We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent well equipped Lodge,beautiful views.”
Review of West Loch Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Loch Shores
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a lovely site, the owners are very friendly and helpful, There is a lot of space between lodges and my wife and I spent nice relaxing week here.Good base for exploring the area with
the islands of Ghia and arran within easy reach with regular ferries.

Room Tip: All lodges have good views. No swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the house, nearer to Tarbet than the cabins. This was very well stocked for a larger group of persons staying here. The kitchen facilities were excellent, washer, dryer, microwave and large cooker and hob. Tv on both the kitchen and upstairs lounge were beneficial for a large group. The upstairs lounge offered gorgeous views up the valley/loch. Easy walking distance down in to Tarbet, tho the walk back was uphill and took longer, but we still managed it each night for a drnk and good in Tarbet.
Can highly recommend this place to stay. Owners very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My colleague and I stayed here from March 2014 to May 2014 whilst working in the area. We were allocated a brand new wooden lodge on arrival (lodge number 1) and were pleasantly surprised of how spacious the lodge was and how great a view we had of the water from the living room window. The lodge offered a double bedroom with en-suite (toilet), with a smaller second bedroom which had two single beds pushed together to make another double. A second toilet and shower room was located on the corridor leading to the two bedrooms. The kitchen was a fair size and contained everything which was required. The living room area was very spacious with a very large l-shaped couch and a TV with free view. The patio doors from the living room led onto the outside wooden terrace which had a table with four chairs. There was a washing room on site located not far from the lodge, however we never used the facilities there as travelled back home most weekends. The site also had a small children's play park, located towards the entrance to the site. The rates were also very reasonable due to our long term hire. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you very much Malcolm for making us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Lodge 1 was located near the entrance to the site, third lodge from the main road, however the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here in November 2013. It was a really comfortable stay. These lodges have all the equipment you need. You don't feel stranded in the woods at any point. Nicely furnished.
The only suggestion I have is to install some lighting on the drive, solar ones maybe, as walking the dogs at night can be a bit scary!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Location - When we arrived we were surprised to see that you are actually very far from the Loch. I thought from the photos and previous reviews that they would be in walking distance but the only one that is is across a busy road and not easy to walk on the messy shingle. We did have a baby so perhaps we would have found it easier had it just been the 2 of us. When we went into Tarbert there were some hilly walks you could go on (again not ideal with a baby) and the town wasn't the friendliest of places. To get anywhere decent you have to drive at least 45 minutes or catch a ferry which was expensive. On our way back through to Glasgow we passed many Loch side cabins that would have been (in my opinion) in line with what was advertised here. But then I guess there is only one photo for a reason.

The park had around 15 static homes and it looked like some were actually peoples houses. Didn't get a real holiday vibe from this park. And we never saw Malcolm except when he told us where our lodge was (I assume it was him anyway!).

Accommodation - this was fine and our "lodge" (mobile home) was furnished very nicely and was homely with everything you would need, it was clean however it stank of cigarette smoke throughout and when we left we saw the cleaner cleaning another lodge and she had a cigarette in her mouth which explains it....!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just back from a 3 night break here staying in the log cabins. We found the cabins to be very comfortable, clean and well equipped , a real home from home ! An ideal base to get out and about to explore the surrounding area - we had a great time cycling along the Crinan canal, visited the beach and castle at Skipness which has stunning views of Arran, also drove down to Westport beach which was beautiful , and of course enjoyed the village of Tarbert and the surrounding walks. Also worth noting is the kayak hire and instruction available from Dave at Kayak Majik which you can book via West Loch Shores and is available on site. a great opportunity to try something different and see the sites from a different view !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianM734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Weather awful this year so far so very few people here at the end of June. Good for us as we were upgraded to Lodge 5 - a superior lodge for the price of a standard lodge - although the price had dropped by £40 since we had booked - even though we left early for family reasons we were still charged the full price on booking. maybe there is a lesson there - book at the last minute and you'll get the better price!
The superior lodge was functional but a bit worn around most of it's edges, as was the site - when you compare the price to overseas all inclusive package deals it's no surprise the clientele is down and staycations aren't catching on.
Malcolm is a lovely and helpful man so I understand he's earned the rave reviews he's got to date.
The location and views are stunning - Tarbert is ideal for ferries to wherever you go in the western isles and Calmac ferries don't charge for pedal bikes so biking is the way to go - weather permitting.
Golf is great with fun 9 hole courses all around - Carradale is a laugh and Tarbert has stunning views and the hills keep you fit!
The seafood warehouse at the Tarbert ferry terminal is absolutely superb and the fresh shellfish are riduculously cheap - buy and cook yourself - it's the only way to go.

Room Tip: Lodge 5 gets our vote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
2.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stonefield Farm Holidays
Stonefield Farm Holidays
#6 of 6 in Tarbert
5 reviews
5.0 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
702 reviews
22.3 mi away
the house@glenbarr
the house@glenbarr
#9 of 14 in Tarbert
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Loch Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Loch Shores

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Tarbert
Price Range: £113 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lodge park in Kintyre, just two miles south of Tarbert, Loch Fyne. Luxury two - four bedroomed lodges with stunning views over West Loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Loch Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Loch Shores Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing