We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in Mere”
Review of Castleton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castleton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Mere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

my stay was too short but Castleton House was the perfect place to choose. The location was great- in the heart of Mere, and a warm welcome awaited my family and me. I would highly recommend it for comfort, friendliness and cleanliness. We had a hearty home cooked breakfast.and were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. .. . .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. Particularly nice to have something written up during my quieter months in the winter.

With best wishes for the New Year - Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

A visit to Stourhead Gardens is always a wonderful experience,but together with a one night stay at Castelton House made it a truly complete day. Gail was extremely attentive and the breakfast was unbelievable Home from home does not do it justice and we were made to feel special. We will return again in the spring and will be recommending Castelton to our friends and family,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Mike and Muriel,
Wow, your review went up so quickly. Thank you very much for all your kind comments. Did you make it to The Tropical Gardens at Abbotsbury? Hope you had a good journey home whatever route you took.
Best wishes, Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In September I enjoyed one night staying at Castleton House. Peter and Gail were very welcoming and provided local information. The breakfast was fantastic, and the rooms beautiful and comfortable.

Very recommendable with personal attention to everybody staying.Perfect location to visit Stourhead and Longleat.

Best wishes, Tina

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Tina,
Thanks so much for writing a lovely review for us. It was good to meet you and I hope the rest of your trip to the UK went well.
Perhaps see you again when you're next in the area.
Best wishes, Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I and a couple of friends enjoyed one night staying at this lovely home in an excellent location. We were made most welcome with secure storage provided for bikes. Rooms bright, spotless and well equipped with good bathroom and shower room. Nice touches such as fresh milk in the mini fridge. Good linen and pillows. Delicious breakfast even when all ordering
different eggs. Gail, our hostess, was charming and most informative and helpful with information on local attractions and bike routes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review Valerie. It was great to meet the four of you and I'm glad you enjoyed your just down the road at the Bell and Crown in Zeals.
Hope the men managed to get to Poole on their bikes and you enjoyed your day at Stourhead.
Best wishes, Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a really comfortable one night stay at Castletown house en route to Stourhead...it's very easy to get to from the house.
Gail was welcoming (despite our late arrival) and could not have made our stay more comfortable. The room and en suite bathroom were comfortable and clean and we also had use of a beautiful sitting room.
The breakfast menu was amazing and even impressed my two teenaged children (!)...I had scrambled eggs cooked to perfection with added smoked salmon too!!!
Gail knows the local area really well and provided us with helpful information and directions.
I wold thoroughly recommend Castleton House to anyone travelling that way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thanks for writing this lovely review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was nice to meet you and the children, I hope you enjoyed your time at Stourhead and then seeing your friends in Wells and Ilminster. Best wishes to you all - Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On our motorbike tour through the UK, we managed to find this gem by accident. The location is great for a visit to Stonehenge or on your way to Cornwall from the mainland.

We were welcomed with open arms and the room was just stunning! Very big room with a couch, chair and bathroom en-suite. Also very big and comfortable bed.The owner gave us great advice for a nice walk up a hill very close by, which had a great view in all directions. She made us feel really at home and at breakfast we had a very nice talk.

Great value and very nice location in the very centre of Mere, with several choices of good restaurants close by as well. Only 2 rooms so a real B&B with personal attention to the customers, no small hotel or anything.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi Rob and Tyce,
Thanks for this great review and it was lovely to meet you too. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip and how was the Dartmoor Inn? Best wishes to you both and hope to see you again when you're next over.
Best wishes, Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A lovely home in a pretty location, Gail was an easy-going host who made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was a delight with local apple juice, fruits fresh from the garden and home-made bread plus wonderful cooked breakfast, all enjoyed in Gail's charming dining room. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. A very good location with ample parking just outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbut2t, Owner at Castleton House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review Sharon. It was lovely to meet you both and its great to know you found the bed so comfortable and that you enjoyed the home grown raspberries for breakfast. Best wishes to you both, Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Castleton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton House

Address: Castleton House Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range: £84 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleton House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castleton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton House Mere, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing