We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff extremly friendly and very helpfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff extremly friendly and very helpfull”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This is our 4th time in 4 years at the Cherry Orchard and had the privilage of my son and his partner who travelled all the way from Budapest to join us and sample the excellent service the Aparthotel has to offer.
Cherry Orchard does look like it needs refubishing but the staff certainly make up for making the cherry orchard someting special.
Jerry full of smiles morning and night making you stay feel friendly and welcome
Angela serving your apartment with cleaness on a daily basis emptying your bin and changing your towels all with a friendly smile.
Chef and his wife serving excelliant food and such a large menu you must try his fish superb.
And Jo on reception making sure your needs are fullfilled for you to enjoy your holiday
Overall the Cherry Orchard certainly ticks all the marks to make your holiday enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
21
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

First impressions weren't good as it looks like a slightly run down American motel and things didn't improve when we saw the dirty and well won sofa in the apartment and smelt the damp in the bedroom adjoining the bathroom.
Kitchen facilities were fine but the bathroom needed an extractor fan and the problem with being on the ground floor backing onto a well used pedestrian thoroughfare is that we didn't feel comfortable leaving the old,single glazed windows open and so were unable to air the apartment.
Presumably we weren't the only ones given the damp smell.
On the plus side apart from the sofa which desperately needed replacing the apartment was very clean and the daily fresh towels and bin emptying much appreciated.
And the swimming pool and jacuzzi were clean,quiet and very welcome indeed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the cherry orchard for 5 nights with 3 children, the hotel was spotless at all times, staff were friendly and curtious and the apartment was extremely well equipt for self catering, it had everything you could possibly need. We found the pool particularly useful and the children used it everyday. The only down points I would say is the living area in the apartment was very clinical, there was one sofa bed that seated two people, yet there were 5 of us so any relaxing was impossible as some of us had to sit on dining chairs in the evening. The bedrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, however, the windows were not very secure and needed updating, I had to pull the bed and the sofa away from the windows as I was worried my young children may mess and fall, probably better to put families with young children on the ground floor. The hotel allowed us a very early check in, 8 am! This was very helpful after a night ferry and no sleep. My partner had stayed at the cherry orchard as a teen and had visited for lunch many times since, he said we didn't have on of the best rooms, also we had no balcony, saying that, we were both very happy with the apartment for a self catering family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallycinnamon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights after negiotating a very favourable rate and we really couldnt fault it in absolutely any way. The apartment was spotless and our beds were very comfortable.
We were supplied with lovely fresh towels daily and bins emptied etc etc. We requested a quiet apartment and thats what we got with a lovely balcony.

Nothing whatsoever was too much trouble for the wonderful helpful staff and the location was ideal for us to tour the island........ There is a huge supermarket literally a stone throw away that stocks lots of Waitrose products as well as a branch of subway so handy for a quick lunch on the go. The steam train and buses are all so close and the sunset down on the beach was super to watch .

We had a great stay and a great base to tour the Island and we enjoyed returning to the hotel every night and relaxing in the pool which was nice and quiet . We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was very good. They have a laundry facility too so for £4.50 you can have a huge bag of clothes washed and dried as you are in the pool and jacuzzi relaxing.

Overall I give Cherry Orchard 110% in every aspect of what you'd expect for accommodation on holiday and what a beautiful breathtaking place Port Erin is .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBLESIDE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

To someone who had not visited the Isle of Man before they would probably find the way of life somewhat laid-back and this is reflected at the Cherry Orchard. The aparthotel was probably built in the 70's, is over three floors arranged over a Z shape and comprises of holiday lets/hotel, time share and private apartments. It has a restaurant/bar, pool area, games room and laundry. There are two lifts to the upper floors, several entrances and an adequate car park. Opposite the main entrance is the bus terminus and a hundred yards in each direction are the Steam Railway Station, a comprehensive supermarket, the local shops, pubs and cafes. The lovely beach area is a further hundred yards beyond. The apartment we had for 4 adults and 2 small children comprised of a main lounge/dining area with a bed/settee, one twin and one double bedroom, a bathroom and kitchen. Off the lounge area was a small balcony overlooking the street area. The apartment had been generally refitted/refurbished quite recently to a reasonable "Ikea style" standard. The kitchen which was compact but adequate, had been redesigned with new units and had almost every appliance needed for self-catering and was of decent quality. The bathroom had been similarly treated but lacked basic maintenance, had an over-bath tap shower which produced a poor drizzle (not thermostatic controlled) which was odd when the kitchen water pressure next door was good. The apartment is centrally heated and could be over-powering if left to its own devices. Basic maintenance (or lack off) is the main criticism. While the interior of the apartment had been subject to renewal the fabric of the building was in need of attention - apartment doors that slammed shut or would stick and with latches which didn't engage properly, windows that wouldn't open or close completely and were in need of relpacement, and an insecure door to the balcony. The apartment service comprised of daily bin emptying and replacement towels ( which were plentiful) when required. Any additional services were charged for. The pool area was good, had a graded L shaped pool with childrens slide, sauna and hot jacuzzi. The kids loved it. There is also a games room which was a shambles - broken or unusable equipment and furniture and used as a dumping room for what little visible maintenance was carried out. This was addressed to a small extent by the end of the week. Contrary to all this, the staff were very helpful, pleasant and obliging. We didn't use the restaurant but it appeared to have a reasonably priced and varied menu and others we spoke to had recommended it for quality, and service. In summary, not at all a bad place but just missing the Bulls Eye for want of a little more effort and attention. We have stayed (briefly) in much inferior accommodation on the Isle of Man and would generally recommend the Cherry Orchard for it's 3 star rating as long as you are prepared for the small idiosyncracies.

Room Tip: In hot weather when you may wish to leave the windows open at night, rooms to the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodley-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johstone renfrewshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just back from aweek at Cherry Orchard Apartments in Port Erin Isle of Man. There was myself, my wife, son and daughter-in-law, and grandchildren aged 9 and 6. Apartment was basic but very clean and tidy and more than adequate for our needs. The kids absolutely loved the pool as it was opened until 9pm. All the staff were so friendly and nice right down to the housekeepers. A special mention to Gerry the little Irishman behind the bar, he so friendly and great with the kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have been on the Island for the past 5 years and i am sorry to say i had never been to Cherry Orchard before, but after hearing two good reports from people at work, we decide we would go for Sunday Lunch.
Its a Cavary and it my opinion for Value fo money and food quality its the best on the Island. Food is all home made food, real roast potatoes, a nice of 5 different meats, loads of different vegetables.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenvine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.2 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
243 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
12.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
22.5 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
12.8 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 17 in Douglas
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Orchard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Orchard Apartments

Property: Cherry Orchard Apartments
Address: Bridson Street, Port Erin IM9 6AN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Self-catering Apartments in the small fishing village of Port Erin, Isle of Man. Swimming Pool, Fitness Room and Bar and Dining facilities. Free WiFi and parking. Steam Train and Bus services within yards of front door. Beach, pubs, restaurants, shops within walking distance. Ideal location for exploring the beautiful Isle of Man. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Cherry Orchard Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Orchard Aparthotel Hotel Port Erin
Cherry Orchard Apartments Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing