We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for Sunday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The French Hen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stourbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The French Hen
Ranked #5 of 6 Stourbridge B&B and Inns
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Went for Sunday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hi recently had my Sunday Dinner here, The selection of foods is great from traditional roast dinners to baguettes so food for all!

I visited this restaurant with my brother and girl friend, we all had 2 courses for £12.95 or very close to that price, the service was great the quality of the food was even better and the portion of large with plenty of mixed vegetables to go with it.

After having such a great meal here and the location I will defiantly be making this a regular occurrence to the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollieboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    14
    22
    16
See reviews for
38
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

we go here every sunday, always welcomed by the staff who are very friendly. the food is delicious and you never have to wait long. well done adele and everyone who works there. nice garden n patio area to sit in, it gets the sun lovely. tables always kept clear of empty glasses. the staff go out their way to talk to you. always a pleasure to go there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacky2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I absolutely love the French Hen. The food is fantastic and the service is friendly and efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend to my friends and family. The meals are well priced and the portions ample. We're going back for Valentine's day ... can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckyharris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clent, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We booked a table for two families of four for Sunday lunch at 1.00pm. We initially struggled to get menus out of the staff who, despite there only been three other occupied tables, seemed very disinterested. Anyway we ordered and then waited, and waited and waited. One of our party managed to find the staff and was assured that our food was on the way. After 45 minutes of waiting our food arrived, well most of it, as they had "rewritten the order and missed off one meal" - we had to point this out to the staff who clearly could see one of us didn't have a meal. The main meals were OK but the vegetables had seen better days - one small side dish with carrots, beans and cabbage and then another with 3 boiled potatoes and what were once roast potatoes and possibly a parsnip. Burnt and oily. Staff were pleasant but so slow and lacking in interest. We remembered why it had been at least two years since we last went.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stourbridge hotels

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We visited on Christmas Eve having prebooked a table for 4pm; we wanted a table for 5pm but were told the kitchen was closed between 5pm and 6pm. I suspect a lot of people would rather have eaten at 5pm on Christmas Eve as when we left the bar was packed with people waiting for the kitchen to reopen. The menu available at 4pm was the lunch menu which had a good range of first & second courses at a set price for both. I had the garlic mushrooms starter and the mushrooms were the tastiest I have eaten for a long time, I could have had it for the main course as well! As it was I had ordered the prawn & smoked salmon salad and this was loaded with smoked salmon although the salad was over dressed as it had been smothered in a vinigarette dressing and also had marie rose sauce on the plate. My husband had the smoked salmon starter followed by steak which he regretted as the steak was nicely cooked but very chewy. My sister had goats cheese and black pudding starter, which she said went very well together, followed by ham salad. We were all too full for dessert. The meal cost around £40 for 3 of us so was very reasonably priced. The food came quickly and the service was very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
325 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

To get to The French Hen.
Visited recently to give a talk to a Rotary Group on MNDR & raising awareness and charity work.
Had dinner first in separate upstairs room, Quaint village pub with nice decor and very good service considering we were upstairs. Had very good French Onion soup, followed by good vegetable bake. Plenty of additional vegetables. Only observation if having a meal in the room upstairs, would be for the pub to provide if possible some warmers to keep the vegetables hot.
Overall good pub and service, and pleasant meal. Regards Gary
Gary Saunders

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband & I along with our small baby went along for a drink at the bar and decided to check out the food menu. We were seated quickly and although the restaurant wasn't particularly busy for a Thursday night, the staff were very efficient serving drinks to our table & taking our order. The food was served quickly again and one of the best starters we have both ever tasted. The main course arrived a little too quickly following the starters being taken away but the food was excellent but too much following the starter. The meat was very tender and all perfectly fresh. Will definitely be going back and taking others along. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourbridge
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hagley Hotel
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Bromsgrove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Hen

Property: The French Hen
Address: Bromsgrove Road | Clent, Stourbridge DY9 9PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Stourbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stourbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The French Hen Hotel Stourbridge
The French Hen Stourbridge, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing