We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay and a local surprise!”
Review of The Arches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our one night stay was a little unusual as we only live a quarter of a mile away along the Bradda Road and walked there not sure what to expect. Wow, bed and breakfast doesn't do it justice but we did opt for the evening meal as well to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Phil and Jill were great hosts and made us feel comfortable straight away and on showing us around the property we realised just what an amazing spot and a great job they had done of the place. With the amazing views of Port Erin bay from the pool, bath in our room and living areas, including terrace, it made us feel as if we were hundreds of miles away even though we knew the location so well. Great hosts, fantastic food and ambiance and an amazing location, worth every penny!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room...and with the amazing bath upstairs with views it's a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hi,
Thanks for your reveiw glad you enjoyed celebrating you wedding anniversary here, we also think it is a great location and we are so lucky to live here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

And what a view, it was spectacular even though it was not the sunniest of days for our stay. It was special to be able to have such a nice relaxing swim in such a glorious setting, after a hot cycle ride from Laxey,. The room and food was up there with the best B & B's we have stayed in, and the facilities are impressive for a hotel, never mind a B & B. Thanks to Phil and Jill, who were very friendly, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

It was good to meet you, we know what its like to cycle all day! glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I heard about the Arches through word of mouth and I'm so glad I did.

Now I live on the island, so I think port erin nothing special there. How wrong could I be.

Phil and Jill and worked hard to create something special, out of this world and have paid attention to the detail. Well there hard work has paid off. I really regrett not being at the Arches as soon as we could check in. Wehther it's lounging on the terrence, enjoying a swim or having a heavenly nights sleep in this supersoft bed, you will need as much time here as possible to fully enjoy all the Arches has to offer.

My advice is to stop reading these reviews and experience the Arches for yourself.

Simon

Room Tip: There all different. Soo much so that I want to go back again and try a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We decided to book into the Arches after a colleague of my husband told him his wife had booked him into the arches for a 50th birthday.My initial reaction was why would someone want to stay in a B and B in the IOM as we live here and personally I prefer hotels.Amazed by the Arches website decided to book.What a amazing place Don't usually do my trip advisor reviews so soon but felt I needed to .This place is a gem on the Isle of Man - never imagined I would want to stay in a place in the IOM again and again but it was brilliant so planning to visit 3 times a year- Gill and Phil our hosts made us feel like family/ best friends and were brilliant .... now for more.

Our room- We booked into the Blue room a bargain at £125 per night plus your breakfast .The room was amazing - lovely and clean and has spectacular views over Port Erin plus you can see the Calf of Man so bring a Video camera to remember your trip.
Upstairs was our bath /Jacuzzi with complimentary bath salts /shampoo etc..
Provided were fluffy bathrobes and slippers like you get in a Sofitel great to walk down to the swimming pool.
In the room you were provided with tea coffee, hot chocolate and milk satchets plus a Cafitiere so you can make your own fresh coffee plus a real treat some little bars of chocloates!!!
Also had Aircon plus flat screen TV plus a I Pod Docking station..The balcony was lovely and the bed very comfortable

Food- Superb breakfast -you pre order on arrival.Jill makes her own bread which my husband
loved.Don't usually eat breakfast but asked if Jill could make me spicy scrambled egg it was lovely.

The Pool/Gym- Amazing .We were up at 6am no one there !!!By the pool there is a touch control music panel so you can select your music - amazing to have an infinity pool.You can use it up to 10 .30 pm.The Gym has a Sauna in it but we didn't use it .The Gym by the pool has a running machine, punch bad ,climatus and more, TV / music etc

Overall Opinion- the Arches is superb cannot wait to go back there in December for 2 nights.The owners are so friendly,charming and brilliant hosts.

Room Tip: The Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thanks for your very detailed and supportive comments. We do realise that people lead busy lives and so appreciate it when guests take the time to write a review. It also gives us a lot of encouragement to continue with our commitment to make The Arches a favourite destination for those who want to simply recharge their batteries and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A bit about me and my wife first. We are normal everyday people, with everyday jobs, earning everyday money. But when we go away we try our best to stay in as high a rated hotel as we can afford.
The arches, the area, the service, the ambience, the food, the quality, and Jill and phil are so far at the very top of our list of 5 star hotels that we've stayed in worldwide. And trust me when I say we've stayed in a few very big named hotels. When we go back to the Isle of Man it's a no brainer where we will stay if Jill and phil will have us back. Many thanks for a wonderful week in the lilac room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

One of the unexpected bonuses of opening up our home in this way is that we have the genuine pleasure of the company of a host of lively and interesting people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

i dont know how to begin to try and describe this absolutly fabulous place, we only stayed 1 night as a birthday surprise but the place is out of this world, the views are stunning so spectacular a fabulous way to wake up. the room was to a very high standard best nights sleep iv had for a long time, the pool is fantastic you feel like you are swimming in mid air across the bay, after a swim we relaxed in the luxurious robes provided with a glass of wine looking out across the bay.we chose an evening meal which was fabulous, Jill and Phil were fantastic hosts, so friendly and made us most welcome. a real gem of a place. cant wait till my next visit, when i shall be staying longer

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank manxjane363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Excellent we were made very welcome. Fantastic views across Port Erin Port St Mary and Castletown. Great food. Excellent standard of detail to rooms, all are unique. It is a very relaxing place to stay. The only place we have stayed where we could really relax in the guest lounge. Could look at the view all day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Out of this world ! A great compliment, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
12.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
250 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
8.4 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing