We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Lovely beds, lovely lady, the best breakfast EVER!”
Review of Castleton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castleton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Lovely beds, lovely lady, the best breakfast EVER!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Thank you so much for your hospitality. The bread you make is unbeatable, your homemade jam I bought was delightful, you made us feel right at home and the thing that still stands out is the breakfast! I don't think I'll find a better one again, big statement I know, but I certainly mean it. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
89
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Easy to find. Very welcoming. Beautiful house with excellent facilities. The little extra touches were very much appreciated. Delicious breakfast with so much to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We loved everything about Castleton House. The village is delightful with nice places to eat and small shops. We stayed as a family for our son's wedding, Gail couldn't have been kinder. The breakfasts were delicious, particularly the Eggs Benedict! Highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Gail is a very friendly lady and assisted me with information about the area both before I arrived and during my two night stay. I loved my room it was very tastefully furnished and the bed very comfortable. Tea, coffee and milk were provided in the room. The upstairs sitting room was available for relaxing. Breakfast was served in the downstairs dining room. I would recommend this B and B to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The owner of the hotel Gail is a lovely lady, very friendly and helpful. The B&B is best quality, you even have your private drawing room for evening chill out. We highly recommend this place and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked both rooms for 3 nights. Gail surprised us each morning with some specials for breakfast - comment from Laura: Gail's sausages are the best in whole England!

The rooms were really nice and clean. Gail was really helpful and provided us with a lot of information about tours and the local pubs and restaurants.

Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fam_SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingham, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The room was really nice for our family.
Appreciated the guidance about where to eat in the village that night and for planning the next day at Bath.
Breakfast was excellent and the whole experience was a delightful introduction to England.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mere
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
257 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#14 of 24 in Warminster
96 reviews
2.2 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton House

Property: Castleton House
Address: Castleton House Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleton House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castleton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton House Mere, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing