We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super-relaxed weekend break”
Review of The Arches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arches
Ranked #2 of 11 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at The Arches last weekend along with 6 other ladies. The goal was rest and recuperation and we certainly got that in spades! Being local to the Isle of Man we all had some knowledge of The Arches (and we've watched Four in a Bed!) but our expectations were blown out of the water on arrival. Pictures really don't do the facilities or views justice and it's clear that Phil and Jill have invested themselves heavily in creating a lovely place. Our hosts were very accommodating during our stay and we certainly didn't expect an upgrade to the Brown Suite, to be served breakfast in the sunshine or have the use of the downstairs fridge/kitchen - all of which helped to make our stay truly memorable.
If I had to give any constructive feedback it would be to enable the swimming pool doors to be opened onto the terrace as we felt this detracted from the beautiful pool when we had such great weather.
I understand that groups may be more challenging for the hosts (especially if there are also couples staying) but it really is a great venue for a get together so it's worth finding ways of accommodating everyone's needs and I certainly think that is possible.
All in all - a great asset to the Isle of Man and I've already recommended it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: The Twin is purely functional in comparison with the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IOMUnderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thanks for your great review. The issue with the sliding doors is a frustration for us as well. Although indoor swimming pools look simple when carefully maintained, the environmental control systems for treating the air by dehumidifying and keeping it to a very exact temperature are very sophisticated and difficult - a challenge to keep up to scratch. We still have a lot to learn ourselves as it is difficult to get expert help for such things on our island. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay it is so very important to us that our guests go away with lasting happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Like stepping into a different, tranquil, peaceful world. We just had 3 nights here and it was perfect. The owners couldn't do enough to help, facilities first class, bedroom (burgundy room) had it's own entrance and terrace, looking out over the bay. Lovely lounge area with fantastic views. At Breakfast there was plenty of choice, we sat outside over looking the bay - beautiful. Ensuite had everything you needed with plenty of shampoo, body lotion etc. Separate towels were provided for the pool/Jacuzzi area and robes and slippers were perfect for relaxing in the room or terrace. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulaandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for your very detailed review , much appreciated. We are really committed to ensuring that our part of a visitor's experience to Port Erin is as positive as possible and it is great to have such positive feedback. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently had a 4 day break at the Arches. Everything about the B & B was wonderful - the welcome from the owners and staff, the room, the pool, the breakfasts and the fantastic views. Highly recommended.

Peter B

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It is a great encouragement to us when people take the time to post on Trip Advisor, as running a B & B takes a lot of energy and enthusiasm. Such positive feedback helps to keep us going , and helps potential visitors in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Arches last week with two friends, the accomodation was excellent, the views wonderful and the service exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff. This is a real find and super place to visit and relax.give it a try!

Room Tip: All rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. There is a lot more to running a B & B than making beds and breakfasts ! Support of this kind from reviewers is helpful both to us and to potential guests . Thsnks again, and hope to see you soon . Phil & JIll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Premier accommodation. Clean, well appointed and run by staff who care. The obvious highlights are: the location overlooking the bay, the balcony for outside relaxing, the lounge, the pool table, and of course the large indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi. However the bedrooms are just as impressive and the en-suite facilities are luxurious and spotlessly clean; I like the way the owners and staff dress in 'uniform' - tops with 'The Arches' embroidered on them. The breakfasts are cooked to order and delicious. I found the owners to be very friendly, polite and most helpful with any request we put to them. They are justifibly proud of their guest home, it is amazing. It's a nice walk down the hill and back to the pubs and restaurants in Port Erin, If I need to pay for any future accommodation at the IOM I will look no further than this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your generous comments. It is always a pleasure to get positive feedback and for people to take the time out of a busy schedule to do so is much appreciated, Thanks, Phil & Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here in a group and we could not fault the accommodation or the beautiful views. However, the staff / owners of the property were very rude to us. During our evening meal, a tea light burnt a hole in the table cloth and they became angry and when we tried to explain we were informed that we could leave (a group of females, late at night with nowhere else to go). They confronted others in my group at breakfast the following morning - we paid for the table cloth and a table runner (that had some wax on it from a tea light). Please note that the owners put the tea lights on the table. They tried to make us pay for a grease mark on one of the napkins used at dinner and one of my party was told to take them home and try and wash them herself. We were also told that we 'eat like animals.' We paid an extra £7.50 per room for the table being set up and cleared (this was more than originally quoted and we were asked to pay even more than this at one point too). We cleared most of the table ourselves as we felt so uncomfortable. Most also felt too uncomfortable to go down for breakfast the following day. Check out was 11.30am but we left at 9.30am as we didn't feel comfortable being there any longer than necessary. A truly awful experience. I will never go back.

Room Tip: All rooms apart from the twin room are lovely. Customer service was terrible however, which took awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
64  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

This review relates to an episode of a number of young women at a hen party. We had been assured that as they were aged around forty it would not be a party, but a few drinks and a Chinese takeaway. Over ten bags of alcohol, and an ice making machine accompanied them together with several boxes off cocktails. We have photographs of this. We asked them to telephone their organizer to agree a revised price for the cover charge, bearing in mind the number of different types of glasses that they asked for, together with rooting through our cupboards to find even more than the forty glasses that we had put out on the table that we had laid with beautiful linen table cloths serviettes, runners etc. We also supplied tea candles in glass holders, which are safe. We then left them after taking photos at their request enjoying themselves on the guest terrace and in the pool. Two hours later we returned from a dinner out to be told that they had burned a hole in the table cloth with a red candle that had been supplied by the Chinese restaurant without a holder. They left this to burn down on the table, causing the table cloth to be burnt. We also have photographs of this. Some of group rounded on Jill when she mentioned she had been told it would be a QUIET hen night. They were rude , aggressive and Jill felt threatened. We offered them a full refund and a lift to wherever they wanted to go, as most of them were in no fit state to drive. They decided to stay and tone it down a bit. In the morning, those of them who were capable came down and had a swim and enjoyed a full breakfast. Their accusation that we were rude is truly ironic given their behaviour in our home. This morning I received an email that made a demand for money, or else the writer would talk to her contact in the Isle of Man Department of Tourism. I forwarded her email to the department so as to draw the sting of this defamatory and threatening statement. I think anyone who reads the other reviews will see that this is a blatant attempt to blacken our name by a competitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights in the Blue room. Phil & Jill were the perfect hosts from start to finish. The Blue room with its Spa bath on a mezzanine level with views over the bay was amazing.
The guest lounge and terrace was the perfect place to relax, and the infinity swimming pool with 180 degree views over the bay was just unbelievable. Breakfast choice was great, cereals, fruit, toast, kippers, and my choice full Manx fried breakfast and the wife’s choice eggs Benedict. All were perfect and tasted delicious. As well as Phil & Jill, the rest of the staff were first class with nothing to much trouble to any of them.
All in all the Arches is a first class establishment run by first class hosts & staff and well deserving of its 5 star status. We would highly recommend the Arches to everyone and will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, but the Blue room was special to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Consetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Apologies for taking a while to respond. You would honestly be amazed I suspect as to how much work goes into making The Arches a relaxing and peaceful place to stay. Thank you for your comments, they are really much appreciated. Phil & Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
12.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
12.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
665 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches

Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing