We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful buffet”

The Walnut Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Mere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have to congratulate the walnut tree for providing first class refreshment today for a family funeral.
The service was first class - particularly the bar manageress who was so very attentative to everyone's needs.
Food was presented beautifully and delicious too.
My husband and I have had the pleasure of eating there many times and always enjoyed our meals but this was completely different and just as good.
Thank you

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    113
    22
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice country pub. Lovely modern room. Very clean. Liked the atmosphere too .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely unassuming country pub. The family room is great. Clean with all modern facilities. Dinner and breakfast was of a good quality. Would recommend this as a great value stay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holiguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanwell middx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Excellent"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. The accommodation was excellent. The food in the restaurant was first class. Mark, Samantha and their team should be proud. We shall defiantly be staying later in the year and would recommend the Walnut Tree to our friends.
John & Denise Norman

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pre mothering sunday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

1st visit. Lovely calming atmosphere in the restaurant, friendly staff. Shame so many tables reserved on our arrivel at 12:30 as only a choice of two twos or a six or the bench tables outside. Read reviews that the vegetables were hard and the responce that the chef had been advised. Vegetables were hard today difficult for family members with plates. Do plan to return later in the year.

Helpful?
Thank SonjieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Tuesday eventing for our daughters 16th birthday.
We couldn't fault it, the food was excellent and the portions were massive, the staff were attentive and very friendly and at £200 for 12 people you can't fault it.
This is the 2nd time we have been and will be returning again.
Fantastic place and worth seeking out.

Helpful?
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walnut Tree Inn also viewed

Ibberton, Dorset
Sturminster Newton, Dorset
 

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing