We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location but not very homely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My first trip to the Isle of Man the only place RCI offer was the cherry orchard apartments in port Erin location perfect bus and train station right outside apartments .going by pictures on web-side was not expecting great things ,luckily for me the weather was nice because the living room was like a dinning room no carpets just laminate type flooring and a small TV but I have to say apartment was very clean and functional ,staff very friendly ,there was also a swimming pool and a sauna which was fine apart from no shower cubicles so could not have a proper shower ,overall for my first visit cherry orchard apartments were ok but would no rush back to them but port Erin I'd lovely well worth a visit .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodneyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recently got back from a two week stay at the Cherry Orchard in a one bed timeshare apartment that we exchanged for. It's pleasant, basic but has everything you need and is a good base to explore the island. It's rated 3* and I'd say that's about right.

A one bed apartment with decent sized kitchen diner, balcony and bathroom. Spotlessly clean and well equipped, even though we were missing a frying pan off the inventory which took a couple of days to sort out. Bins and towels changed daily and bedding changed weekly. One gripe was that the duvet on the kingsize bed in the bedroom was only a double, so really wasn't big enough for the bed and didn't cover two people in bed, so one of us decamped to the sofa bed for the duration of the holiday to ensure we slept well with an appropriate covering of duvet.

The staff were super helpful and answered any questions and queries we had promptly and courteously. They even went above and beyond to get us booked in the Chequers restaurant Sunday Carvery on Easter Sunday although fully booked. The Carvery was delicious and worth the effort of booking.

The overall decorative state of the establishment was clean although a little dated and it could do with a bit of a revamp, particularly in the communal areas, but as said previously, it's spotlessly clean and tidy.

All in all a great place in a great location in Port Erin, with a supermarket across the road, the beach a 2 minute walk away and the step railway station at the end of the road with a central bus stop opposite too.

We had a wonderful holiday and I'd definitely go back to the Isle of Man, Port Erin and the Cherry Orchard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Welshtotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here last week, and found it to be an ideal location for the public transport we used. It was comfortable and clean, with good facilities. We especially appreciated the trouble they went to when we left behind some items, including medication. They contacted our family immediately, and when they realised we couldn`t return to collect them personally(we were still on the island), arranged for a very kind receptionist`s daughter to leave them over to the airport for us. Excellent service, for which we were very grateful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at the Cherry Orchard on a short family break, travelling with two teenagers and a younger child. The break was very good value for money and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly with bin emptying and fresh towels offered every day and no quibble when we needed to check out a bit late.The hotel is well situated close to the shops and the seafront and Port Erin is a small picturesque village. The only real criticism is one which has already been aired in other reveiws which is that the place is due for a bit of a facelift especially in the pool area and in relation to soft furnishings.
But still a very pleasant stay and we would certainly consider a return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I must stress first of all that this review is based on the pool/sauna facilities and not the accommodation.
It's a simple set up, small but adequate for a quick swim and sauna. However, it is let down dramatically by the tired and old fashioned changing rooms and decor. I noticed that the ceiling in one of the change rooms was flaking, water stained and dirty. The general cleanliness was questionable and the whole area needs bringing into the 21st century with a good clean and revamp.
The storage lockers by the poolside are inconvenient as you have to carry all of your belongings from the changing room through to the pool. This is a couple of walks back and forth if you have children with you and therefore a few items to carry.
These facilities could be so easily improved so it appears neglectful and lazy that they have not been. A shame.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PR78910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spacious apartment with 2 bedrooms.
Both Bedrooms had plenty of space and storage. One a Double and the other a twin bedroom. Good size kitchen / diner / sitting room. Bathroom was tight but had a full size bath and was perfectly adequate.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, facilitating us trying to print boarding passes for our return flight and minding our delivery of golf clubs in the office before we arrived.
The pool was a surprisingly large L shape. One leg of the L deep and suitable for the better swimmer, the other side with the slide suitable for children. Pool also had a jacuzzi and Sauna. The pool could have done with some natural light as it was quite dark, but again was clean and was perfectly adequate. The games room did seem as if it needed some maintenance, Table tennis net was torn and the fussball had bits of cardboard and what looked like some goo stuck to the surface internally.
We didn't use the restaurant but we found the bar staff were very friendly when we had a drink in the bar.

Overall you couldn't describe the Cherry Orchard as luxurious but it was clean and spacious with good staff and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shels4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I have just had a wonderful 2 weeks at the Cherry Orchard apartments. We last stayed at the Cherry Orchard in the 1980's when our 3 children were little and each year they loved their holidays and especially the swimming pool. We decided to call the Cherry and enquire about a holiday and Eunice very efficiently arranged everything for us. It was wonderful from the moment we entered the hotel and Eunice had stayed to welcome us to Gerry who helped with our luggage and to the friendly happy staff who couldn't do enough for us. We have just spent 2 of the happiest weeks ever. We have been holidaying abroad for years but this has outshone all of that. We hope to return to an Island that has remained the same. Thank You Cherry Orchard. Annie. Ray

Room Tip: Eunice sorted all of our requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.2 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
249 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
428 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
12.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
390 reviews
12.3 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Orchard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Orchard Apartments

Address: Bridson Street, Port Erin IM9 6AN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Port Erin
Price Range: £59 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Self-catering apartments in the heart of the village of Port Erin. Guests can enjoy Free WiFi, Swimming Pool, Sauna and Fitness Room. Very close to Bus Services, Steam Trains and all amenities. Ideal location to explore our special Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Orchard Aparthotel Hotel Port Erin
Cherry Orchard Apartments Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing