We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light lunch - great service and food”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Light lunch - great service and food”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stopped off and had the soup of the day: parsnip and apple. It came with a really really good hand baked (I guess) roll. The service was perfect - interested but not too pushy. Location is ideal, just off the A303. Well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_the_Bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    44
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
58
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, S Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just got back from a two night stay here. My wife and I, daughter and son in law decided to stay here so we could spend a full day at Longleat . What can I say that already hasn't been said. The inn hasn't got massive bedrooms or 33" Sky tv's , gymnasium or sauna, it hasn't even got a disco ! BUT it's a 500+ year old inn with Royal links to history. What it has got, is bags of charm, character and qualities such as real oak beams and ceilings that aren't even, the odd window that doesn't sit exactly straight. Doors that you have to bend down to go through and a magical staircase and landing that is uneven and creaks like a good old floor should. The inn is very clean and well decorated. Downstairs the breakfast room is excellent and the bar area with its slate floors and massive fireplace is more than welcoming. The rooms are big enough with very nice up to date en suites. The breakfasts and evening meals are real winners and lots of locally brewed ales and ciders. The staff are more than very nice and will serve you well. For a short or long stay I ask you, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnytone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Room:

Room 7. Freezing cold when we first walked in. The layout of the room is all wrong. The TV couldn't have been bigger than 10 inches & too far away from the bed, oddly positioned on a stand right outside the bathroom. The bathroom was up there with the worst i've ever been in! Tiny, worn & extremely dirty all around the carpeted floor & the tiles. The towel rail & tissue holder were broken off.. why on earth they haven't fixed that is beyond me! One of the curtains was also falling off.

Food:

We wanted to order duck but they didn't have enough but what we did have was of high quality for a quiet pub/B&B. There were excellent choices on the menu & other people's food looked really nice as well. However, it did feel like we were eating in a morgue. No ambience or atmosphere, especially for a Saturday night.
The breakfast options in the morning were good, the full English wasn't! The waitress had to balance the plate so that the big pile of grease/oil that had built up, wouldn't spill as she handed it to me. It amazes me how between the chef & the waitress, they thought that was acceptable.

Staff/service:

Nothing special. We definitely weren't made to feel at home. In fact we felt a bit awkward, like outsiders. Nobody asked us any questions like how our stay or food was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGodfooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We clearly failed meet any of your expectations on this occasion, and for that I apologise. By way of explanation I would like to say that the George Inn, Mere is a historic Grade II listed building, which originally intended as an Inn, has only had its letting rooms converted to en suite in recent years. We have only been tenants here for a relatively short while and we are plan so major refurbishments to bring our accommodation up to standards expected by modern day travellers, however we do feel the modest rates we charge reflect standards that we would normally hop to achieve. We taken note of all of your comments and rest assured, practices have improved as a result of your comments. Thank you for taking the time and effort to draw these issues to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Always good to stay in a place where the floors aren't all even! Friendly staff and great food. Thoroughly recommend the slow roast pork belly - the crackling was crisp but not tooth-cracking. And then, after a good night's sleep there's a huge breakfast. I opted for poached eggs on toast as the full 'Country Breakfast' looked enormous and, sadly, I had to go off to work. For a small place, Mere has a couple of attractions so well worth a stop over if you're heading east or west.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The George was recommended by our campsite owner (Eric) as the place to eat well locally and we were very glad he did. Our meal last Saturday evening was both good value and delicious. Proper English food perfectly cooked, a triumph, thankyou!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I just stayed at the George it was all great bar 1 thing well one person really but I get 2 that in a bit.we only stayed for a few nights the room was clean and tidy.the food was great.and all the staff bar 1 was warm and welcome and kind but 1 person behind the bar was very rude,moody.she just chucked our drinks and change at us.and keep giving us evil looks all night which made me and my girlfriend un easy all night.we would love 2 go back and stay but we won't as long as she there.and we will make every 1 know about her rudest.if any of u do go there beware she is the girl who is big that's all I say.hope this helps u

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martins4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting friends and had a great stay. We arrived early but no problem our room was ready. The shower was hot, the bed was comfortable and the building had lots of charm. We decided to have our evening meal in the pub and the food and service was really good and good value. The breakfast the next day was the icing on the cake had the full English and lets just say I did not need lunch. Thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: Good location 2 mins of the A303 great little village (visit the old church)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments we hope you will recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mere
7.1 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Inn offers high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in 8 en suite letting rooms. Our meals are based on traditional British cuisine our Main menu offer Everything from sandwiches to Prime Steaks taking in items like Ham, Egg and Chips and Warm Seafood Platters to share, a long the way. We also offer a traditional, platted Sunday Lunch, using joints supplied by our local butchers. Food orders are taken at either side of the bar or by a waitress at your table. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Mere, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing