We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John and Jude”
Review of Castleton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castleton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“John and Jude”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Like some of the previous reviewers we picked Castleton house as it was near to Longleat.

That is only half of the storey however, the accommodation is certainly luxurious and the welcome walm and friendly.

The village of Mere has much to offer and having “parked –up” a stroll around the wonderfully maintained village is a must and there are plenty of god quality pubs and restaurants to “sample”.

In close proximity plenty of walks and designated bicycle pathways, we were well impressed with the “whole package” and will return, again,.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
81
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Would recommend Castleton House to anyone looking for very friendly and comfortable accommodation in the middle of the very lovely Mere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We used Castleton House as an overnight stay on our way to Centre Parcs, Longleat. The welcome was warm, the house stunning and the breakfast wonderful! Would have loved to stay longer and would definitely recommend to anybody travelling to the south-west!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drusimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed one night in Castleton House as we were researching family history in the area. Very welcoming, close to all amenities with parking outside. Lovely clean room and large bathroom, plenty of tea and coffee and fresh milk

The breakfast was fantastic, home made preserves with fresh wholemeal bread and home grown rhubarb.

Gail and her husband were great hosts and I will not hesitate to stay there again and highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber63Rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was our second visit to Castleton House B&B. Mere is a charming quiet little town with ample road parking, pubs and restaurants and a great base to explore in and around Wiltshire.
We stayed in the twin room which was very clean, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. A big thank you to Gail, an amazing hostess, so welcoming and friendly, her vast knowledge of the area and helpfulness was greatly appreciated and her breakfasts were out of this world- a great variety, of a high quality and cooked to perfection. This B&B always exceeds our expectations and we will be visiting again in the future!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a "weekend away" for 2 nights. Just fabulous, clean and comfortable room (we had the double) - powerful shower, a fridge and everything you need in the room to enjoy a wine or beer of your own - tea & coffee are supplied - well stocked mini supermarket 3 minutes away if you need it. Suitable sized TV. Comfortable and large double bed.

There is a wonderful large lounge on the same level as our bedroom which we were told we could use as well - looked great but did not use it as we had no time too.

Easy on road parking (for us right outside the door), and the road is not busy at all (at the weekend anyway !).

Gail gives super advise on where to go to eat and how to explore the local area.

And as others have mentioned - just a super breakfast with everything done perfectly. We threatened to move in :)..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Caselton House in Mere Wiltshire. This is our second visit to the area and this B&B made us feel at home once again. Our host Gail was very efficient, kind and friendly. She was very knowledged about the area giving us all the necessary information where to go and eat. Our room was clean ,comfortable, and tastefully decorated.
Breakfast was truly fantastic, in fact it was an indulgent with lots of choices from freshly made bread to a homemade rhubarb compote and amazing scrumbled eggs with smoked salmon. We visited the nearby town Sherborne with its attractive and great variety of shops. We think Mere is the perfect place to stay and explore the beautiful towns and villages of Wiltshire ,Somerset and Dorset.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mere
7.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.2 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stourhead Gardens B & B
Stourhead Gardens B & B
#2 of 2 in Stourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton House

Property: Castleton House
Address: Castleton House Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleton House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castleton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton House Mere, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing