We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places on this trip”
Review of Dunivaig B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunivaig B&B
Ranked #7 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of the best places on this trip”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had the room at the front of the house with fantastic views over Loch Fyne and perhaps because the stay coincided with lovely sunshine it all looked quite perfect. The house is full of charachter but very tastefully decorated. The rooms are very well presented, clean and tidy. Louise and Peter are most attentive hosts. I really enjoyed the beautifully cooked Loch Fyne kippers with my breakfast. It is about a 1o -15 minute walk into Tarbert, but on a lovely evening that was not a problem for us. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chur, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Only a few minutes out the town, quite with stunning view. We enjoyed our stay at Dunivaig. Very friendly service, nice and clean rooms and excellent Scotish Breakfast. Perfect place to stay before or after Islay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meli1_ssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We recently stayed at Dunivaig as our friends were being married at nearby Crear. With many of the wedding guests taking over Tarbert, we found ourselves at Dunivaig which was around a 15 minute walk from Tarbet's main street (or a 2 minute drive).
With its turrets and gothic-style building, it certainly casts an dramatic impression with one of the best positions overlooking the water. We were greeted by Louise who was both friendly and helpful. I have stayed in many B&Bs in my trips around Scotland and I must say that the room at Dunivaig was really superb. The view from the window was stunning - we felt as though we were right on the water and could see the gannets diving into the depths from our bed! The bedroom was large with a sofa, full length mirror (plenty of room for us both getting ready for the wedding) and also an en-suite shower room. It was spacious and scrupulously clean. We stayed 2 nights and had Scottish cooked breakfast both mornings which was lovely, well-cooked and filling. I'd thoroughly recommend Dunivaig to anyone visiting Tarbet, perhaps as a stop off en-route to the islands. The scenery is spectacular, the service at Dunivaig is very pleasant and great value for money, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Some may feel the distance from the main street is a down side, however if you like peace and quiet it will add to its charm.
Overall, a very find B&B and I would stay again, should I be travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Pick the double at the front - panoramic views of the loch from the picture window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldieferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here May 2012. Excellent room with lovely views of the harbour. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisedunivaig, Owner at Dunivaig B&B, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our small family run B & B. It was great hosting all of you from France, you were all so quiet we hardly know you were here. We often host guests travelling to and from Islay, Arran or Gigha. There is so much to explore from our pretty fishing village, including the Crinan Canal, Oban or further south to Campbeltown.
Peter and I hope you will stay with us again one day.
Kind regards
Louise and Peter
Dunivaig B & B Tarbert Loch Fyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent B&B. Room very comfortable, breakfast very good with generous proportions. Louise friendly and welcoming. Would be happy to stay there again

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Room was very comfortable and had an amazing view over the water and hills. Breakfast was good. Free parking just across the road. Tarbert is a town worth visiting. Especially make sure to walk up to Tarbert Castle. It's free and has wonderful views. There are interesting hiking trails around it also.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidingo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great topfurnished rooms in a beautiful house close to the sea, excellent friendly service, Louise helped us to find a nice room with another B & B the other night when she was fully booked, told us about where to eat, great breakfast, fresh fruit, smoked kipper, crossiants and much more.


Can really recommend The Dunivaig to everyone if you are going to Tarbert! And Tarbert is a very nice little fishing village worth a visit!

Lars & Eva Andersson, Lidingö, Sweden

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
266 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#1 of 14 in Tarbert
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
256 reviews
3.2 mi away
Portavadie
Portavadie
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunivaig B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunivaig B&B

Property: Dunivaig B&B
Address: Dunivaig Pier Road, Tarbert PA29 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunivaig B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunivaig B & B is a traditional stone Scottish Baronial style family home situated in a quiet location with 1 Family en-suite room, 1 King en-suite room and 1 small Turret double room with shared bathroom (shared with us, not other guests). Cot and Highchair available. All 3 rooms have stunning views overlooking Loch Fyne on the Kintyre peninsula. Cyclists (lockable bike shed), Walkers and children welcome. Drying facilities. Close to local ferries of Arran, Gigha, Islay and Jura. Within walking distance of the fishing village of Tarbert and it's seafood restaurants. 3 Star Grading with VisitScotland Tourist Board. Free WiFi. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunivaig B&B Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing