We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, brilliant staff good beer”
Review of The Labour In Vain

The Labour In Vain
Ranked #59 of 135 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Price range: US$127 - US$25,742
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are no longer a family friendly pub we are the same marstons rubbish as all the others with same old microwave meals
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, brilliant staff good beer”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The last time We went to the labour in vain was October and after a particular bad experience. However we had seen that it had been taken over by new management so we decided to give it one last shot before giving up on it completely, we were greeted by the chef who was very charming young man he let us know what specials he had made so we order our drinks and meals and take a seat in restaurant the after about 15 mins out comes our mains I had a mammoth mix grill and my wife had BBQ chicken, it was well presented cooked perfect and what shocked me the most was the proper chips made out of proper potatoes not these frozen bags you get. The chef came over personally to ask if everything was ok with our meals then again the chef came to clear the plates and have a conversation with us which I think is nice and it adds the personal touch to our meal, over all fantastic meal, brilliant staff and the real ales they have are amazing some of the best ales I've had we enjoyed it that much I'm taking my mother there for Sunday lunch

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Menu”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the labour in vain for food from new menu. Lovely food, generous Portions, warm atmosphere. Never went in before because of the reputation. Live locally now so am in all the time. Love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
1 review
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We haven't been to the labour in vain in some time because the previous tenants run it down however we went again last night after a menu was pushed through my door stating they had new management and a new award winning chef. The whole experience was excellent we were greeted by a charming bar man which I assume was the new landlord we ordered our drinks then sat in the restaurant, the ambiance is fantastic soft playing music and everything is clean and fresh. So I ordered a mixed grill and my wife ordered a cod and chips. To my surprise within 15 mins we had our mains the grill was huge and very we'll cooked with home made chips and homemade onion rings, the cod was amazing none of this frozen rubbish you could tell how fresh it was and hand beer batter was so light and crispy, with a mountain of chips and presented very well, to follow we had peach tart and chocolate brownie, again we could tell these were homemade. Very we'll done we will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value pub food”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We have visited this pub many times over the years. Since it has been recently taken over it is the best it has been in years. The landlord and staff are very inviting and place is clean and warm!
We have also tried the food which is so good we have been back several times since. It might be a Marstons pub but the chef certainly knows how to cook a steak. Best we've had in a long time and the chips are homemade from REAL potatoes brilliant! and excellent value
The bar can get a little noisy (people enjoying themselves!) but you can always go into the restaurant which is very pleasant and quiet. Recommended for families as well

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We visited the Labour in Vain after a days shopping at the nearby Merry Hill looking to relax and enjoy some nice food. We were certainly not disappointed, the staff and locals were all very friendly and the food was fantastic, not only was there a comprehensive menu but there was also a very good list of specials all at very reasonable prices. I would have to say probably one of the best pub meals I have had for many years. I am not one for going shopping but the next time my wife suggests going to Merry Hill I will not be complaining as I am looking forward to another fantastic meal at the Labour In Vain.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick1Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Labour In Vain also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Labour In Vain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing