We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sea food extraveganza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Barge - CLOSED

Cafe Barge
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Spanish, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A sea food extraveganza”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Cafe Barge does not have the most enticing exterior but is most welcoming once you have stepped into the cabin. If you like sea food and vegetarian dishes this is the place for you as no meat is served. We had incredible oysters, scallops, smoked mussels, razor clams, prawns, kedgeree and couscous with vegetables. They also serve an excellent range of drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

You could easily miss this as at first glance we thought they sold seafood to take home and cook, but on closer inspection discovered that it was a restaurant! The food is cooked fresh and in view of the tables and each of our choices were excellent. We had a mix of seafood and vegetarian tapas and everything brought to the table was finished and washed down with inexpensive but good wine. The following day we had lovely coffee and cake on the sun drenched deck looking over the harbour. 2 great experiences.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Excellent local, fresh food cooked to order. We shared catalan fish stew which was fabulous, tortilla, king prawn tails in chilli & garlic and surf clams. Also great service! We have been to Tarbet before and can't believe we missed this the first time round!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise in Tarbet”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We found this place by accident and were delighted to discover really great, innovative food with fresh local produce. We came to Scotland lowering our expectations with regard to eating out and so it was extra special to have such a memorable meal at a good price. Friendly owner and great chef left us feeling ready to face the Easter chill again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank harriet2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's lunch on a boat !”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were on holiday in Portavadie and decided to head over to Tarbert on the ferry for something to do one morning. Hadn't really done any research so were trusting to luck on somewhere for. Walked past here mid-morning as we walked round the harbour and the menu looked good, but it wasn't quite open. Seafood was what we wanted and nowhere else really grabbed the imagination.

Really good lunch experience - ordered way more tapas that we really needed. Lots of of seafood - prawns, mussels, squats all available and really tasty (this lunch became known as the Seafood Massacre). Couple of nice bottles of wine to wash it all down. Turned into a longer stay than we had planned because of all the food and wine !

I would definitely recommend it and we'll certainly go back here if we're ever back in the area

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondBurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Barge also viewed

Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing