We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience”
Review of The Arches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we recently stayed at the arches, Port Erin, Isle of Man. the accomodation and food was out of this world and Phil and Jill are fantastic hosts. We stayed in the green room, and loved the fact we could sit and watch telly from the jaccuzzi bath. The electric beds just added to the comfort. can not wait to go back. Mike B.

Room Tip: all rooms looked fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 122 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had seen the photos on the website, but they do not do the Arches justice, it's somewhere you need to visit and see for yourself to fully appreciate how much time, effort and money has gone in to this place. We were made to feel very welcome by Phil & Jill who treated you as friends rather than customers. The facilities throughout the house are top notch, you won't get anywhere else on the Island like it, the bedrooms are lovely (especially the blue room) and you could easily stay in your room, but the spa and living room area are just as amazing. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi are lovely and relaxing with a fantastic view. The Living room is very unique, with lovely views, comfy sitting area and relaxing lighting. There are so many lovely little touches throughout the house that stood out, like the lighting and radio and music controls built in to the walls which make the place different to anywhere else you will visit on the Island. Jill's cooking was fantastic as well, lovely food and all home made and at a very good price. It's just a fantastic place to stay and very reasonable prices. We are lucky that Phil & Jill share their home with others as it's such a beautiful place it would be a shame for others not to enjoy and see it. We are definitely coming back to stay in a few months time, cannot speak highly enough of our experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hi,
Thanks for a great review! sorry it took so long to respond, (we are fairly new to this, only just found out how to respond) so happy you enjoyed your stay so much, hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you're not made to feel like a guest, more like a friend. The rooms are spacious, perfectly thought out and decor is off a very high standard. Among the facilities on offer are a gym, pool and jacuzzi as well as an amazing lounge area with access to the curved balconies giving fantastic views of Port Erin. The Blue Room was extremely comfortable with a bed that you won't want to move from, but two things that will definitely shift you are the HUGE spa bath on the mezzanine floor and Jills cooking, a fantastic menu for both evening meals and breakfast covering all tastes, I would personally recommend the pork. As I said at the start both Phil and Jill make The Arches feel more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel, they are both excellent hosts and are proud of their establishment and rightly so given the time and effort that they have put in, definitely no corners cut. If the stars for this review could go to 10 that still wouldn't do the Arches justice. I must admit that I am a bit dubious about posting a review but that us purely down to the fact I don't want to find the Blue Room booked next time we want to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sinbadiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hi Andy,
Thanks for doing the review on here, sorry it took so long to acknowledge it, (didnt realize we could)
Glad you enjoyed the food and the house, hope to see you again soon.
Phil and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
12.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
250 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
8.4 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing