We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B in Tarbert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Bochum, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good B&B in Tarbert”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have stayed at Southcliffe B&B one night on the way to Isle of Islay. The owner has given us a warm welcome. Spacious room, comfortable and clean. Have got a good Scotish Breakfast.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent 1 night on the 1st July 2014 and very pleased with the quality of this B&B and the welcome from Mike & Margaret.
Our room was well kitted out, clean & fresh. Breakfast was excellent. It's always good to be advised where the fire exits are located, as we were. This shows a bit more attention to detail and concern for the customer.
Location is in a quiet side street but only around the corner from the harbour where there are several restaurants, pubs & various shops. Tarbert is a nice relaxing place.
Thanks Mr & Mrs Sweeney

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tupper0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and found it excellent. The proprietor was welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. The following morning we had a lovely breakfast, with choices of cereals, fruit juices, porridge and a good selection of cooked choices. Also offered was a platter of fresh fruit, which I opted for (as well as porridge and a cooked breakfast) and it was a very generous plate of delicious soft fruits. Would definitely stay again if in that area and would recommend. A second chair in the room would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed one night before walking the Kintyre Way and as most others say this is a good well run B&B. Very clean and reasonably spacious rooms. A good choice of breakfast was offered and enjoyed. Only disappointment was the shower which kept running hot then cold, but no one else has mentioned this it might just be a one off.. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryoldcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were on our way to Islay and have found this wonderful B&B as stop between. The rooms were very clean and had large bathrooms. It is located away from the main road. But it is easy to walk to the Harbour / centre and only a few minutes to drive to the ferry to Islay. The breakfast was great with some fresh fruits and very good cooked meals. We enjoyed our stay very much only it was too short.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0r-marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Southcliffe and have already booked again for next year when we are back in Tarbert! Our room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and the beds lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was great with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and a cooked option of your choice. The location is absolutely spot on being just off the main road but close to everything Tarbert has to offer, and nothing seems too much trouble for Mike and Margaret, the owners. See you next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyC2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I should start by saying that I only give 5 star reviews to restaurants/hotels that are perfect on every level. Southcliffe certainly wasn't too far off the mark though.

The good: Greeted by a welcoming host and shown to our room. Good size with a lovely view over Tarbert. Fully stocked tea and coffee facilities. Nice bathroom, all very clean. Comfy bed. Nice decor. Breakfast was fantastic.

Possible improvements: our tv didn't work very well. The picture on all channels was poor despite attempts to rectify it. The room could've done with a chair. The walls and ceilings are in need of a lick of fresh paint.

I would highly recommend Southcliffe to anyone. It's really good and would definitely return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steevo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.2 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
436 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knap Guest House
Knap Guest House
#2 of 14 in Tarbert
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast
Address: Southcliffe Ileene Road, Tarbert PA29 6TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well proportioned, turn of the century stone built property (reportedly from the walls of the Castle of Robert the Bruce), modernised to include all rooms with en-suites, internet access and satalite TV's.The house is situated just a few minutes from the centre of Tarbert and within easy reach of local ferries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Bed And Breakfast Tarbert, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing