We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food..Great Setting”
Review of Kinghams

Kinghams
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Shere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Kinghams situated in Shere offers imaginative cuisine in a 17th century setting. Creative use of high quality ingredients from local suppliers and farms. Artistic presentation, attention to detail and friendly, welcoming service. Kinghams offers a heated gazebo and al-fresco dining in the summer months.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food..Great Setting”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Decided to try Kinghams out after friends recommended that i should give it a go.Wasn't disappointed,all three courses were delicious,wine selection was good and decent coffee to round everything off.Paul the owner was extremely attentive and all round the service was very good.not the cheapest,but you get what you pay for.highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    94
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to a wonderful lunch at Kinghams today - what a treat! We enjoyed a wonderful meal and drinks that were served in the garden. A very relaxed atmosphere, great food and excellent service. I would 100% recommend this restaurant and I will certainly be going back there again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely treat!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went as a birthday celebration after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed! Lovely to have 'fancy' food at a very reasonable price. I am vegetarian and was worried when the menu and specials were mostly fish. I went for the Avocado and Red Pepper Cheesecake which sounded odd but was one of the nicest things I have ever tasted! We were all very happy with our meals and will be visiting again. We sat outside and it was a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were all very pleasant and friendly too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranAtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great summer dining”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went to Kinghams for a birthday celebration - our previous experience was about seven years ago and we had found it to be a bit 'stuffy'. This time could not have been more different - we were welcomed by charming staff and the whole evening was a really good experience. Excellent food- we had fish specials and also the lamb off the main menu, the scallop starter was very tasty and the desserts were excellent. We had wine by the glass as we all wanted something different. It is not a cheap experience ( about £50-00 a head including tip and our drinks) but we felt we had had a good night out. We noticed there were some people eating outside so on a barmy night that would be fun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Three of us visited Kinghams for the first time. We were celebrating a birthday and the beginning of a return to health following an injury. There was a warm, friendly greeting, an excellent meal, lovely staff and the benefit of having pudding and coffee on the patio. Well worth the drive from South West London.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinghams also viewed

Shamley Green, Guildford
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Kinghams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing