We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at this little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay at this little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed with Eric an Barbara for the Port Erin Bay Swim. The B&B was comfy, clean, great breakfast . I was travelling alone and was made to feel very welcome , by Barbara and Eric and the other guests. Will defo stay here again Thanks again xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIMRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thankyou for your kind review,we hope to see you again sometime in the future.
kind regards Eric and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tandragee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a lovely visit to I.OM. in May and found West Lodge to be a good clean and friendly place to stay. Eric and Barbara were excellent hosts. The lodge is well situated close to both bus stops and train station. The food provided for breakfast was very good and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Thankyou for your good review it is nice to know when people leave that they have enjoyed there stay with us.
kind regards barbaar and eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

You got a lovely Welkom .eric and Barbara ,waiting at door.coffe and home made scones.sooooo nice.this please is very homely.had the best sleep for a long time.port Erin is so lovely.thank you to the drinkwater.i would stay here again

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments about my scones you will have to come back for more
Barbara and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the week leading up to the TT. We chose the place because of the pretty town and although Port Erin is a little way out of the biking mayhem, the B&B is within walking distance of several pubs. This is good news if you want to park your bike up for the night and fancy a quiet pint (or a lively one).

There is also a very good chippy just down the road and (though the weather wasn't up to it for us) a beach within walking distance.

The rooms were well kept, with comfortable beds. There are no en suite bathrooms, which can lead to morning and evening "rush hours".

There is no tv in the bedrooms, but there is one in the sitting room. There you will also find coffee and tea with delicious cake.

The breakfasts were generous, a little too generous for some.

What really made the stay memorable though was the extremely welcoming attitude of Barbara and Eric. They couldn't have been more helpful: offering to collect us if we got stuck (due to a bus strike), drying our "water proofs" and helping up find food when we returned late one evening.

We'd wholeheartedly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infogirl875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thankyou for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed your time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just back from my second stay at West Lodge, and it was a real struggle to tear myself away. Always a fantastic welcome in a lovely big old house. A bit draughty in November but plenty of bedding and hot water bottles on offer. Very quiet location (though the beach and shops are a short walk) makes for an excellent night's sleep, and there's always freshly-baked cakes available, and an excellent breakfast. Better value is not to be had on the Island. I can't wait to go back, Eric and Barbara have become good friends to us.

Room Tip: To be honest they're all nice, but the double is extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyroo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thankyou for your kind review hope to see you again .Eric and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Just returned from another weekend at the West Lodge and as always i was very well looked after. Breakfast always great, room clean and tidy, always plenty of hot water in the bathroom. Eric and Barbara are very friendly and it is always a joy to come back.

Room Tip: I am not sure how many rooms have an unsuite so check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andymanpart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Sorry for not responing sooner but only getting myself updated with trip advisor,Thankyou for your kind words Eri and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Four of us stayed with Eric and Barbara at the West Lodge B & B in Port Erin during the Manx GP week. The rooms are basic and no en suite but the house was clean and we had a very pleasant stay. The breakfasts were very good, you wanted for nothing and nothing was too much trouble, we got off the IOM ferry and arrived at West Lodge around 7am on a Sunday and were immediately welcomed with a big breakfast. Its not like a 4 star hotel but its good cheap clean and welcoming. The location is also very good, a short walk to the town centre with buses and a the train station (Steam). If we go back to the IOM again we will definately try and book the West Logde in Port Erin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.0 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#1 of 10 in Port Erin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge B&B

Property: West Lodge B&B
Address: West Lodge Castletown Road, Port Erin Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6BD
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run B and B.We aim to make your stay enjoyable and help you when ever we can.We are both Manx and know the I O M well.We provide a cooked breakfast and home made cakes in the evening We charge from £25 per night for stays over 4 nights and £30 for short stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Lodge B&B Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing