We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views and location”
Review of Dunivaig B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunivaig B&B
Ranked #7 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The B&B is ideally located around a quiet corner in Pier road and our room like the others commands superb views across Loch Fyne. Tarbert is a charming village rich in history. Peter and Louise are warm and friendly hosts. Breakfast was of a high standard and we would have no hesitation in recommending the B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobM_BriarHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights having booked at very short notice. The welcome we received was friendly though maybe not as warm as we would have liked. The room (with a stunning view over the loch) was clean, tidy and well-equipped but the en-suite was extremely small and cramped, and a couple of extra teabags on the hospitality tray would have been appreciated. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, clearly having been cooked ealier and "kept warm" in spite of our arrival at the table at the agreed time of 8 am. Mr and Mrs Bates run their B& B quite efficiently in spite of the fact that they both work elsewhere during the day and it is possibly because of these additional commitments that their relationship with their guests is not as relaxed and welcoming as one might experience elsewhere.

Room Tip: Definitely worth requesting a loch-view if one if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marianjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Nice clean rooms with adequate facilities. We arrived around 5:30 in the evening and were not greeted in an openly friendly manner, more of that we were causing an inconvenience. We stayed one night prior to our ferry to Islay on the sunday morning. When we enquired about breakfast, the proprietor advised that they were not aware of ferry times on a sunday which we found strange given that Tarbet is a stop off point for Ferries to the Islands. During the week the ferry is 9:45 and breakfast at the stated times is ok, on sunday though it is 9am, and we were disappointed at the inflexibility in breakfast times, we would have thought that the offer of a 7:45 breakfast as opposed to 8 would not have been unreasonable, but sadly we were told we would have to make do with a "packed breakfast to go". We went out for a meal and came back at 9:30pm to find our packed breakfast on the side, again would it not have been reasonable to keep in the fridge overnight. The breakfast was unappealing - 2 hard boiled eggs, a stale croissant and chocolate muffin, and a selection of Aldi style snack bars, poor subsitute for the promised breakfast and definatley not of the same value. If expectations are not set too high this is an ok B and B but not one we will return to or recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisedunivaig, Owner at Dunivaig B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

We are very upset that you were so disappointed with your visit to Dunivaig.
We love Dunivaig and want all our guests to enjoy it too.
We have had many lovely guests, people who we otherwise would not have had the pleasure of meeting if they had not stayed with us.
Obviously on this occasion we fell short of the mark when first greeting our guests.
We often do 0730 cooked breakasts for our Ferry users and others departing early but also offer a packed breakfast should our guests wish for more time in bed. You seemd happy with the packed breakfast option at the time.
Many visitors have enjoyed the packed breakfast of cereal bars, raisins, fresh fruit, 2 cartons of fruit juice, yoghurt covered fruit flakes, croissant & chocolate muffin. We do apologise if you had a stale croissant, however we do not understand why your croissant was stale as we had one ourselves for breakfast that day and they were fine.
We do take the point about the hard boiled eggs served in the shell and wrapped in tinfoil may be best kept in a fridge overnight, so we will replace that in the packed breakfasts with something else.
If you had mentioned any of this to us at the time, or said that you were not completely happy we would have done our best to rectify things for you immediately. Perhaps when you stay at another B&B sometime in the future and you are not completely happy you could bring it to the owners attention as no-one likes to send a guest away unhappy.
As you are so disappointed and to make amends we are sending you a full refund of the £66 you paid for your stay. We could not have you pay for anything that you were not completely satisfied with.
Perhaps you could Email us when you receive the cheque so we know it arrived safely.
Best regards
Louise & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for our first night when we walked the Kintyre Way. We must say that this was definitely the best B&B that we stayed at in Kintyre. The house and room was lovely and clean with fantastic sea views. Tea, herbal tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and bottled water were provided in the room. Also provided was a flat screen TV with very good reception. A very peaceful sleep in a comfortable bed. Shower very good, with toiletries provided. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. Five minute, easy flat walk into Tarbert centre with a good selection of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jocorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Like staying with friends...Comfy and clean...peter works on the harbour and knows everything!!. Free lift from the bus but next time I'll take the car to explore more. View from the window with fishing boats ,seals and ferries is priceless

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geflechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed one night during at time of year when the town is very sleeping. Our hosts were very welcoming despite our short notice arrival. View from our bedroom was amazing with ships coming in and out of port - the breakfast view is equally as charming. A short (10 minute) very pleasant walk along the harbour front brings you to the centre of town and is in easy walking distance of Tarbert castle (not much left but great view). Our only very minor point was that the duvet for the double bed could have been a little bigger (i hate fighting for the covers!). Overall a very pleasant short stay and would throughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobityBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The room was lovely, good decoration, sea views, nothing wrong with that. But latest breakfast time was 08.15!
The help and information to find a place for dinner was not so good. From the four tips we got, one was closed, one was fully booked, one did not exist anymore and the last one we had to beg for a meal and wait for over an hour to be seated.
Rate for the room higher than mentioned by the Tourist Office. Why?

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphobirgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarbert hotels
0.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
462 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Starfish Rooms
Starfish Rooms
#8 of 14 in Tarbert
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Struan House
Struan House
#4 of 14 in Tarbert
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunivaig B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunivaig B&B

Address: Dunivaig Pier Road, Tarbert PA29 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunivaig B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunivaig B & B is a traditional stone Scottish Baronial style family home situated in a quiet location with 1 Family en-suite room, 1 King en-suite room and 1 small Turret double room with shared bathroom (shared with us, not other guests). Cot and Highchair available. All 3 rooms have stunning views overlooking Loch Fyne on the Kintyre peninsula. Cyclists (lockable bike shed), Walkers and children welcome. Drying facilities. Close to local ferries of Arran, Gigha, Islay and Jura. Within walking distance of the fishing village of Tarbert and it's seafood restaurants. 3 Star Grading with VisitScotland Tourist Board. Free WiFi. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunivaig B&B Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing