We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balti Bazaar

Balti Bazaar
Ranked #63 of 138 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Established since 1997 and won many awards including the BEST OF STOURBRIDGE. We specialise in Traditional Balti dishes and take pride in serving only the leanest of meats served with fresh produce. All main dishes are prepared in our restaurant exactly as in our homes. Each dish will have its own distinctive flavour and aroma which cannot come from any curry powder but from spices and herbs specially prepared by ourselves. We are here to satisfy you with our food and service and would be glad to fulfil your curiosity about our food and culture. We welcome healthy criticism if there is any to improve our standards. Free Car Parking OPEN 7 DAYS Sunday to Thursday 17:00 till 12:30 Friday & Saturday 17:00 till 01:00
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

not a tripadvisor reviewer but i felt i should leave this restaurant a review after my experience. Visited this restaurant as we were unsure which one to go to as there are sooo many in Lye now, this one seemed busy from outside with a large car park so we thought we would try, as we walked in at the reception/bar, was welcomed by a lovely waitor who took us to our table straight away, there was a lovely atmosphere to the place, my starter was amazing, then we were asked if we were ready for our main, which came out sizzling, all the waitors were very helpful, we had different waitors helping us with different requirements, all happy with a smile. Even got a chance to meet the main Boss who you can tell has a lot of experience in restaurants, he welcomed us to come again with a handshake on the way out, will definately return next time i am in the area.


George Shaw

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    30
    18
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasty, Very Very Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and three friends went over to the Balti Bazaar, after a drink at the adjacent, Windsor Castle. Even though it was Saturday night we were quickly found a table and offered menus with an extensive range of dishes. My colleagues, one of whom is Asian, spent ages choosing something they have never had before. I had lost my glasses and couldn't get beyond the first two pages so chose something which I recognised. We had delicious starters of sekh kebabs and a particularly delicious keema Puri (mine). This was followed by garlic chilli chicken for my colleagues, with naan and rice and chips. And a tandoori salmon salad with a vegetable curry for myself. All was very delicious, mine came as a sizzling dish, and having requested the side of vegetable curry to be madras hot, it became a delicious spicy main dish. Being full we just finished off with coffees and were presented with a modest bill of just £40. Not bad for a Saturday night out. All clean and comfortable, polite waiting staff, not fussing over you, which allows you to enjoy your meal with your friends rather than the staff. I think we will find this hard to beat. Though we will try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was this a blip?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Onion bhajee, mixed kebab starters okay but very average. Chicken tikka masalla not up to standard (needed to be creamier and sweet). Two side dishes (caulifower bhajee & sag alhoo) very bland. We returned to this restaurant (a former firm favourite) after a period of absence. We had originally stopped using this as the quality of the food seemed to become quite poor. We thought that we would give it another try but it is doubtful we will return. They have a lot of competition in the area and there are other establishments we have tried where the quality is better. Very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“3 1/2 - Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited here for the first time in May with another couple. Having tried many of the other Indian / Balti restaurants around Lye we thought we would give this place a whirl! It is a large restaurant based over two floors, The menu was very extensive with plenty of choice & "Speciality" / "Chef Recommendations" dishes that I hadn't seen before despite eating Indian Cuisine for over 15 years. The prices were very reasonable & the food was tasty without wowing me. Service was prompt & friendly although I had to go downstairs to pay by debit card at the end of the meal & then when I came back upstairs & went to leave again they thought we were doing a bunk without paying lol! As other viewers have mentioned the bar isn't licensed so you will need to take your own alcoholic drinks. I would revisit this restaurant although there are a few that I feel are better & would score this 3.5 out of 5.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr_bjw76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Family meal, great food, service was great. Menu has plenty of choice and the chef will cook you any Indian meal which is not on the menu A*

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Batesy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balti Bazaar also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to Balti Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing