We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy”

The Anchorage Bistro
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Anchorage Bistro is now under new management and is offering delicious lunch and dinners from its waterfront location in Tarbert, Loch Fyne. From sanwhiches and paninis to fresh local seafood the bistro menu caters for all tastes. Booking is essential so if you require a table, please contact us on 01880 820881.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good food,well presented by friendly staff,good portions,had seafood chowder to start,which was really delish....followed by rib eye steak,medium to rare,done to perfection. There were 4 in our party,Three starters,4 mains,and three deserts,all had alcohol,no rush,made to feel special by attentive staff,no complaints,total cost less than £120.00,very reasonable.would and will use again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shifty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    32
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A reasonable meal”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived in Tarbert ready to start the Kintyre Way the next day and needed an evening meal. From several along the sea front we chose The Anchorage and were not disappointed. It is small and friendly. The menu was limited but reasonably priced, the food cooked and presented well. Service was efficient, overall we enjoyed our experience here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veryoldcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a great place if you're visiting”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

On our recent trip to Scotland, we came off the 8 p.m. ferry from Islay to Kennacraig and had a long drive back to Glasgow, so we decided to stop in Tarbert for dinner, as spots in this part of the world tend to close by 9. We chose this place based on the menu and rolled in around 8:15. As we had our infant son sleeping in his carrier, my husband specifically went in to ask if they could take us, as not everyone can.The hostess said they could and asked us to come back in 10 minutes.

When we returned, they weren't ready for us, but set up quickly. Our son woke up with a brief cry, but settled right back down. It was fairly boisterous inside and no one seemed to notice.

Then we sat down and attempted to order. Everything we asked about seemed to be... not available. We had to rethink what we were ordering a few times. Finally got an order in. About 5 minutes later, someone, the owner or chef, comes out of the kitchen and tells us that due to licensing restrictions, he can't have any children in the restaurant after 9 p.m. It's 8:40 at this point, so not an issue, but he's kind of a jerk about it. Considering that we'd been messing around with them since 8:15 and hadn't even been served drinks, we were not pleased. I can only surmise that they heard our son's cry and decided they didn't want to deal, so figured they wouldn't lose anything by chucking out the tourists. It was abundantly clear they weren't going to serve us, so we left.

So I can't say anything about the food--never had a chance to have any. But have to say that in our 3 weeks in Scotland, which is an amazingly awesome and friendly country, this was the worst we were treated. Unfortunately, by the time they chucked us out, it was too late to go anywhere else, so we had to find some quick takeaway to eat the car. A pretty crummy end to a nice segment of our trip. I wouldn't recommend anyone not local go here as it's not what you'd call friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagnytaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch heaven, excellent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped here for lunch on Saturday afternoon. Food was excellent and great value for money, the waitress was helpful and friendly. I had the mussel, langoustine and smoked bacon chowder and my other half had mussels in white wine, both divine and accompanied by homemade bread. We both chose the haddock with chips, fresh and tasty with the lightest of batters.
Totally recommend this gem of a restaurant in Tarbet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PamB_Bluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Been here a few times for dinner and always been really impressed. This time popped in for lunch when I was in the area on business. Had the goat's cheese panacotta because it piqued my curiosity, and I was really glad I did. Lovely creamy, airy little mouthful. Then had the scallops and, as is usual here, they were fresh, creamy and simply but beautifully cooked and presented. And thank the Lord, they serve the corals - the best bit that too many restaurants discard!
I've watched the seafood being delivered here, straight of the boat, and it's then treated with respect and love. I just wish I lived closer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graninwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchorage Bistro also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to The Anchorage Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing