We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place”
Review of Springside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springside B&B
Ranked #6 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed one night at Springside on our way to Islay. The room was squeaky clean and comfortable and had a book on Islay to give us ahead start on our trip. The owners were very kind to us and cooked a fine breakfast. It was perfect for our needs.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingJ0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We only stayed here for one night but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Alison and Donald are both very friendly and welcoming, the room was warm, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The views from both our bedroom and the breakfast room were fabulous and at £60 for the night we thought it was excellent value. Should we ever be in Tarbert again we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulanje, Owner at Springside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

We are happy to hear that you were happy staying with us. Thank you for your kind review.

Alison and Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was our first visit for the Tarbert Music Festival (two friends sharing a twin room.
We had a warm welcome from Alison and Donald who were helpful and very hospitable without being intrusive and didn't mind us sneeking in late at night or having a lateish breakfast. The room was spotless, spacious and well appointed. No TV but then again we weren't in the room for long as there's so much to do. There is a comfortable residents lounge with a TV if you want to stay in and as they usually only let two rooms at a time you'll probably have it to yourselves.
We both slept exceptionally well and enjoyed a fantastic breakfast, cooked to order which was very tastey.
The view alone is well worth it and the B&B is in the village so easy to get where ever you want to go.
Looking forward to visitng again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front room with the beautiful view over the Loch. The window seat alone is a ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulanje, Owner at Springside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Very grateful for your review. This always helps us regarding how to continue to keep our guests happy. Good wishes.
Alison and Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We ( four of us) spent two days at this B&B and the service and hospitality we received from Alison and Donald was excellent.
The B&B has a beautiful view of the Loch from the bedroom windows and is conveniently located from the ferry terminal to go to Islay.
They made us feel at home . Will go back with no reservation.
Bala

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulanje, Owner at Springside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

A little supping of Laphroig whisky helped keep the evening a really enjoyable one with good company. We enjoyed your visit especially as you were very appreciative and easy to please guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely town house facing the marina runned by Alison and Donald, a lovely couple who take seriously care of your breakfast served at your convenience. Rooms are superb welcoming, cozy and filled-up with little details. Amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Back to Springside again, in the same front bedroom ( one of two) overlooking the sea, after our first visit about 4 years ago - delighted to find eveything was as good as ever. What more can I say that others haven't? As well as Springside, Tarbert is a fabulous place to stay, plenty to do - even if it's just watching the yatchts and fishing boats come and go from your room, the dining room/guest lounge or the bench in the front garden - and plenty of excellent places to eat - especially if you like seafood. Just ask Donald and he'll point you in the right direction.

The experience is like staying with friends

Room Tip: Both the double roooms overlook the sea, so no need to ask for a sea view if you're travelling a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Donald and Alison were fabulous hosts, a lovely house and super breakfast!
The location is idea and we look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilidh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarbert hotels
1.8 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starfish Rooms
Starfish Rooms
#8 of 14 in Tarbert
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bluebell Cottage
Bluebell Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tarbert
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Struan House
Struan House
#4 of 14 in Tarbert
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springside B&B

Address: Springside Pier Road | Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a fisherman''s home. Bedrooms upstairs. Lounge for guests downstairs for their sole use. Unbelievable views from front bedroom windows. Ensuite rooms. Breakfast made to your own requests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springside B&B Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing