We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
35
6
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
6
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spent a week stunning views easy access co op easter break self catering short drive malcolm lodge playpark pets arran campbeltown loch log ferries scenery
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

My partner and I recently spent the weekend in a 3 bedroom lodge. This lodge (no 10) at the top of the hill had the most stunning views. The weather was beautiful and the scenery was perfect. Sitting out on the decking with a glass of Drambui and ice listening to the birds tweeting was magical.
The lodge had everything: Gas central heating, washing machine, dish washer, bath, shower, fridge freezer, microwave, sky tv, radio, DVD player etc etc.
We will definitely be back again.

Room tip: Ask for Lodge no 10
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cessnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

When we arrived the manager Malcolm offered us a large lodge ( at no extra cost )up the top of the park. Callum (staff) tuned in the Sky box for us and could not have been more helpful. The lodge was lovely with a beautiful view. We will return next year. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Wow! What a friendly lovely hostelry. Both my wife and two weeks dogs were so welcomed here. Our wee westie and tibetan terrier were treated to treats. The food was delicious especially the sole gijons. The service was wonderful. We just loved it and will definitely return.
Awesome!!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B3370YLjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We had originally booked a superior oak tree lodge at the main West Loch Shores site. I received a phone call from the proprietor (Malcolm MacDonald) to say he had had a cancellation of one of his beachside lodges at Beachmore, and as we had two dogs he wondered if we would like to upgrade (at no additional cost) as due to the enclosed garden and direct access to the beach guests with dogs and children loved the location. It sounded ideal so I accepted the offer without hesitation.

On arrival our hearts sank as the lodge was basically sited in a field (roughly mowed) surrounded on 3 sides by sheep - we have two small terrier dogs who are driven mad with excitement at the site of sheep. The ‘enclosed garden’ was most certainly NOT dog safe if you own two small/medium sized terriers who demonstrated within minutes the ability to get under the main gate and start chasing the sheep! In addition, the lodge decking had no gates so we were not able to prevent the dogs from getting into the garden. The only way to secure them was to lock them in the lodge. Also, the path down to the beach was so overgrown we were unable to see the beach let alone access it. I contacted Malcolm straight away to explain that the accommodation was not at all suitable and could we please revert to our original booking at the main site. Unfortunately Malcolm said this was not possible but said he would make both the decking area and the garden area safe as well as sending someone to clear the path to the beach.

True to his word that evening a gentleman arrived to put chicken wire under the main gate. The next morning the path was cleared and in the afternoon chicken wire was put both sides of the decking and the decking front steps to keep the dogs from entering the garden - unfortunately this didn't really help as the dogs still managed to get into the garden from the space between the decking and the decking railing, into the garden, under the fence and start chasing the sheep again - a complete nightmare as we were not able to relax.

The beach itself is not a sandy beach but covered in seaweed and ‘sludgy’ so we did not venture onto it and it could not have been described as an attractive feature at all.

The lodge itself could be described as ‘tired’ and was certainly in need of a good clean in places - we had to use the vacuum cleaner to get rid of the dead spiders and insects from the ceiling in the lounge, also, the fridge was frozen up and all window sills and corners of rooms could have done with a thorough clean. The windows inside and out were dirty as were the fingermarks that were left on all the kitchen appliances.

The facilities in general were ok and more or less as described, although little things tended to irritate such as no spare bin bags and only half a role of loo paper provided. Not too much of an issue if you have a local shop but the lodge is sited in the middle of nowhere and a 20 minute drive to Campbeltown. There was also no coffee table in the lounge so if you were having a drink - you had no alternative than to put your drinks on the floor.

On the plus side, the views were spectacular and I would definitely recommend future guests to take a pair of binoculars as there is plenty of wildlife to observe.

All in all a disappointing experience. We only booked for 4 nights (fortunately!) but it was a very stressful experience. A word of warning if you entertain your children/dogs in the ‘garden’ - it is basically a field which has been mown and is very uneven with holes in various places and you can very easily twist your ankle if you encounter one!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ManchesterClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm M, Front Office Manager at West Loch Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are, of course disappointed not only by your comments, but that you didn't raise them with us, either when we responded immediately to your request to make the garden area more secure for your dogs, or when you checked out. We always try our hardest to rectify any issue that arises at the time.

We offered to upgrade you to the property at Beachmore as is it more pet friendly with a private, fenced garden area and also offers guests outstanding views over some of Kintyre's best known islands.

With regards to the beach, it is a sandy beach, however being on the Atlantic Ocean coast it is subject to tide and currents. This sometimes results in seaweed appearing on the beach, this is outwith our control.

We have certainly taken your comments onboard and thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Just spent a week in lodge no 4, perfect location with a stunning view of the Loch. The lodge was clean, spacious and well equipped. The lounge area was very spacious with that perfect view from the patio doors. Outside furniture was provided for enjoying the views long into the evening. The site is well maintained and pretty with flowers and plants around. There is lots of space between lodges so you never feel crowded by your neighbours. A short drive from Tarbert and its shops/facilities. Despite it being late July we were not bothered with midges either! Will certainly be going again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GailRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews