasts, it has some nice real ales on tap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JZWTheTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As recommended”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The George was recommended as a good place for lunch by someone from Dorchester Abbey, just across the road. The food arrived fairly quickly and was fine. No complaints, but nothing memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidX1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper local pub with guest rooms”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hotel rooms and facilities are a bit tired and dated. Would really benefit from a makeover.
Nonetheless, good value and breakfast was good

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redmoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Everything you'd want for your breakfast. Good service, good breakfast and a good price. The staff also made time to chat with us and we would definitely return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, poor table service”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Visited with a group of 10 for a Sunday lunch. When booking I was asked to give an indication of main courses in advance to help the chef. I did so, mentioning that the children might change their minds, but on arrival we were not given menus, and when I asked for menus the waiter said the food had already been pre-ordered! Amazingly, he didn't seem to want to sell us starters. No wine list was offered either! When he did eventually come back with a pad to take our orders for starters he didn't ask for confirmation of the main courses. Shame because the restaurant is attractive, the food was pretty good and the bar staff were friendly. If the table service was better I'd recommend the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonvue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the George Inn also viewed

Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Burcot, Oxfordshire
Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to the George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing