We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have never left a review for anywhere before but The Arches is just so incredible that I had to! The food is amazing (best queenies I've ever had), the whole place is so beautiful and if you have time try out the pool! feels like you are going to swim right into Port Erin bay. Phil and Jill are so friendly and very welcoming, I felt so sad to leave! Looking into coming back already.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It is a privilege to be able to stay at this extremely posh B&B. The owners have clearly spent a lot of money in enlarging and upgrading this property overlooking Port Erin - and when we say overlooking we in fact mean with the best view of the bay it is possible to have - but they have done so with love and good taste. The attention to detail really stands out, from the electrics to the carpentry to the tiling, and a lot of care has gone into the conversion of this house into the sort of up-market property most people only see in magazines.

It is for this reason that it is nice to be allowed to briefly share this vision and to be welcomed to do so by the owners, Jill & Phil, who run the operation themselves. Do remember to pack your swimwear, as guests are welcome to use the swimming pool. As indoor pools go, this one is amazing!

The problem though with anything 5* is that one expects standards to be high across the board, and if isn't then one's disappointment is all the more. So it was here with the food.

An evening meal was offered at £30 a head and, as it was our first night on the island and we didn't have our own transport (relying instead on the island's comprehensive and relatively cheap bus service), we thought we'd eat in, especially as it might be nice to chat to any other guests that might be dining.

Sadly neither the food nor the service matched up to the rest of the offer (sorry Jill!). If it was a dinner party with one's personal friends it would have been fine, but as a commercial enterprise it needs to be a slicker operation.

It was our first night on the island and our hosts knew we had been up since 4.45am, so we were pleased to be told when we dropped off our bags that we could eat at 7pm. We returned to base late afternoon and duly reported for dinner a little before 7pm, only to be told - as a throw-away remark with no explanation - that it would now be 8pm, which in the event drifted until 8.30 pm. This was neither considerate nor very professional, especially if done for personal convenience and/or to tie in with other guests (although trying to cater for eight people dining in two locations at the same time seemed to be a mistake in itself).

The second problem was that when dinner was eventually served my pâté starter was still in the freezer, despite having been confirmed in writing when making our reservation, so I had to make do with what I was given (which I would never have chosen).

Problem number three was that the food simply wasn't up to the standard we expected from other reports and given cost of the £30 a head. The queenies were overdone and lacked flavour (cf. those at Harbour Lights in Peel which were excellent); the lamb shank mains served at 9pm was dried up; and the vegetables a case of style over substance. To be fair the dessert was very nice, although the lateness of the hour rather put paid to the idea of trying to catch up on lost sleep!

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable although lacked the variety offered at the other two B&Bs that we used on this trip. We had to ask for yoghurt (and even then only strawberry was available); the only fruit on offer was a banana; and there was no option of wholemeal or brown bread (and although not our choice it has to be acknowledged that the white bread was actually very good).

We didn't see any point (or have the courage!) to complain about the evening meal at the time, but such issues shouldn't occur and, when they do, a fulsome apology is the least one would expect. Technical difficulties can and do arise and can be accepted if explained, but none was forthcoming (and as mentioned we don't think that was the reason here anyway).

To summarise, the accommodation itself is excellent and well deserving of 5 stars but, based on our experience (which may be untypical but is all we have to go on), the evening meal - expected to be a highlight - would only warrant 2 stars and seriously marred what was otherwise a very nice stay.

The good news is that there's nothing wrong here that the owners can't put right if they are minded to do so. We hope they will, which is why we've taken the time and trouble to set out these points in some detail. Phil and Jill are a lovely couple and in our view it would better to rein back if necessary on the catering front by simplifying their offer in the short-term if it helps to ensure they can cope, so that what they do offer is both high quality and consistent.

Incidentally, other dining opportunities are somewhat limited in Port Erin, and The Arches is a bit of a stiff climb up the hill from the town, so whether you decide to eat in or out we would recommend guests have their own transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What a special place! Booked a nights stay for our first year wedding anniversary and had amazing time. The views are fantastic and available nowhere else. The blue room was lovely with the amazing views continued from the large Jacuzzi bath. Jill is an amazing cook and you will be very well looked after. Such a special place for such a special occasion. Cannot recommend the Arches enough and cannot wait to go back. This will be a yearly treat for us. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want to see the amazing views including the Calf of Man from the bath chose the Blue room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Its so nice that our guests so clearly enjoy themselves. Thanks for your generous comments, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Erin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our one night stay was a little unusual as we only live a quarter of a mile away along the Bradda Road and walked there not sure what to expect. Wow, bed and breakfast doesn't do it justice but we did opt for the evening meal as well to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Phil and Jill were great hosts and made us feel comfortable straight away and on showing us around the property we realised just what an amazing spot and a great job they had done of the place. With the amazing views of Port Erin bay from the pool, bath in our room and living areas, including terrace, it made us feel as if we were hundreds of miles away even though we knew the location so well. Great hosts, fantastic food and ambiance and an amazing location, worth every penny!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room...and with the amazing bath upstairs with views it's a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alexiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi,
Thanks for your reveiw glad you enjoyed celebrating you wedding anniversary here, we also think it is a great location and we are so lucky to live here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

And what a view, it was spectacular even though it was not the sunniest of days for our stay. It was special to be able to have such a nice relaxing swim in such a glorious setting, after a hot cycle ride from Laxey,. The room and food was up there with the best B & B's we have stayed in, and the facilities are impressive for a hotel, never mind a B & B. Thanks to Phil and Jill, who were very friendly, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
It was good to meet you, we know what its like to cycle all day! glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I heard about the Arches through word of mouth and I'm so glad I did.

Now I live on the island, so I think port erin nothing special there. How wrong could I be.

Phil and Jill and worked hard to create something special, out of this world and have paid attention to the detail. Well there hard work has paid off. I really regrett not being at the Arches as soon as we could check in. Wehther it's lounging on the terrence, enjoying a swim or having a heavenly nights sleep in this supersoft bed, you will need as much time here as possible to fully enjoy all the Arches has to offer.

My advice is to stop reading these reviews and experience the Arches for yourself.

Simon

Room Tip: There all different. Soo much so that I want to go back again and try a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas IOM
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We decided to book into the Arches after a colleague of my husband told him his wife had booked him into the arches for a 50th birthday.My initial reaction was why would someone want to stay in a B and B in the IOM as we live here and personally I prefer hotels.Amazed by the Arches website decided to book.What a amazing place Don't usually do my trip advisor reviews so soon but felt I needed to .This place is a gem on the Isle of Man - never imagined I would want to stay in a place in the IOM again and again but it was brilliant so planning to visit 3 times a year- Gill and Phil our hosts made us feel like family/ best friends and were brilliant .... now for more.

Our room- We booked into the Blue room a bargain at £125 per night plus your breakfast .The room was amazing - lovely and clean and has spectacular views over Port Erin plus you can see the Calf of Man so bring a Video camera to remember your trip.
Upstairs was our bath /Jacuzzi with complimentary bath salts /shampoo etc..
Provided were fluffy bathrobes and slippers like you get in a Sofitel great to walk down to the swimming pool.
In the room you were provided with tea coffee, hot chocolate and milk satchets plus a Cafitiere so you can make your own fresh coffee plus a real treat some little bars of chocloates!!!
Also had Aircon plus flat screen TV plus a I Pod Docking station..The balcony was lovely and the bed very comfortable

Food- Superb breakfast -you pre order on arrival.Jill makes her own bread which my husband
loved.Don't usually eat breakfast but asked if Jill could make me spicy scrambled egg it was lovely.

The Pool/Gym- Amazing .We were up at 6am no one there !!!By the pool there is a touch control music panel so you can select your music - amazing to have an infinity pool.You can use it up to 10 .30 pm.The Gym has a Sauna in it but we didn't use it .The Gym by the pool has a running machine, punch bad ,climatus and more, TV / music etc

Overall Opinion- the Arches is superb cannot wait to go back there in December for 2 nights.The owners are so friendly,charming and brilliant hosts.

Room Tip: The Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for your very detailed and supportive comments. We do realise that people lead busy lives and so appreciate it when guests take the time to write a review. It also gives us a lot of encouragement to continue with our commitment to make The Arches a favourite destination for those who want to simply recharge their batteries and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
243 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
621 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
348 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Property: The Arches
Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing