We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations bettered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for three nights late August and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this small B&B. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room at the front of the house was charming with clean simple decoration. Breakfast was fantastic, and plentiful! We struggled to finish the full plate of traditional Scottish breakfast on a couple of occasions. Fruit, cereal and toast were also offered. Tarbert itself is a very quaint small town and we would love to return. If we do, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Southcliffe again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

The proprietors of this super-clean bed and breakfast located steps from downtown Tarbert couldn't have been nicer. They went out of their way to accommodate us after a late arrival and served a terrific breakfast the next morning, including the best plate of fruit we saw at any B&B in Scotland. They were also interesting and engaging people, and the breakfast conversation was first-rate. All the guests were engaged and happy. I highly recommend this interestingly restored building and its welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We started our walking tour along the Kintyre Way with Mike and Margaret and absolutely loved the warm welcome, the comfy beds and the excellent full Scottish breakfast which set us up nicely for the days walk. We got excellent advice regarding our tour and really enjoyed the friendly banter with both of our hosts. We certainly recommend staying in hte Southcliffe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Margret and Mike work hard to understand what it is you need in your travel experience, and how to satisfy this (my daughter needed a big laundry, they found a way to accommodate this). Room comfy, private. Efficient washroom. Lovely view to water. The couple helped us know what places they like to eat at (we chose another locale: Starfish, and Loved it!!) and explained how to get to the ferry that took us to Isle of Islay. I have to say that breakfast is a delight here. Mike plays stand up comedy and server, and I suspect that Margaret is holding down the fort in the kitchen. Just Relax, know that you will be assisted. And GO!

Room Tip: You will love breakfast here. Order everything. Get ready for warmth and laughs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith in toron... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Looking out over the harbour at Tarbert right down Loch Fyne, this Bed and breakfast is very good indeed. The rooms are spotless and well decorated. The breakfast is very good - including haggis - very tasty. A thoroughly good place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Four of us stayed on the way to and back from Islay. Margaret and Mike were friendly, helpful and inviting and Tarbert is a charming village. We enjoyed our time at Southcliffe and I'd recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rafi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were staying in Tarbert overnight on our way to Islay and were seriously let down by a booking site who called us the day before day of travel to inform us of cancellation of our hotel booking. (they were informed 2 weeks previous). However, we called the owner of the Victoria who was very helpful. She booked us into the Southcliffe B&B which saved our trip. On arrival we were welcomed by our host and shown to our room. Décor and furnishings were excellent with beautiful on-suite facilities and crisp fresh linen sheets. The bed was so comfortable; we had an excellent night’s sleep. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit & juices, cereals and full Scottish etc. Mike was very helpful and advised us the best time for breakfast to catch ferry and also recommend where to dine that evening. (We dined at the Starfish. Superb seafood) Harbour and main town centre a short 4 min stroll away. No car park but plenty of space in lane where B&B is located. Will definitely book when in this area again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsneds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarbert hotels
1.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#1 of 14 in Tarbert
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Struan House
Struan House
#4 of 14 in Tarbert
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Glenreasdale Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
467 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Southcliffe Ileene Road, Tarbert PA29 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: £66 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well proportioned, turn of the century stone built property (reportedly from the walls of the Castle of Robert the Bruce), modernised to include all rooms with en-suites, internet access and satalite TV's.The house is situated just a few minutes from the centre of Tarbert and within easy reach of local ferries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Bed And Breakfast Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing