We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”
Review of Struan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Struan House
Ranked #4 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in a double ensuite with wifi. Room was cosey, comfortable, very clean with tea and coffee facilities and tv.There were lovely walks with views of Tarbert right beside b&b. Food was gorgeous and John and Kristin couldn't have been nicer. Highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoife b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
56
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while doing the first two stages of the Kintyre Way. John and Kristin were very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms Eigg and Gigha. Eigg is a twin at the front of the house, the bathroom and toilet are just across the landing. Don't let this put you off, we didn't find it a problem and the view from the front window is great and you can sit there watching all the activity on the fish quay. Gigha was the single room at the back with its own bathroom both rooms were nice and clean and tidy. We ate there one night, with the food freshly cooked and tasty. Breakfast is pre ordered which we found worked great for us, as its there very promptly and allowed us to book our taxi with confidence. The porridge and breakfasts were very nice.
All in all a nice place to stay and would recommend.
Thank you to John and Kristen

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper Eigg can have some noise during the night from the Fish Quay but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice room overlooking the harbour, good wifi, very friendly owners, lovely breakfasts. Strongly recommend! (And also strongly recommend the bistro). Easy to find, easy to park, good central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrown057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a twin room at the front and it had a good view of the harbour - and a more beautiful harbour would be hard to find. The room was smallish with a bathroom across the hall. But the price was good and the breakfast filling.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Fantastic B&B at a Fantastic price. The lady(I'm sorry I didn't ask your name) was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were lovely and views over the harbour much appreciated. We ate in the restaurant and although there wasn't a huge choice, what we had was excellent. The choice of beers & whisky was also spot on. Highly recommended and would not hesitate in booking again the next time I'm in the area. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on the beginning of our road trip round Scotland. The rooms were clean and functional. The breakfast was also good. We ate in the bistro downstairs that night. I had the cheese/chilli bread starter. It was way too spicy and made me feel quite ill. I ordered the scallop and chorizo special for my main course - this was very disappointing as well. It was a case of chorizo overkill on my plate. The scallops were large and cooked well but the whole dish sickened me. Overall, we weren't that taken by the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeCoachontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stopped only 1 night, what a pity, what great place, Although John & Kristen weren't able to be there to meet us they gave us instructions about getting the key and we let ourselves in. Our room had great harbour views, lovely furniture and was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was lovely and fresh followed by some interesting conversation with John and Kristen who were excellent hosts.Thanks Kristin for posting on the shirt i left in wardrobe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deano29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.1 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#1 of 14 in Tarbert
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Struan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Struan House

Property: Struan House
Address: Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Struan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Struan House Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing