We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knap Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knap Guest House
Ranked #3 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at the Knap Guest House. The proprietor, Alistair, is very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, recommending places to eat, and things to do. Although this is a very small establishment the attention to detail is unsurpassed, added to which,the breakfast cooked to your order, is splendid, focussing on local produce. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    31
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
144
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This establishment epitomises the very best of Scottish hospitality. Comfortable, clean, friendly and a fantastic outlook over the beautiful Tarbert harbour whilst Alistair serves a tasty breakfast. Cannot recommend it enough.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, comfortable and cosy. The food ( breakfast) was delicious and served by Alastair, the proprietor, who was very helpful and knowledgable about the area.
I will certainly return to this venue and highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

stayed in the kingsize room, well worth the little extra.everything so clean and comfortable,amazing breakfast cooked fresh to order by alastair your host.would highly recommend this luxury guest house

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicversys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We found the Knap to be a great place to stay. The host was very friendly, and helpful. Travelling for some time we have rather heavy luggage, but despite our saying we could manage, he jumped right in to give a hand to get us up to our third floor room. The room was very clean, breakfast the full Scottish breakfast was great. Parking is across the road, beside the harbour, but was well lit, and appeared secure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here as on the 6th night of a weeks driving tour around the west coast of Scotland. The guest house is easy to find as it is right on a corner opposite a small convenience store. We rang the bell and Allister appeared almost instantly seemingly out of no-where! we were given a tour of the property which is Victorian and Allister has tastefully decorated it out in a Thai theme. Allister was very informative about what to see and places to eat. We walked to the nearby castle ruins which has great views over Tarbert. Our room was really nice with a small window overlooking the harbour area and fresh milk in a small fridge which my wife likes as she is not a huge fan of the small UHT cartons most places supply. There were bathrobes in the wardrobe to use when relaxing in the room. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it, it is served in an open plan Kitchen/Dining room area, which is great as you can see Allister preparing everything and making small talk/offering advice to his guests. Would very much recommend a stay here if planning an overnight stop in Tarbert.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I spent a night here as we headed to Islay for the weekend. The little town of Tarbert is a great little town, with everything you need: hikes to a castle, bay views, great little bars, wonderful seafood and The Knap Guest House! After finding the little sign for the place we were immediately greeted by Allister. He was gracious, quick and efficient. He gave us a tour of the inn, handed us our key, told us if we needed anything just ring, and than was on his way. It was perfect. The room was very spacious, warm and had a great little sitting area near the window overlooking the town. We had all the fixings for tea and coffee, complete with milk in our fridge and a pitcher of cold water.

The bed was very comfortable, and bathroom was a beautiful! We were up early to make the ferry and were greeted in the kitchen by Allister who was busy at the stove. The breakfast was made to order, complete with fresh fruits and veggies and yogurt. The meal was delicious, he took a lot of care to make something really wonderful.

The hotel was in walking distance to everything. It was right across the street from the little convenience store, about a mile from the ruins of a castle, and about 5 minutes to great seafood restaurants.

All in all, it was a wonderful place to stay! We only wished we could have stayed for another night!

A big thank you for the kind welcome and very warm inn! When we make it back to Islay we'll be sure to stop in again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.0 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Struan House
Struan House
#4 of 14 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knap Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knap Guest House

Property: Knap Guest House
Address: Knap Campbeltown Road, Tarbert PA29 6SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knap Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished to the very highest standards all rooms en suite. Positioned overlooking picturesque Tarbert harbour. Located only 10 minute drive to ferry terminal to Islay at Kennacraig ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Knap Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knap Guest House Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing