We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beauty of this place is only matched by the hospitality of its hosts!”
Review of The Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The beauty of this place is only matched by the hospitality of its hosts!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here for four nights in July 2013 for our honeymoon, and what a good choice we made. We stayed in the blue room which came with a jacuzzi on a mezzanine overlooking Port Erin bay, though all rooms have roof top garden seating areas with views to die for. Bit of a pull up the hill if walking back from Port Erin but the effort is well worth it - in spades. Infinity pool, visitor lounge and garden area all beautifully done, as is the whole house, and yet we were made to feel as comfortable as in our own home. Gill and Phil are excellent hosts, very friendly, down to earth and eager to please. Lovely breakfast with home made breads and a choice of hot dishes as well as cereals and fruit etc. Unusual in that you share a large table with other guests for breakfast, albeit at a time of your own choosing. This felt a little strange at first, but we got to chat with fellow guests which actually added to our experience. Would recommend to anyone wanting to appreciate lovely surroundings, friendly conversation and a relaxed atmosphere, with the benefit of facilities you would not normally see in a B&B - more like a luxury spa really. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolnIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was our first trip to the island and we could not have wished for a better experience. Accommodation, hosts, location and food were first class. Phil and Jill are very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The views from the lounge were breathtaking - this is the ultimate place to chill out! Looking forward to making a return trip sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Waggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My title says it all, WOW, what a fantastic place to stay. From the moment we arrived Jill and Phil made us feel like friends arriving to stay with them in their beautiful house. We stayed in the green room which was very tastefully decorated with the same attention to detail as everywhere else in the house. We were brought tea and biscuits up to our balcony when we arrived and Phil kindly provided us with an electric wine cooler and glasses for us to drink our own wine while enjoying the fabulous views of Port Erin and Port St Mary in the distance.

The infinity swimming pool, which we had to ourselves, was amazing with those views again. There is also a sauna and jacuzzi which we didn't use. They even provide glasses for you to enjoy a drink, which was thoughtful and nice to enjoy a G&T on the lounger after a swim whilst listening to our own choice of music.

We had booked dinner with them as we thought Monday may be a quiet night in the bay. What a good choice we made! Jill had set our table in the lounge, again providing us with fantastic views of the bay. They invited us to bring our own wine which they kindly cooled for us on arrival. Being able to choose our own music from their excellent sound system with a wide choice of music was great and delighted my music mad husband! The food was excellent and beautifully presented by Jill. I've never tasted queenies before but they were delicious as was the slow cooked lamb that we both had. After our meal Phil recommended a nice walk along the headland to watch the sun setting. It was nice to relax in the luxury of the lounge on our return. We wouldn't normally use the lounge when staying in hotels or guest houses but this one is too good to miss.

I could go on writing as there is so much to complement them on, but overall I would say, if you want 5*luxury, with great hosts then don't waste your time looking at any other accommodation just book your stay at The Arches, you won't be disappointed. We were sorry we had only booked one night but will definitely come back to stay again. Thank you Jill and Phil, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: The Green Room was lovely with fantastic views over the bay which could be enjoyed from the small ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I couldn't recommend this place strongly enough - Phil and Jill 's "The Arches" was simply awesome. We stayed here for my nearby wedding (the night before best man and me, the night new wife and me!) and were astounded. Surprisingly affordable but with such stunning luxury simply no other place on the island can compete with. I hope this model of incredible service, incredible care, incredible price, and incredible luxury never changes because this was simply... well incredible! And we wish Jill and Phil all the best.

PS - do eat in if you can - home cooked by Jill it's like eating in a Michelin star restaurant! Awesome

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here in April for one night and we were amazed by the place. It is exactly what the island needs and if you want a special night then this is the place to go. Hosts were perfect, non intrusive and very friendly and the food was out of this world! Best meal by far on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LWsleofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have never left a review for anywhere before but The Arches is just so incredible that I had to! The food is amazing (best queenies I've ever had), the whole place is so beautiful and if you have time try out the pool! feels like you are going to swim right into Port Erin bay. Phil and Jill are so friendly and very welcoming, I felt so sad to leave! Looking into coming back already.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It is a privilege to be able to stay at this extremely posh B&B. The owners have clearly spent a lot of money in enlarging and upgrading this property overlooking Port Erin - and when we say overlooking we in fact mean with the best view of the bay it is possible to have - but they have done so with love and good taste. The attention to detail really stands out, from the electrics to the carpentry to the tiling, and a lot of care has gone into the conversion of this house into the sort of up-market property most people only see in magazines.

It is for this reason that it is nice to be allowed to briefly share this vision and to be welcomed to do so by the owners, Jill & Phil, who run the operation themselves. Do remember to pack your swimwear, as guests are welcome to use the swimming pool. As indoor pools go, this one is amazing!

The problem though with anything 5* is that one expects standards to be high across the board, and if isn't then one's disappointment is all the more. So it was here with the food.

An evening meal was offered at £30 a head and, as it was our first night on the island and we didn't have our own transport (relying instead on the island's comprehensive and relatively cheap bus service), we thought we'd eat in, especially as it might be nice to chat to any other guests that might be dining.

Sadly neither the food nor the service matched up to the rest of the offer (sorry Jill!). If it was a dinner party with one's personal friends it would have been fine, but as a commercial enterprise it needs to be a slicker operation.

It was our first night on the island and our hosts knew we had been up since 4.45am, so we were pleased to be told when we dropped off our bags that we could eat at 7pm. We returned to base late afternoon and duly reported for dinner a little before 7pm, only to be told - as a throw-away remark with no explanation - that it would now be 8pm, which in the event drifted until 8.30 pm. This was neither considerate nor very professional, especially if done for personal convenience and/or to tie in with other guests (although trying to cater for eight people dining in two locations at the same time seemed to be a mistake in itself).

The second problem was that when dinner was eventually served my pâté starter was still in the freezer, despite having been confirmed in writing when making our reservation, so I had to make do with what I was given (which I would never have chosen).

Problem number three was that the food simply wasn't up to the standard we expected from other reports and given cost of the £30 a head. The queenies were overdone and lacked flavour (cf. those at Harbour Lights in Peel which were excellent); the lamb shank mains served at 9pm was dried up; and the vegetables a case of style over substance. To be fair the dessert was very nice, although the lateness of the hour rather put paid to the idea of trying to catch up on lost sleep!

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable although lacked the variety offered at the other two B&Bs that we used on this trip. We had to ask for yoghurt (and even then only strawberry was available); the only fruit on offer was a banana; and there was no option of wholemeal or brown bread (and although not our choice it has to be acknowledged that the white bread was actually very good).

We didn't see any point (or have the courage!) to complain about the evening meal at the time, but such issues shouldn't occur and, when they do, a fulsome apology is the least one would expect. Technical difficulties can and do arise and can be accepted if explained, but none was forthcoming (and as mentioned we don't think that was the reason here anyway).

To summarise, the accommodation itself is excellent and well deserving of 5 stars but, based on our experience (which may be untypical but is all we have to go on), the evening meal - expected to be a highlight - would only warrant 2 stars and seriously marred what was otherwise a very nice stay.

The good news is that there's nothing wrong here that the owners can't put right if they are minded to do so. We hope they will, which is why we've taken the time and trouble to set out these points in some detail. Phil and Jill are a lovely couple and in our view it would better to rein back if necessary on the catering front by simplifying their offer in the short-term if it helps to ensure they can cope, so that what they do offer is both high quality and consistent.

Incidentally, other dining opportunities are somewhat limited in Port Erin, and The Arches is a bit of a stiff climb up the hill from the town, so whether you decide to eat in or out we would recommend guests have their own transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
242 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
12.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Property: The Arches
Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing