We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Isle of Man”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Erin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 10 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit to Isle of Man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had always wanted to visit the Isle of Man and after reading previous reviews, booked for a 5-night break at Mont-y-Mer. We found it more than lived up to what we had read - David and Susan were welcoming and friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Lovely, well-loved home - the room was very homely and comfortable with a fantastic view of the bay - needs to be seen to be truly appreciated! Breakfast was superb - nothing too much trouble, and do try the kippers! Only disappointment was that the recent snow had put the electric mountain train out of action, so look forward to a return visit and stay at the Mont-y-Mer again - cant wait!
Joy & Steve, Hornchurch, Essex

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The weather wasn't exactly what we would have wished but Mont-y-mer was everything we could have hoped for! Wonderful view from our bedroom window of the bay, beautifully furnished and decorated rooms, excellent food, and an extremely warm welcome. Superbly convenient for restaurants, pubs, beach, steam railway, cliff walks, shops. Loved it!

Room Tip: There is one room which has windows on three sides with excellent views on every side of the bay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistermond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We visited Port Erin to celebrate a family birthday and were really pleased to stay at Mont-y-mer. Everything said previously is spot on, the place was superb, and David & Susan could not do enough for us. They even got the sun to shine for 5 days! The sea view from the bedroom was wonderful and the breakfasts were probably the best we have ever had! We will certainly return there when we visit the Isle of Man again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard-Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mont-y-Mer B & B for a week in the summer. The accommodation was fabulous. Woke up every morning to a beautiful ocean view. The hosts David and Susan could not do enough for us. Breakfast in the morning was anything from fesh fruit and cereal to full English breakfast! Room was modern and very clean. The location is literally a 2 minute walk to the beach and pubs. Easy transit to Douglas. Fantastic walkways/paths along the ocean. My husband and I have never walked so much and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! I highly recommend the Mont-y-Mer! Brian and Moya Bailey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank Moya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I spent a few days at Mont Y Mer in Port Erin this summer and it was absolutly delightful. Not only did we chose one of the prettiest places to stay on the Ilse of Man, Port Erin B@B was amazing. Every morning we woke up to see the ocean through our window and then went down stairs to one of the best breakfasts we have had in years. From fresh fruit and cereals to hot cooked English breakfasts or tasty Manx kippers nothing was too much trouble for the owners Susan and David.
Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a modern ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee and fresh towels daily. Without a doubt one of the best B@Bs we have stayed in.
Thank You Susan and David we will certainly be returning.
Two very satisfied customers from Canada

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louisepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

A beautiful home with lovely furnishings, all first rate. The property is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood just five minutes walk from good restaurants, the beach, shops, and the bus and steam train stations.

Port Erin is a gem. There are spectacular hiking opportunities in several directions: A Neolithic stone circle, Cregneash national folk museum village, the sound between the Calf of Man, The Chasms, Milner Tower, Bradda Head, the coastal path… The hosts are avid hikers and possess a wealth of information. The hosts had thoroughly researched some local features that we had casually mentioned before we arrived.

We did not rent a car and did not suffer. The host will transport you from/to the ferry terminal or airport. He also has information on lower cost car rental options than what you will find on the internet.

The only problem we had on our trip was no fault of the B & B. When we departed the airport was closed due to “bad weather”; it is not instrumented for landings other than Visual Flight Rules. When we finally took off for Dublin, the last flights to the USA had left Dublin. The “bad weather” would not have interrupted operations at any other commercial airport I am familiar with. Use the ferry only.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_mesick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We received helpful instructions about travel from Douglas to Port Erin and the location of Mont-y-Mer and a very friendly welcome when we arrived. Our comfortable room had a fabulous view of the bay. The breakfasts were excellent including a very early breakfast on the last morning enabling us to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kronah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.0 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#1 of 10 in Port Erin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Erin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Erin Bed & Breakfast

Property: Port Erin Bed & Breakfast
Address: Mont y Mer St. Georges Crescent, St Georges Crescent, Port Erin IM9 6HR
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Port Erin Beach with panoramic views over Bradda head. Port Erin Bed & Breakfast is a detached house surrounded by its own gardens with ample off street parking. We are only a few minutes from Port Erin village with its steam railway, buses, shops,& golf course. The Calf of Man can be reached from the harbour in summer which offers peace,tranquillity & bird watching, If you like walking their is a network of coastal & inland footpaths to explore. We offer two en-suite bedrooms with double beds with all the usual facilities including WI-FI. An excellent breakfast is served in the guest dinning room using the best Manx produce, the dinning room has views over the beach & Bradda Head. Sorry we cannot accept pets & are a non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Erin Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing