We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a beautiful day out at Stourhead Gardens but as it was a Sunday evening we could not get a meal in the pub at Stourhead. A short drive soon found us in The George Inn , Mere and what a pleasant surprise. We only had food and drink but this was excellent quality and value for money with very pleasant staff. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    44
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
58
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Having originally booked into The Walnut Tree for 3 nights, after just 1 night there and having encountered MANY issues (raw food, cold water, dirty room), the owner relocated us to The George Inn.

Positives = the evening food in bar and at breakfast was good as was the service.

Negatives = VERY dated accommodation in room 2 and facing out onto main road which was noisy and busy throughout our entire stay. There seems no let up with the flow of traffic and the speed at which it comes through the town, during the night there were HGVs tearing past every 20 to 30 minutes. Having spent 1st July here, we had to have the windows open as it was so warm in the room, resulting in NO SLEEP for either myself or my wife.

The bed felt smaller than a double and was lumpy (not sure why a single was also in the room?). One kingsize would have better. No shower, just a hand-held over the bath. Toilet in bathroom but sink in bedroom!

No hairdryers in rooms, you have to ask for one from reception.

Would not recommend anyone stay here unless it's in a room at rear of pub, as the noise from road is dreadful. It was bad even with windows & secondary glazing closed to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyHollywoodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your feed back. As you pointed out The George was not your first choice of accommodation in Mere. The Walnut Tree’s accommodation is recently refurbished and modern.
We are an English Heritage; Grade II listed historic building in the centre of the small town of Mere. Our accommodation does not offer its self as 5*. We feel the rooms have character. The rooms are all different and have been converted to en-suite through the years. Room 2 we regard as a family room, which is why it has a standard size double and a single bed.
There are additional facilities such as hair dryers and a portable air conditioning unit, available on request.
There are times when the road through the town is noisy which presumably why you choose to stay at the Walnut rather than us, but this is reflected in the price difference between us.

We do take onboard your opinions of our accommodation, but do feel that as you didn’t choose to stay with us and the Walnut Tree paid for all of you food and accommodation with us, by way of recompense and apology; your might have let your disappointment with the Walnut Tree, colour your opinion of our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just returned from our second lunch at this pub. After a very wet and windy walk around the nearby hills. Friendly staff, nice food, quick service and very reasonably priced. what more could you ask for - will return again. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were visiting Stourhead bust chose to have our lunch here, thus can only comment on the food offerings

There is parking, we had no problems but i guess it could be squeeze on busy days, but plenty of free on street parking

Staff were very friendly, and on out visit [Sunday lunchtime] there were two birthday parties in progress, but it all seemed to be in hand and not flustered

We only had a tuna sandwich, ham & cheese baguette & a bowl of chips, plus pint of beer & cafetiere of coffee but they were ample, in fact I never finished my baguette and some chips were left . All good value and not expensive

From what we saw of other meals they seemed to be generous portions, and all freshly made

I will certainly return if in area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We called for dinner recently at this quaint old village hostelry . It was charming and the staff were pleasant and helpful. We sat in the dining room which apart from us was empty,although it was only early evening.
Dinner was a battered fish platter to share for starters and it was excellent but my fillet steak presented as tournedos rossini and asked for med rare was cut thin,overcooked various shades of grey and tough.My wife had lamb and enjoyed it, inconsistant! yes. We both agreed that the mains had been waiting to come out of the kitchen for some time as the food was only warm not hot. Only average and quite expensive!

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A charming, 16th century inn with the appearance of being half timbered. Atmospheric, flagstoned bar area and lovely log fire. Some decent beers and bar food is fine. Hotel rooms are within the main building, up a thickly carpeted staircase and corridor (which masks any creaks from the old floor timbers). My room was pleasant, with a tiny ensuite shower room with barely room to turn around. Everything was clean although it lacked the little touches that make it homely (like tissues, selection of tea bags). Towels and bed linens were OK but pillows had definitely seen better days and were lumpy and uncomfortable. On the bed was the mattress from hell - the memory of which will stay with me for a long time. I sincerely hope they destroy it and replace it with a new one. It's such a shame, this would be a pleasant stay provided you get a decent mattress and night's sleep (which is, afterall, what you have paid for). Mere itself is a tiny village consisting of a couple of antique shops, chinese and Indian takeaways, Cooperative supermarket and fish & chip shop.

Room Tip: Check that you are not getting the mattress that was in Room 7 and that they have destroyed the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat_The_George_Mere, Tenant at The George Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Thank you for your positive comments about the charm of our grade two listed building and cleanliness. You will be please to know that the Hotel Cotract Mattress that we ordered three weeks ago have finally arrived and both the mattress and pillows have been replaced. The smaller rooms at the back on the building are generally quiter than the larger ones over the bar, but such is the way when a guest stays at a pub with rooms. We are aware of our short coming but hopefully some of these are conpensated by a friendly welcome; a cosy log fire (in the Winter) and our quality food at very reasonable prices for the area.

Pat Kearney, Landlord/current tenant, of The George Inn, Mere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I visited this inn for two nights in February as a base for visiting nearby friends. The restaurant food both at dinner (vegetable lasagne) and at breakfast (fried eggs and bacon) was excellent, and the staff and host were charming and friendly. Unfortunately, though my room (7) was quiet and warm, the decor was tired and the bed itself was a calamity - a rather lumpy mattress with springs on the verge of poking through particularly in the shoulder and chest area. Having said that, I did somehow merge comfortably with its curves and slept soundly enough - it's just a bit disturbing that this mattress has clearly been used by a frighteningly huge number of people and may be nearly as old as the inn itself!

Room Tip: Room 7 is quiet, but you may want to check the mattress before committing to this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mere
7.1 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Inn offers high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in 8 en suite letting rooms. Our meals are based on traditional British cuisine our Main menu offer Everything from sandwiches to Prime Steaks taking in items like Ham, Egg and Chips and Warm Seafood Platters to share, a long the way. We also offer a traditional, platted Sunday Lunch, using joints supplied by our local butchers. Food orders are taken at either side of the bar or by a waitress at your table. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Mere, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing