We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History on your doorstep ”

The Red House Glass Cone
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Stourbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free family trails available all year round. Hot Glass Blowing demonstrations every weekend. Designer maker studios open to watch or purchase unique gifts. Specialist gift shop Canal side location with lots of ducks and geese Built in 1792, the Red House Glass Cone is an historic heritage glassmaking site.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking
Worcester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“History on your doorstep ”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place and pleasure to move around, too.

The RHCG is full of history and you can really feel the love those that work here have for the site.

Great coffee shop and array of craft shops and working artists that give the cone a very homely and creative vibe.

My only concern is over the location of the car park. It's not totally well sign posted and people are likely to park over on the Stuart Crystal site and cross a very busy and dangerous road.

Helpful?
Thank Chrispassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    75
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History on my doorstep”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The glass cone is virtually on my doorstep and on Sunday we decided to amble over there where they had a 1940's weekend and how glad we were. Admission was free and access was unlimited. I thoroughly enjoyed the various craft outlets, got some really good ideas for Christmas presents. There was live entertainment, comprising songs from the era where there was a lot of audience participation, plus classic cars and memorabilia generally from wartime Britain.

Sadly we did not get to sample the delights of the cafe as it was closing when we went to go in but from what I could see it looked pretty good.

It was a most enjoyable Sunday afternoon supporting a local attraction and local crafts people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Came here with my adult family on a wet and windy Saturday afternoon and was really impressed with everything there.

The museum itself is free. We took an audio tour of the exhibits and glass cone which were top notch. There is a wealth of information regarding both the history of glass making and the importance of the site itself and the part it played in glass production. On the day we went there was a glass blower there giving a very informative and interesting display.

As well as the museum there is a plethora of art and craft shops on the site. We all took part in a t shirt tie dying workshop being run by one of the shops and this was first class and exceedingly cheap! We also ate in the local cafe on site which was lovely and didn't cost a fortune. Everyone on the site, from museum staff to shop owners were so friendly and more than happy to talk to us.

This is somewhere I would definitely recommend to anyone, young or old.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First timers!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first visit to The Red House Glass Cone, was interesting and informative. We enjoyed the glass blowing demo and the all the little studios were great. We did buy a couple of bits and bobs too!! The coffee shop was brill, a very friendly lady served us and made us feel very welcome.(Although you do need to carry cash as they didn't have a card machine).
It brightened up what was a very wet day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great afternoon trip”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our visit the Glass Cone was a great afternoon, good to see the history and work that used to happen there.....Once you are inside the cone you can't help staring up.....It looks even more impressive from the inside.....Great glass blowing demonstration and exhibits, lots of studios inside the museum, very friendly staff.....Didn't eat or drink in the coffee shop/cafe but the prices looked resonance.....All in all a very interesting and worthwhile afternoon

Helpful?
2 Thank Popmonkey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red House Glass Cone also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Red House Glass Cone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing