We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea View Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Erin
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea View Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Lovely meal, charming staff and the best views imaginable over the bay at Port Erin. Despite being one chef down, there was a good choice of food and it was all beautiful. We ate there three times in one week.

Room Tip: Ask to eat in the conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    94
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
100
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I live on the Isle of Man and I last stayed in this hotel five years ago. The rooms have undergone refurbishment and I was pleasantly surprised with the standard. Lovely and clean and well decorated for a three star hotel. I could not fault the hotel room.

There are lots of corridors and stairs as this is an old hotel so if you are infirm make sure that you let the hotel know so they can put you near a lift.

When I booked the hotel I booked a sea view and it was £85. If I am honest I thought this was expensive compared to other hotels on the Island with the same star rating. I was later contacted to say there was no sea view room available but was still charged the same price.

We had been to a party the night before and luckily we are early risers. Good job really as the people cleaning the hotel rooms were playing very loud music while they worked so no chance of a lie in. Maybe ipods would be a better solution?

On a positive note the breakfast was superb in fact the best I have ever had in any hotel. They have a really good cook.

Enjoyed my stay but I felt £85 was too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sperrin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

After enjoying several meals here last year, we decided to go with our friends again on Saturday night. We booked a table and had a drink in the bar before going into the restaurant. On going into the restaurant we ordered our meals, and some drinks. We ordered a bottle of wine, but after waiting an hour the wine never arrived, and the food never arrived. Whilst we were waiting, there were some people who had been served their meal but had to ask for their vegetables as they never arrived. After people had finished their meals nobody was clearing the tables. The service was terrible, nothing like when we last went in last year whilst vusiting the Isle of Man. In the end we were so fed up of waiting that we got up and left. We asked to speak to a manager to complain, but told that there were no managers on duty. Don't know whether this was just a one off, or not, but were very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anon030, Manager at Falcon's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We did have a staffing problem on that Saturday that could not be predicted and unfortunately occurred too late to resolve entirely. Whilst we were extremely busy all weekend with restaurant and bar meals and our Beer Festival, with many happy diners, we noted that at the end of the weekend there had been a problem with two tables who were kept waiting and were dissatisfied. There were Duty Managers who would have been available but were not informed of any problems until the following day - staff have been reminded to call on a Duty Manager as soon as possible. We regret this incident which we consider to be a one-off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I just returned from a weekend stay at the Falcons Nest hotel in Port Erin. I was very impressed with the hotel and service and can not believe that it is only rated at two stars. Surely it deserves a higher rating. It is an older hotel and probably needs a paint job, but there is a great historical feel to the place.

After an extensive search, researching all the hotels and bed and breakfasts on the Isle of Man, we decided Port Erin would be the most ideal place to stay. Douglas was a bit too busy, Port Erin was a nice and relaxed seaside town and best of all, it was right at the end of the steam train line. The hotel is only a block past the train station. The location is directly in the middle of the Port Erin Bay. Perfect for getting down to the beach.

We stayed in room 1, which is on the first floor above the bar area. I would highly recommend this room as it has breathtaking waterfront views of Port Erin Harbour and is on the corner so you get the views from the side as well. This room had a huge bathroom and despite being a one bedroom also had this smaller little walk-in closet sized room with an extra single bed and a window. It was perfect for our small son staying with us. There was some noise from being directly over the bar, but even on a Saturday night, it didn't go too late.

Service was great and all of those I encountered from the bartender, to the breakfast server, maintenance and the front desk people were all especially friendly.

The breakfast which was included in served buffet style and has all the regular English breakfast items (eggs, black and white pudding, bacon, sausage, potato cakes as well as toast, cereals, yogurt and multiple juices).

I have recommended this hotel to quite a few friends and encouraged visits to the Island based on a great stay which I had.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSL_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights over Easter. Had booked superior room with Booking.com but on arrival Mike the bar manager said they'd been a muddle and bed type wasn't specified. (We checked form on line later and it was clear). Lead to us getting standard room at side of hotel above bar, same price and ok but for the late night noise around 1am outside the window. Do check booking before going and ask for the front of hotel away from road.

Food in restaurant good, selection and quality/price. Good ale selection in bar. Location very good in bay. Quiet for Easter but cold winds and snow a factor. Pot Erin seemed quite sleepy but excellent tea shop down in bay - Cosy Nook Cafe. Coastal walks to Tower and Calf Sound superb.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordicstar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
259 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here with my grandparents.They had a lift and the room was facing the bay,which was very picture perfect.My grandparents enjoyed their stay at this hotel and the facilities were good with a television and carpeted floring.
Will come back to this hotel next time..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay was really nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

The hotel restaurant was welcoming, accommodating with attentive and helpful staff. Despite being somewhat late in the lunch hour, I was shown to a well presented pleasant table, in the nearly full but still airy and bright conservatory. This had splendid and stunning sunny views of Port Erin Bay and Bradda Headland with Milner’s Tower. The mixed groups present added a pleasant babbling background atmosphere without intrusion. All in all an excellent value filling, but high standard, relaxing lunchtime meal all served efficiently, and hot, with well presented real ale in a venue with a very good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Didn’t stay but a room with view of the impressive bay would always be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon's Nest Hotel

Property: Falcon's Nest Hotel
Address: Station Road, Port Erin IM9 6AF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Falcon's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon's Nest Hotel Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing