We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowany Cottier Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were very lucky to have the front bedroom, the views of the bay were stunning. The room was immaculately decorated and furnished. Rowany Cottier has everything you could wish for. The house is well positioned with plenty of parking, tastefully decorated, marvellous breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Mr and Mrs Keggin are very good hosts. We had to leave very early in the morning to catch the first ferry of the day and Heather had provided a lovely breakfast tray for us complete with snacks for the journey. They really deserve all of those stars.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms have beautiful views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday in the Isle of Man and we want to share our experience of staying at the Rowany Cottier in Port Erin.
This is our 4th visit and we can't recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough.Rowany Cottier is situated across from Bradda Glen and looks down to the bay of Port Erin with the Calf of Man in the distance.The view is magnificent.
The bedrooms have tea making facilities ,TV, en-suite and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast is served from 8.30 to 9.15 in the breakfast room with a sea view. The tables are covered with white linen tablecloths and white tableware .The breakfast choice is extensive. fruit juice,porridge,cereals various fruits including rhubarb and yogurt. Smoked Haddock or Manx Kippers can be ordered for the next day. Eggs can be poached scrambled or you can have an omelettte and everything is freshly cooked in the morning.We chose the full cooked breakfast and toast made from home made bread.
Heather and John Keggin are the owners - Heather is a warm and friendly host and has a wealth of information about the island .She can also give a good weather forecast ! .
John cooks the delicious breakfasts and tends the lovely garden.
We brought our car across and there is plenty of parking. Wi-Fi is available on request.
We are already looking forward to returning next year and we would not stay anywhere else as Rowany Cottier offers the ideal relaxing atmosphere to have a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: All the rooms are finished to a high standard and are quiet - we prefer a sea view so we opt for tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our room (a twin on the ground floor) was spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated with lots of paintings. There is a guest lounge and separate breakfast room with immaculate linen tablecloths and quality tableware.

Most important of all the owner, Heather Keggin, is extremely affable and helpful and her breakfast offering is superb, with one of the best cooked breakfasts you'll get anywhere.

It is not surprising that this B&B has earned so many favourable reviews on Trip Adviser and we can do nothing but follow suit.

No wi-fi (although for some that may be a blessing!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our 3rd visit to Rowany Cottier and the standard remains as high as ever. Everything about it is top quality. Set in a prime position overlooking the bay with beautiful views, the bedrooms are spacious and immaculate, the breakfasts varied and delicious and our hosts warm and friendly.
The Isle of Man is a great place to visit and Port Erin the jewel in the crown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The accommodation is kept in excellent order, the rooms are very spacious and the food was great. A special touch was all the silverware at breakfast from ocean liners. In a commanding position overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywandererSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mael-Carhaix, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I brought my elderly father on a trip to the Isle of Man and we chose to stay for 3 nights at the Rowany Cottier guesthouse, based on the favourable Trip Advisor reviews. What a good decision. We had a large twin room at the front of the house overlooking the bay and the Calf of Man in the distance. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom well equipped with bath and shower, plenty of tea/coffee supplies as well as toiletries. Everywhere was spotless and well maintained. The breakfasts were delicious and generous - full cooked breakfast the first morning, local kippers the second then smoked haddock with poached egg the third. The landlady (Heather) was very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at this lovely B&B for three nights and wished it could have been more. It was spotlessly clean, really clean. Everything was top quality. Lovely large rooms and bathrooms. Beds were so comfy. Cracking breakfast and the kippers were wonderful. Heather was a lovely lady, never met her husband, but he is a great breakfast maker! On site parking which makes a huge difference in the sea side towns. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeryHappyStayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.0 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#1 of 10 in Port Erin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowany Cottier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowany Cottier Guest House

Property: Rowany Cottier Guest House
Address: Spaldrick, Port Erin
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rowany Cottier Guest House Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing