We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“West Loch Shores, house sleeps 11-12” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Loch Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Loch Shores
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“West Loch Shores, house sleeps 11-12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the house, nearer to Tarbet than the cabins. This was very well stocked for a larger group of persons staying here. The kitchen facilities were excellent, washer, dryer, microwave and large cooker and hob. Tv on both the kitchen and upstairs lounge were beneficial for a large group. The upstairs lounge offered gorgeous views up the valley/loch. Easy walking distance down in to Tarbet, tho the walk back was uphill and took longer, but we still managed it each night for a drnk and good in Tarbet.
Can highly recommend this place to stay. Owners very helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My colleague and I stayed here from March 2014 to May 2014 whilst working in the area. We were allocated a brand new wooden lodge on arrival (lodge number 1) and were pleasantly surprised of how spacious the lodge was and how great a view we had of the water from the living room window. The lodge offered a double bedroom with en-suite (toilet), with a smaller second bedroom which had two single beds pushed together to make another double. A second toilet and shower room was located on the corridor leading to the two bedrooms. The kitchen was a fair size and contained everything which was required. The living room area was very spacious with a very large l-shaped couch and a TV with free view. The patio doors from the living room led onto the outside wooden terrace which had a table with four chairs. There was a washing room on site located not far from the lodge, however we never used the facilities there as travelled back home most weekends. The site also had a small children's play park, located towards the entrance to the site. The rates were also very reasonable due to our long term hire. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you very much Malcolm for making us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Lodge 1 was located near the entrance to the site, third lodge from the main road, however the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in November 2013. It was a really comfortable stay. These lodges have all the equipment you need. You don't feel stranded in the woods at any point. Nicely furnished.
The only suggestion I have is to install some lighting on the drive, solar ones maybe, as walking the dogs at night can be a bit scary!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Location - When we arrived we were surprised to see that you are actually very far from the Loch. I thought from the photos and previous reviews that they would be in walking distance but the only one that is is across a busy road and not easy to walk on the messy shingle. We did have a baby so perhaps we would have found it easier had it just been the 2 of us. When we went into Tarbert there were some hilly walks you could go on (again not ideal with a baby) and the town wasn't the friendliest of places. To get anywhere decent you have to drive at least 45 minutes or catch a ferry which was expensive. On our way back through to Glasgow we passed many Loch side cabins that would have been (in my opinion) in line with what was advertised here. But then I guess there is only one photo for a reason.

The park had around 15 static homes and it looked like some were actually peoples houses. Didn't get a real holiday vibe from this park. And we never saw Malcolm except when he told us where our lodge was (I assume it was him anyway!).

Accommodation - this was fine and our "lodge" (mobile home) was furnished very nicely and was homely with everything you would need, it was clean however it stank of cigarette smoke throughout and when we left we saw the cleaner cleaning another lodge and she had a cigarette in her mouth which explains it....!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just back from a 3 night break here staying in the log cabins. We found the cabins to be very comfortable, clean and well equipped , a real home from home ! An ideal base to get out and about to explore the surrounding area - we had a great time cycling along the Crinan canal, visited the beach and castle at Skipness which has stunning views of Arran, also drove down to Westport beach which was beautiful , and of course enjoyed the village of Tarbert and the surrounding walks. Also worth noting is the kayak hire and instruction available from Dave at Kayak Majik which you can book via West Loch Shores and is available on site. a great opportunity to try something different and see the sites from a different view !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianM734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Weather awful this year so far so very few people here at the end of June. Good for us as we were upgraded to Lodge 5 - a superior lodge for the price of a standard lodge - although the price had dropped by £40 since we had booked - even though we left early for family reasons we were still charged the full price on booking. maybe there is a lesson there - book at the last minute and you'll get the better price!
The superior lodge was functional but a bit worn around most of it's edges, as was the site - when you compare the price to overseas all inclusive package deals it's no surprise the clientele is down and staycations aren't catching on.
Malcolm is a lovely and helpful man so I understand he's earned the rave reviews he's got to date.
The location and views are stunning - Tarbert is ideal for ferries to wherever you go in the western isles and Calmac ferries don't charge for pedal bikes so biking is the way to go - weather permitting.
Golf is great with fun 9 hole courses all around - Carradale is a laugh and Tarbert has stunning views and the hills keep you fit!
The seafood warehouse at the Tarbert ferry terminal is absolutely superb and the fresh shellfish are riduculously cheap - buy and cook yourself - it's the only way to go.

Room Tip: Lodge 5 gets our vote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Wonderful location, beautiful, well equipped lodge with breathtaking views. If you can, request lodge 5.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
10.8 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Shores

Property: West Loch Shores
Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lodge park in Kintyre, just two miles south of Tarbert, Loch Fyne. Luxury two - four bedroomed lodges with stunning views over West Loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your West Loch Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Shores Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing